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Minor 
Consent 

Amendments to New York’s health regulations allow minors to consent to their own HIV 
treatment and HIV preventive services such as pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) and post-
exposure prophylaxis (PEP) without parental/guardian involvement (10 NYCRR Part 23). 

PEP for 
Sexual 

Assault 

Effective June 15th, 2020: Section 2805-i of Public Health Law and Executive Law 
Section 631 requires hospitals to: 

• Of fer and make available a seven-day starter pack of HIV PEP to survivors of 
sexual assault who are 18 years of age or older. 
 

• Of fer and make available the full 28-day supply of HIV PEP to survivors of sexual 
assault who are less than 18 years of age. 
 

The hospital is also required to provide or arrange for an appointment for medical follow-
up related to HIV PEP and other care as appropriate. 

 

Health Coverage and New York State Department of Health Sponsored Programs 

Office of Victim 
Services (OVS)  
 
1-800-247-8035  

Emergency Care in Hospital  

• Minors may consent for emergency care.  
• A victim may decline to provide insurance information if they believe doing so 

would substantially interfere with their personal privacy or safety. However, use 
of  insurance is required for follow-up care; this includes remaining 21 days of 
PEP for people 18 years of age or older. 

• Under NYS law, the hospital is required to inform a victim of their right to ask the 
provider to directly bill the OVS for the Forensic Rape Exam (FRE), including 
care received in the emergency department.  

OVS Follow-Up Care 

• Insurance must be used for follow-up care; this includes remaining 21 days of 
PEP for people 18 years of age or older. 

• OVS has an Emergency Award Procedure designed to pay the pharmacy in 1-4 
days. Forms must be filled out correctly and submitted with the supporting 
information requested. Emergency awards are available for up to $2,500.  

• Individuals under the age of 18 may not contract for services with OVS. A 
parent/guardian will need to request assistance from OVS. 

• Work with Victim Advocates in your community to pursue this process; they know 
the community connections and the procedure to expedite this process.  

Fee-for-Service 
Medicaid  

• Medicaid covers PEP for adults and adolescents. 

• PEP is a medical emergency and does not need Prior Approval. A prescription 
for 28 days or less will have an 'auto bypass'. If this does not occur, call 
Magellan at 877-309-9493 and tell them it is for PEP.   

• Medicaid does not issue EOBs, therefore adolescent confidentiality is protected. 

Medicaid Managed 
Care 

• Medicaid Managed Care Plans (MMCPs) cover PEP for adults and adolescents. 
Emergency services are not subject to prior authorization.  

• MMCPs are required to send notice upon a service or claim denial, where the 
denial was not based on medical necessity, the enrollee already received the 
service, and the enrollee is not liable for the cost of the service, consistent with 
the Department of Health’s Policy for the Protection of Confidential Health 
Information for Minors Enrolled in NYS Medicaid Managed Care Plans. 

• An adolescent may work with their plan or provider to obtain consent to send 
notices to an alternate address. 

http://www.ovs.ny.gov/
http://www.ovs.ny.gov/
http://www.health.ny.gov/diseases/aids/general/prep/truvada.htm
http://www.health.ny.gov/diseases/aids/general/prep/truvada.htm
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/managed_care/
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/managed_care/
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/redesign/2017/policy.htm
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/redesign/2017/policy.htm
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Commercial 
Insurance 

• PEP coverage is based on plan and large co-pays and deductibles may be a 
consideration.  

• OVS may reimburse co-pays of victims who submit an eligible application. Under 
the compensation program, OVS is payer of last resort. Provided the 
victim/guardian files a compensation claim, and is determined to be eligible, OVS 
can pay the patient’s out of pocket responsibility (co-pay, co-insurance, 
deductible) after insurance has been properly billed. Individuals under the age of 
18 may not contract for services with OVS. A parent/guardian will need to request 
assistance from OVS. 

• Co-payment cards and deductible assistance are available from the 
manufacturers. 

• Adolescents may ask that the EOB be sent to another address, but the primary 
policy holder may still receive financial information such as copayments made. 
This is permitted under Insurance Law 2612(h)(2)(A) and Title 11 of NYCRR, 
section 23.4. 

Patient Assistance Programs for Adults and Adolescents for Post Exposure Prophylaxis  

Program Co-Payment / Insurance Deductible / Out-Of-Pocket Assistance: 
 

Gilead Advancing 

Access Co-Pay 
Coupon Program 
 

1-877-505-6986 
Monday – Friday 
8am - 8pm EST 
 

Individuals under the age of 18 years may participate and must be enrolled by an 
individual 18 years of age or older. Individuals must be US residents. Not valid for 
prescriptions eligible to be reimbursed by any federal or state-funded healthcare 
benef it program. Patient is given an authorization number to present with the 
prescription and other insurance at the pharmacy. Up to $7,200 per year. 

Merck Patient 
Assistance 
Program 
 

1-800-727-5400 

Monday – Friday 
8am - 8pm EST 

 

Individuals under the age of 18 years may participate with parental or guardian 
consent; a parent or guardian must sign the application. Individuals must be US 
residents, not have coverage for medication and have a household income below 
400% FPL.  

The Merck Patient Assistance Program has specific income guidelines and is 
primarily intended for those without prescription drug coverage. However, an 
exception may be made for people experiencing special circumstances of medical 
and financial hardship. Such an exception requires the completion of an 
attestation. Call1-800-727-5400 for assistance. 
 

 

ViiV Healthcare 
Patient Assistance 
Program 
 

1-844-588-3288 

Monday – Friday 
8am - 11pm EST 

 
 

Individuals under the age of 18 years may participate with parental or guardian 

consent; a parent or guardian must sign the application. Individuals must be US 
residents, not be eligible for Medicaid, have no prescription drug coverage and, 
have a household income below 500% FPL. 

Call a ViiV Connect Access Coordinator at 1-844-588-3288 (Monday – Friday, 8:00 
am - 11:00 pm ET) for comprehensive information on access and coverage. Up to 
$5,000 per year. 

 

 

https://www.gileadadvancingaccess.com/hcp/
https://www.gileadadvancingaccess.com/hcp/
https://www.gileadadvancingaccess.com/hcp/
http://www.merckhelps.com/ISENTRESS
http://www.merckhelps.com/ISENTRESS
http://www.merckhelps.com/ISENTRESS
https://www.viivconnect.com/
https://www.viivconnect.com/
https://www.viivconnect.com/

