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I. PURPOSE

This Administrative Directive (OMM/ADM) notifies social services
districts of the August 1, 2000 and January 1, 2001 revisions to the
Medicaid regional rates used to determine the period of limited coverage
(penalty period) for persons determined to have made prohibited
transfers of assets.

II. BACKGROUND

Chapter 170 of the Laws of 1994 amended Section 366.5 of the Social
Services Law to set forth transfer of assets provisions required by the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. When a person, or the
person's spouse, makes a prohibited transfer (as explained in 96 ADM-8),
the person may be ineligible for Medicaid coverage of certain services
for a period of time.

The period of ineligibility is the number of months equal to the
uncompensated value of the transferred assets divided by the Medicaid
regional rate established for the region in which the person is
institutionalized. The period is intended to approximate the length of
stay in an institution which the transferred assets would have
purchased.

III. PROGRAM IMPLICATIONS

The revised Medicaid regional rates are used to calculate a penalty
period for persons who have made prohibited transfers of assets.

The Medicaid regional rates effective August 1, 2000 are:

Region* Monthly Rate

Central $ 4,837
Long Island $ 7,840
New York City $ 7,517
Northeastern $ 5,494
Northern Metropolitan $ 6,668
Rochester $ 5,448
Western $ 5,186
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The Medicaid regional rates effective January 1, 2001 are:

Region* Monthly Rate

Central $ 4,953
Long Island $ 8,125
New York City $ 7,656
Northeastern $ 5,627
Northern Metropolitan $ 6,846
Rochester $ 5,629
Western $ 5,206

*See Attachments I and II for county listing by region.

The regional rates which have been in effect since 1998 were based on
information provided to the Department by nursing homes regarding the
maximum rates charged to their private pay patients. This information
did not take into account the number of private pay patients in nursing
homes who are charged less than the maximum rate. Since the August 1,
2000 regional rates are based on weighted averages, they more accurately
reflect the average cost of nursing home care to a private pay patient.
As a result of this more precise calculation, however, several of the
year 2000 regional rates are lower than the previous 1999 regional
rates.

IV. REQUIRED ACTION

As specified in 89 ADM-45, 91 ADM-37, and 96 ADM-8, a penalty period
must be established when an institutionalized Medicaid-Only
applicant/recipient (A/R), or the spouse of the A/R, has made a
prohibited transfer of assets. The Medicaid regional rate used to
determine the penalty period is the rate for the region in which the
individual is institutionalized. Districts must use the rate in effect
for the time period in which the individual first applies or reapplies
as an institutionalized person.

As advised in General Information System message GIS 00 MA/17, social
services districts must use the August 1, 2000 Medicaid regional rates
to establish the penalty period for any institutionalized person
determined to have made a prohibited transfer of assets who has applied
for Medicaid on or after August 1, 2000. As advised in General
Information System message GIS 01 MA/012, social services districts must
use the January 1, 2001 Medicaid regional rates to establish the penalty
period for any institutionalized person determined to have made a
prohibited transfer of assets who has applied for Medicaid on or after
January 1, 2001.
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A. RECALCULATING THE PENALTY PERIOD

Districts will not have to recalculate the penalty period for an
institutionalized A/R who applied for Medicaid before August 1,
2000, if the January 1, 1999 regional rates were used to calculate
the penalty period. Districts must recalculate the penalty period
for an institutionalized A/R who became Medicaid eligible on or
after January 1, 2001 , if the August 1, 2000 regional rates were
used to calculate the penalty period.

When a penalty period has previously been calculated for a
recipient who continues to reside in the community and who is not
in receipt of home and community-based waiver services, no
recalculation of the penalty period is required until the
individual becomes in need of nursing facility services.

When an individual previously assessed a penalty period subsequently
becomes in need of nursing facility services, the social services
district must review the original transfer(s) to determine whether it
occurred within the 36 months (60 months for transfers to or from
trusts) prior to the month in which the individual is both
institutionalized and applying for full Medicaid coverage, including
coverage of nursing facility services. There may be instances where the
original transfer is outside of the look-back period. In such cases,
the institutionalized individual is no longer subject to a transfer
penalty.

B. NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

Social services districts must provide notices to A/Rs whose
Medicaid coverage is being denied, discontinued, limited or changed
due to a prohibited transfer of assets. Districts may use the
appropriate Client Notice Subsystem reason code, if available, or
one of the following manual notices to meet this requirement.

1. LDSS-4500 (Revised 12/99): "Notice of Decision on Your
Medical Assistance Application (Excess Resources-Excess
Income-Transfer of Assets)"

As advised in 95 ADM-17 and GIS 96 MA/009, this notice is a
denial of Medicaid coverage of nursing home services for a
recipient already in receipt of community coverage who applies
for nursing home services but who is ineligible due to a
prohibited transfer. The notice also is used to deny Medicaid
coverage of nursing home services or community coverage for
applicants who are not otherwise eligible and also have
transferred assets.
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2. LDSS-4144 (Revised 1/99): "Notice of Acceptance for Medical
Assistance with Limited Coverage (Transfer of Assets)"

As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice is used to accept
institutionalized applicants with income under the Medicaid
income standard and community-based applicants, when there has
been a prohibited transfer.

3. LDSS-4145 (Revised 1/99): "Notice of Decision on Your Medical
Assistance Application for Nursing Facility Services (Transfer
of Assets)"

As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice must be used when
otherwise eligible institutionalized applicants have income in
excess of the Medicaid income standard and there has been a
prohibited transfer.

4. LDSS-4147 (Revised 1/97): "Notice of Intent to
Discontinue/Change Medical Assistance Coverage (Transfer of
Assets)"

As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice is used for undercare
cases when coverage is being restricted or the case is being
closed due to a transfer or when the individual's period of
restricted coverage has expired.

5. LDSS-4528 (Revised 3/99): "Notice of Change in Limited
Coverage Period for an Institutionalized Person"

Social services districts were advised in 93 ADM-27 to notify
recipients of nursing facility services of any changes in
limited coverage periods resulting from a change in the
Medicaid regional rates. Districts were instructed to use
Client Notice Subsystem Reason Code S05 or form LDSS-4528.
Due to the August effective date of the year 2000 regional
rates, social services districts will not be recalculating
penalty periods.

6. "Explanation of the Effect of Transfer of Assets on Medical
Assistance Eligibility"

As advised in 96 ADM-8, this notice must be available to all
individuals who wish to establish that a transfer was made for
a purpose other than to qualify for nursing facility services.
It also must be given to all Medicaid-Only applicants at the
time of (re)application or when an A/R's (re)application is
denied/discontinued due to a prohibited transfer. This notice
must be provided with the appropriate notice of decision by
the social services district.
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7. LDSS-4022 (Revised 5/99): "Notice of Intent to Establish a
Liability Toward Chronic Care"

If a penalty period had been previously calculated for a
recipient who becomes in need of nursing facility services and
a determination is made that the transfer occurred prior to
the 36 month (60 months for transfers to or from trusts)
period immediately preceding the month of application, a note
should be added to the notice to indicate that the former
transfer(s) is now beyond the 36 month look back period and
does not affect Medicaid eligibility.

V. SYSTEMS IMPLICATIONS

None.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE

The changes in the Medicaid regional rates used for calculating transfer
penalty periods are effective September 1, 2001, retroactive to:

August 1, 2000 for applications made from August 1, 2000 through
December 31, 2000; and

January 1, 2001 for applications made on or after January 1, 2001.

______________________________________
Kathryn Kuhmerker, Deputy Commissioner
Office of Medicaid Management



 

ATTACHMENT I

COUNTY LISTING BY REGION
RATES FOR 2000

CENTRAL (Syracuse) LONG ISLAND NEW YORK CITY

$4,837 $7,840 $7,517

Broome Nassau Bronx
Cayuga Suffolk Kings (Brooklyn)
Chenango NY (Manhattan)
Cortland Queens
Herkimer Richmond (Staten Island)
Jefferson
Lewis
Madison
Oneida NORTHEASTERN NORTHERN METROPOLITAN
Onondaga
Oswego $5,494 $6,668
St. Lawrence
Tioga Albany Dutchess
Tompkins Clinton Orange

Columbia Putnam
Delaware Rockland
Essex Sullivan
Franklin Ulster
Fulton Westchester
Greene
Hamilton

ROCHESTER Montgomery WESTERN (Buffalo)
Otsego

$5,448 Rensselaer $5,186
Saratoga

Chemung Schenectady Allegany
Livingston Schoharie Cattaraugus
Monroe Warren Chautauqua
Ontario Washington Erie
Schuyler Genesee
Seneca Niagara
Steuben Orleans
Wayne Wyoming
Yates

1. Use the region in which the facility is located, or if the A/R is not
institutionalized, use the region in which the individual resides.

2. For out of state facilities, use the region closest to the location of
the facility.



 

ATTACHMENT II

COUNTY LISTING BY REGION
RATES FOR 2001

CENTRAL (Syracuse) LONG ISLAND NEW YORK CITY

$4,953 $8,125 $7,656

Broome Nassau Bronx
Cayuga Suffolk Kings (Brooklyn)
Chenango NY (Manhattan)
Cortland Queens
Herkimer Richmond (Staten Island)
Jefferson
Lewis
Madison
Oneida NORTHEASTERN NORTHERN METROPOLITAN
Onondaga
Oswego $5,627 $6,846
St. Lawrence
Tioga Albany Dutchess
Tompkins Clinton Orange

Columbia Putnam
Delaware Rockland
Essex Sullivan
Franklin Ulster
Fulton Westchester
Greene
Hamilton

ROCHESTER Montgomery WESTERN (Buffalo)
Otsego

$5,629 Rensselaer $5,206
Saratoga

Chemung Schenectady Allegany
Livingston Schoharie Cattaraugus
Monroe Warren Chautauqua
Ontario Washington Erie
Schuyler Genesee
Seneca Niagara
Steuben Orleans
Wayne Wyoming
Yates

1. Use the region in which the facility is located, or if the A/R is not
institutionalized, use the region in which the individual resides.

2. For out of state facilities, use the region closest to the location of
the facility.

 


