
STATE OF NEW YORK  

 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

 
 Corning Tower The Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller Empire State Plaza Albany, New York 12237 
 
Antonia C. Novello, M.D., M.P.H., Dr. P.H.  Dennis P. Whalen 
 Commissioner     Executive Deputy Commissioner 
 

 
 
    TRANSMITTAL:  06 OMM/ADM-2 ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE

 
 
 TO: Commissioners of DIVISION: Office of Medicaid 
  Social Services   Management 
 
 
    DATE:  March 7, 2006 
 
 
 SUBJECT: Transfer of Resources:  Changes in the Medicaid Regional Rates 

for 2006 
 
 
 SUGGESTED 
 DISTRIBUTION: Medicaid Staff 
   Fair Hearing Staff 
   Legal Staff 
   Audit Staff 
   Staff Development Coordinators 
 
 
  CONTACT 
  PERSON: Local District Liaison 
   Upstate:        (518) 474-8887 
   New York City:  (212) 417-4500 
 
 
  ATTACHMENTS: County Listing by Region 
 
 

FILING REFERENCES 
 
 Previous Releases Dept. Regs. Soc. Serv. Manual Ref. Misc. Ref. 
 ADMs/INFs Cancelled  Law & Other 
    Legal Ref. 
 
05 OMM/ADM-1  360-4.4 SSL 366 MRG pages: GIS 06 MA/001 
04 OMM/ADM-3   SSA 1917(c) 353-363 GIS 05 MA/005 
03 OMM/ADM-5   & (d)  GIS 04 MA/003 
02 OMM/ADM-2     GIS 03 MA/029 
96 ADM-8   Section  GIS 96 MA/009 
95 ADM-17   13611 of 
93 ADM-27   OBRA ’93 
91 ADM-37 
89 ADM-45 



 
Date:  March 7, 2006 
 

2Trans No. 06 OMM/ADM-2 Page No.  
 
 
I. PURPOSE
 

This Administrative Directive (ADM) advises social services districts 
of the January 1, 2006 revisions to the Medicaid regional rates used to 
determine the period of limited coverage (penalty period) for persons 
determined to have made prohibited transfers of assets. 

 
 
II. BACKGROUND 
 

Chapter 170 of the Laws of 1994 amended Section 366.5 of the Social 
Services Law to set forth the transfer of assets provisions required by 
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993.  When a person, or the 
person’s spouse, makes a prohibited transfer (as explained in 96 ADM-
8), the person may be ineligible for Medicaid coverage of certain 
services for a period of time. 

 
The period of ineligibility for nursing facility services, or penalty 
period, is the number of months equal to the uncompensated value of the 
transferred assets divided by the Medicaid regional rate established 
for the region in which the individual is institutionalized.  The 
period is intended to approximate the length of stay in an institution 
that the transferred assets would have purchased.  The Medicaid 
regional rates are generally updated annually, effective January 1. 

 
 
III. PROGRAM IMPLICATIONS
 

The revised Medicaid regional rates are used to calculate a penalty 
period for persons who have made prohibited transfers of assets and who 
apply for Medicaid on or after January 1, 2006. 

 
 The Medicaid regional rates effective January 1, 2006 are: 
 
   Region*  Monthly Rate 
 
   Central  $6,232 
 
   Long Island  $9,842 
 
   New York City  $9,132 
 
   Northeastern  $6,872 
 
   Northern Metropolitan  $8,724 
 
   Rochester  $7,375 
 
   Western  $6,540 
 
 *See Attachment for county listing by region. 
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IV. REQUIRED ACTION 
 

As specified in 89 ADM-45, 91 ADM-37, and 96 ADM-8, a penalty period 
must be established when an institutionalized applicant/recipient (A/R) 
or the spouse of the A/R has made a prohibited transfer of assets. The 
Medicaid regional rate used to determine the penalty period is the rate 
for the region in which the individual is institutionalized.  Districts 
must use the rate in effect for the year in which the individual 
applies or reapplies as an institutionalized person. 

 
Social services districts must use the January 1, 2006 Medicaid 
regional rates to establish the penalty period for any 
institutionalized person determined to have made a prohibited transfer 
of assets who has Medicaid eligibility determined for the month of 
January, 2006 or later. 
 
Example:  An A/R who has made a prohibited transfer of assets applies 
for Medicaid in February, 2006, requesting coverage retroactive to 
January, 2006.  The Medicaid regional rate in effect for the year 2006 
would be used to establish the penalty period.  If, however, the A/R 
requests coverage retroactive to November, 2005, the Medicaid regional 
rate for 2005 would be used. 
 

 A. RECALCULATING THE PENALTY PERIOD 
 

Districts must recalculate the penalty period for an 
institutionalized individual who became Medicaid eligible on or 
after January 1, 2006, if the January 1, 2005 regional rates were 
used to calculate the penalty period.  Districts must review these 
cases as soon as possible, since a recipient’s penalty period will 
change based on the new rates. 
 
When a penalty period has previously been calculated for a recipient 
who continues to reside in the community and who is not in receipt 
of home and community-based waiver services, no recalculation of the 
penalty period is required until the individual becomes in need of 
nursing facility services. 
 
When an individual, previously assessed a penalty period, 
subsequently becomes in need of nursing facility services, the 
social services district must review the original transfer(s) to 
determine whether it occurred within the 36 months (60 months for 
transfers to or from trusts) prior to the month in which the 
individual is both institutionalized and applying for full Medicaid 
coverage, including coverage of nursing facility services.  There 
may be instances where the original transfer is outside of the look-
back period.  In such cases, the institutionalized individual is no 
longer subject to a transfer penalty. 
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 B. NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
Social services districts must provide notices to A/Rs whose 
Medicaid coverage is denied, discontinued, limited or changed due to 
a prohibited transfer of assets.  Districts may use the appropriate 
Client Notice Subsystem reason code, if available, or one of the 
following manual notices to meet this requirement.  As advised in 
GIS 05 MA/005, districts must assure that all manual notices contain 
the correct fair hearing information. 

 
1. LDSS-4500 (Revised 12/99):  “Notice of Decision on Your Medical 

Assistance Application (Excess Resources-Excess Income-Transfer 
of Assets)” 

 
As advised in 95 ADM-17 and GIS 96 MA/009, this notice is a 
denial of Medicaid coverage of nursing home services for a 
recipient already in receipt of community coverage who applies 
for nursing home services but who is ineligible due to a 
prohibited transfer.  The notice also is used to deny Medicaid 
coverage of nursing home services or community coverage for 
applicants who are not otherwise eligible and also have 
transferred assets. 

 
2. LDSS-4144 (Revised 2/05):  “Notice of Acceptance for Medical 

Assistance with Limited Coverage (Transfer of Assets)” 
 

As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice is used to accept 
institutionalized applicants with income under the Medicaid 
income standard and community-based applicants, when there has 
been a prohibited transfer. 

 
3. LDSS-4145 (Revised 2/05):  “Notice of Decision on Your Medical 

Assistance Application for Nursing Facility Services (Transfer of 
Assets)” 

 
As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice must be used when otherwise 
eligible institutionalized applicants have income in excess of 
the Medicaid income standard and there has been a prohibited 
transfer. 

 
4. LDSS-4147 (Revised 2/05):  “Notice of Intent to 

Discontinue/Change Medical Assistance Coverage (Transfer of 
Assets)” 

 
As advised in 89 ADM-45, this notice is used for undercare cases 
when coverage is being restricted or the case is being closed due 
to a transfer or when the individual’s period of restricted 
coverage has expired. 

 
5. LDSS-4528 (Revised 4/05):  “Notice of Change in Limited Coverage 

Period for an Institutionalized Person” 
 

Social services districts were advised in 93 ADM-27 to notify 
recipients of nursing facility services of any changes in limited 
coverage periods resulting from a change in the Medicaid regional 
rates.  Districts were instructed to use Client Notice Subsystem 
Reason Code S05 or form LDSS-4528. 
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6. LDSS-4294 (Revised 5/96):  “Explanation of the Effect of Transfer 
of Assets on Medical Assistance Eligibility” 

 
As advised in 96 ADM-8, this notice must be available to all 
individuals who wish to establish that a transfer was made for a 
purpose other than to qualify for nursing facility services.  It 
also must be given to all Medicaid-only applicants at the time of 
(re)application or when an A/R’s (re)application is 
denied/discontinued due to a prohibited transfer.  This notice 
must be provided with the appropriate notice of decision by the 
social services district. 

 
7. LDSS-4022 (Revised 2/05):  “Notice of Intent to Establish a 

Liability Toward Chronic Care” 
 

If a penalty period had been previously calculated for a 
recipient who becomes in need of nursing facility services and a 
determination is made that the transfer occurred prior to the 36 
month (60 months for transfers to or from trusts) period 
immediately preceding the month of application, a note should be 
added to the notice to indicate that the former transfer(s) is 
now beyond the 36 month look-back period and does not affect 
Medicaid eligibility. 

 
 
V. SYSTEMS IMPLICATIONS
 
 None. 
 
 
VI. EFFECTIVE DATE
 

The changes in the Medicaid regional rates used for calculating transfer 
penalty periods are effective April 1, 2006, retroactive to January 1, 
2006. 

 
 
 
 
     ______________________________________ 
     Brian Wing, Deputy Commissioner 
     Office of Medicaid Management 
 
 


