
 

 

November 20, 2023 

 

Dear Colleague: 

This letter and accompanying resource materials outline amendments to the New York State (NYS) 
Public Health Law (PHL) regarding provider reporting of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. 
Confidential reporting is integral to epidemiologic surveillance that evaluates the progression of 
HIV/AIDS in NYS. These updates enhance this work and contribute to targeted prevention efforts, 
focused resource management, and improved health outcomes for all New Yorkers. 

The amendments to 10 NYCRR (New York Codes Rules and Regulations) sections 63.2 and 63.4: 
1. Reduce the time within which HIV diagnoses must be reported from 14 days to 7 days. 
2. Implement reporting of acute HIV infection (AHI), including primary HIV infection, acute retroviral 

syndrome, and early HIV infection, within one day (24 hours) of such determination or diagnosis. 
3. Require reporting of HIV testing conducted for insurance institution underwriting decisions by 

clinicians under whose medical license the HIV testing is ordered.   

Under the new provision to 10 NYCRR Part 63.4, physicians and other persons authorized to order 
diagnostic tests or make medical diagnoses, or their agents, must report any determination or diagnosis 
of AHI, within one day (24 hours) of such determination or diagnosis. The amendment defines AHI as 
the earliest stage of HIV disease preceding the development of detectable antibodies resulting from the 
viral infection. AHI is defined based on (1) laboratory testing results demonstrating the presence of p24 
antigen and HIV virus (RNA or DNA), in the absence of antibodies; and/or (2) clinical evidence of 
documented negative testing history which includes negative or indeterminate test results within 180 
days before the first confirmed positive HIV test result of any type. 

Physicians and other persons authorized to order diagnostic tests or make medical diagnoses, or their 
agents, are required by PHL, Article 21, Title III, Section 2130 to report using the DOH-4189 Medical 
Provider HIV/AIDS and Partner/Contact Report Form (PRF) within one (1) day for AHI. For all other 
HIV-related diagnoses, reporting should be no later than seven (7) days after receipt of positive 
laboratory result, or after diagnosis, whichever is sooner. Given the changes in the reporting time, it is 
recommended that the PRF be completed electronically via the HIV/AIDS Provider Portal on the NYS 
Department of Health, Health Commerce System at https://commerce.health.ny.gov. This electronic 
system enables clinicians to meet their public health reporting requirements and to request timely 
information about their patients thought to be out of care. The attached guide provides detailed 
instructions for accessing the Provider Portal. Please call 518-474-4284 with additional questions. 

Sincerely, 
 

Carol-Ann Swain, PhD, Director 
Bureau of HIV/AIDS Epidemiology 
Division of Epidemiology, Evaluation, and Partner Services 
New York State Department of Health

 

https://www.hivguidelines.org/hiv-testing-acute-infection/acute-hiv/#:~:text=This%20guideline%20on%20diagnosis%20and%20management%20of%20acute,report%20an%20exposure%20within%20the%20past%204%20weeks.
https://commerce.health.ny.gov/


How to Report

 DOH-4189 Medical Provider HIV/AIDS 

 and Partner/Contact Report Form

Electronic Reports (Preferred) 

 Complete the DOH-4189 form 

 electronically using the HIV/AIDS 

 Provider Portal on the New York State 

 Health Commerce System (HCS).

Paper Reports

Non-New York City (NYC) providers 

 should mail the yellow copy only of the 

 completed DOH-4189 form to the:

NYC providers 

 should complete the form and call the 

 NYC HIV Epidemiology Program at

 212-442-3388 to submit.
21375 07/23

 

The Public Health Law, Article 21, Title III, Section 2130 can be found at nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2130
The update to AHI reporting can be found at dos.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2023/03/032223.pdf

2023 Changes to 
Provider Reporting of Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) 

in New York State (NYS) 

New Reporting Requirements: 
2023 Public Health Law Update

HIV Infection 
Not Acute 
& AIDS

Report within 7 days 
of diagnosis or receipt 
of laboratory results

Insurance 
Reporting 

Acute HIV 
Infection

Report within 24 hours 
of diagnosis

Reporting 
Timelines

HIV testing conducted in the context of insurance 
institution underwriting decisions is required to be 
reported by clinicians under whose medical 
license the HIV testing is ordered. 

Previous Reporting Requirement
Within 14 day of HIV or AIDS diagnosis or receipt of laboratory results

New York State Department of Health
Division of Epidemiology, Evaluation, 

and Partner Services
PO Box 2073
ESP Station

Albany, NY 12220-0073



Reporting of HIV and AIDS is required by physicians 
and other persons authorized to order diagnostic testing 
for individuals screened for HIV in New York State. 
Reporting is initiated upon receipt of positive laboratory 
results or after diagnosis, whichever is sooner.

Acute HIV Infection
Report any determination or diagnosis of Acute HIV Infection (AHI) including primary HIV 
infection, acute retroviral syndrome, and early HIV infection. An AHI is the earliest stage and 
is associated with high levels of viremia and undetectable antibodies.
Acute infection should be reported within 24 hours of diagnosis.

HIV Infection (not acute) 
Non-AHI HIV infection is determined using the Diagnostic Testing Algorithm. Testing begins 
with an FDA-approved antigen/antibody immunoassay that detects HIV-1 and HIV-2 antibodies 
and HIV-1 p24 antigen. Reactive assays should have subsequent di�erentiation and viral load 
testing completed. Reports should be made within 7 days of diagnosis or receipt of positive 
laboratory results whichever is sooner.

AIDS  
AIDS (Stage 3 HIV Infection) should be determined using criteria such as 
CD4+ T-lymphocyte <200 cells/μL or an opportunistic infection (AIDS-defining illness). 
Reports should be made within 7 days of diagnosis or receipt of positive laboratory results 
whichever is sooner.

 

What to 
Report

Reporting 
Timelines

Electronic Reports
Use the HIV/AIDS Provider Portal on the New York State Health Commerce System to 
complete the electronic provider reporting form.

Paper Reports
Non-New York City (NYC) Providers: 
Complete DOH-4189 and mail yellow copy only to:

 Division of Epidemiology, Evaluation, and Partner Services
 PO BOX 2073, ESP Station
 Albany, NY 12220-0073

NYC Providers: 
Complete DOH-4189 and call the NYC HIV Epidemiology Program at 212-442-3388 to submit.

Completion of a Medical Provider HIV/AIDS Report Form (DOH-4189) is 
required by NYS public health law Article 21, Chapter 163. The form can be 
completed electronically (preferred) or by paper submission.

Call the New York State Department of Health at 518-474-4284 for paper copies of the 
DOH-4189 form or with general reporting questions.

For more information on the Public Health Law for HIV/AIDS reporting visit 
https://www.health.ny.gov/diseases/aids/providers/regulations/partner_services/. 

Reporting 
Methods
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HIV/AIDS Provider Reporting

General 
Questions
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