
 
GENERAL INFORMATION SYSTEM 01/11/2011 WGIUPD 

 DIVISION:  Office of Health Insurance Programs PAGE 1 
GIS 11 MA/001 
 
 
 
TO: Local District Commissioners, Medicaid Directors 
 
FROM: Judith Arnold, Director 
 Division of Coverage and Enrollment 
 
SUBJECT: Medicaid Regional Rates for Calculating Transfer Penalty Periods 

for 2011 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2011 
 
CONTACT PERSON: Local District Support 
   Upstate:  (518)474-8887     New York City:  (212)417-4500 
 
 
This is to inform local departments of social services of the year 2011 
Medicaid regional rates which must be used to determine a transfer of assets 
penalty period.  This is in accordance with 96 ADM-8, “OBRA ’93 Provisions on 
Transfers and Trusts” and 06 OMM/ADM-5, “Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 – 
Long-Term Care Medicaid Eligibility Changes.”  These rates are based on 
average nursing home costs in each of the seven regions in the State. 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Central $7,688

 
   
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Broome  Jefferson Oswego  
Cayuga  Lewis  St. Lawrence 
Chenango Madison  Tioga 
Cortland  Oneida  Tompkins 
Herkimer Onondaga 

Northeastern  $8,323 
Albany  Fulton  Saratoga 
Clinton  Greene  Schenectady 
Columbia Hamilton Schoharie 
Delaware Montgomery Warren 
Essex  Otsego  Washington 
Franklin  Rensselaer 

Western $7,863 
Allegany Niagara 
Cattaraugus  Orleans 
Chautauqua  Wyoming 
Erie 
Genesee 

Rochester  $8,942 
Chemung  Seneca 
Livingston  Steuben 
Monroe   Wayne 
Ontario   Yates 
Schuyler 

Long Island  $11,445 
Nassau 
Suffolk 

New York City $10,579 
Bronx   Queens 
Kings (Brooklyn)  Richmond (Staten Island) 
New York (Manhattan) 

Northern Metropolitan $10,105 
Dutchess  Ulster 
Orange   Westchester 
Putnam 
Rockland 
Sullivan 

 
Reminder:  Districts must use the rate for the region in which the facility 
is located. 
 


