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This document responds to and clarifies questions raised by the Official Notice of Home Care 

Worker Wage Parity Minimum Rate of Total Compensation for NYC, Long Island and 

Westchester counties.  These Home Care Worker Wage Parity materials are posted on the Health 

Commerce System (HCS) and the DOH/MRT web site.  In addition, please consult all previously 

posted materials in conjunction with the following FAQs.  If you have any questions regarding 

this information, please email to the following address: HCWorkerParity@health.state.ny.us   

 

 

General Questions 

 

Q1. What is the 2014 rate for New York City and how was it determined? 
 

A1. $14.09 will be the new minimum rate of home care aide total compensation for New 

York City, effective March 1, 2014.  That rate was determined according to the statutory 

methodology for calculating the prevailing rate of total compensation as of January 1, 

2011 ("prevailing rate") and was used because the statute requires that the prevailing rate 

be used for New York City starting in 2014 as long as that rate is higher than the New 

York City Living Wage Law ("living wage").  Public Health Law § 3614-C at 1(c) 

3(a)(ii).  In announcing the new rate of $14.09 on October 31, 2013, the Department 

identified that at least $10.00 of that amount had to be paid in base wages, where the 

remaining balance can be satisfied through additional wages, up to $1.69 and benefits up 

to $2.40.  

                                                                   

Q2.  How much of that $14.09 rate must be paid out as wages to home care aides in New 

York City starting in 2014? 

 

A2. At least $10.00 of the $14.09 must be paid as regular wages for every hour worked, with 

the balance provided through additional wages and benefits.  For employers who do not 

provide additional wages and benefits, the full $14.09 must be paid as wages.  

 

Q3. The 2014 rate for New York City includes an "additional wage" amount of $1.69.  

What are additional wages and how was the $1.69 rate calculated? 

 

A3. The Commissioner identified $1.69 as the portion of the $14.09 rate for New York City 

in 2014 that employers can satisfy through additional wages provided through paid leave 

accruals and wage differentials.  The $1.69 was calculated based on the paid leave 

accrual rates and the average hourly wage differential costs under the prevailing 

collective bargaining agreement in 2011.  The paid leave and wage differentials that were 

used in calculating the $1.69 additional wage are summarized below, together with the 

collectively bargained accrual formulas: 

 

 Annual leave: accrued at one hour for every 26 worked (up to 2.3 hours per 

week and 10 days or 120 hours per year) 

 Sick leave: accrued at one hour for every 26 worked  (up to 2.3 hours per 

week and 10 days or 120 hours per year) 

 Personal day: accrued at one hour for every 250 worked (up to 8 hours per 

year) 
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 Holidays: New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial Day, 

Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day 

o Paid time off: when they fall on days that the employees are 

scheduled to work 

o Premium pay: 1.5 times the base, when employees work on any of 

five holidays designated by the employer for premium pay 

 Live-in work: an extra $16.95 per day, or $1.4125 per hour 

 Weekend work: an extra $1.10 per hour 

 Multiple clients: an extra $0.50 per hour 

 

To calculate the additional wage of $1.69, the accrual formulas shown above were used 

for the three paid leave items, multiplying the accrual rates (1/26 or 1/250) times the 

hourly rate ($10).  For the remaining items, average hourly rates were calculated based on 

additional information identifying actual costs and hours, using a weighted average that 

divided total gross wages paid out for an item by total hours worked by all workers, 

during 2011 by contractors who were signatories to the prevailing collective bargaining 

agreement. 

 

Q4. How can employers satisfy the additional wage requirements? 

 

A4. Employers can satisfy the $1.69 additional wage requirement by: (1) increasing the 

hourly rate paid for all hours worked, or (2) providing paid time off and wage 

differentials, or (3) by any combination of the two.    

 

For example, employers can: (1) increase the $10.00 hourly rate to $11.69, or (2) provide 

$1.69 in paid leave and wage differentials, or (3) provide paid leave and wage 

differentials worth less than $1.69 (e.g. $1.00) with the balance ($0.69) added to the 

$10.00 hourly rate ($10.69). 

 

Q5. Can employers satisfy the additional wage requirement by providing a standard 

package of paid time off and wage differentials? 

 

A5. Yes, employers can comply with the additional wage requirement of $1.69 by providing 

the package of paid time off and wage differentials that were used in calculating the 

$1.69 additional wage rate.  See FAQ #3 (above). 

 

Q6. Can employers satisfy the additional wage requirement by using accrual rates, for 

paid time off, and averaging wage differentials among all covered workers? 

 

A6. Yes, employers can use accrual rates to calculate the value of paid time off, and can use 

weighted averages to calculate the value of wage differentials.  See FAQ #3 (above). 

 

In the end, however, if the value of accrued time off and weighted average wage 

differentials totals less than $1.69, employers will have to make up the difference by 

increasing the hourly base wage of $10.00.  See FAQ #4 (above). 

 

 

 

 



Q7. How is paid time off handled? 

 

A7. Paid time off can be used to satisfy the "additional wage" portion of the minimum rate of 

home care aide total compensation.  Accrual rates can be used to calculate the hourly 

credit.  See FAQ WP-2014-3 (above).  For example, a policy that allows employees to 

accrue 10 days of leave per year, at the rate of one hour per 26 hours worked, could be 

used to satisfy $0.38½ per hour of additional wages: 1/26 (accrual rate) x $10.00 (hourly 

wage rate) = 0.003846 x $10 = $0.385. 

 

Q8. Do employers have to spend $14.09 on each employee, or can they spend an average 

of $14.09 on all covered employees? 

 

A8. In general, employers must spend the full $14.09 on each covered employee.  A limited 

exception applies where employers pay additional wage amounts (differentials) for 

certain days, hours and assignments that are generally available to any home care aide 

that works those days, hours or assignments.  Since those wage differentials were 

averaged in calculating the $1.69 additional wage rate, employers can use same approach 

in assigning an hourly rate to wage differentials that they provide.  See FAQ #3 (above).  

That approach is limited to wage differentials, since those are the only items where 

payments to certain employees were averaged over hours worked by all employees. 

 

Q9.  Can employers who are contractually required to make hourly contributions on 

behalf of every employee claim credit for those amounts during waiting and vesting 

periods?   
 

A9. Yes, the employer can claim credit for required contributions that are actually made to 

plans on behalf of employees who participate in such plans.  The fact that the plans have 

a waiting or vesting period does not preclude the employer from claiming credit for 

contributions during such waiting period.  The result would be different if the employer 

did not make contributions on behalf of employees during an initial waiting or 

probationary period, for example, if an employer with a group health insurance policy did 

not add new employees to that policy until after a probationary period, then there would 

be not contributions to credit for probationary employees who were not part of the group 

health insurance policy.  See February 2012 FAQ #6.  

 

Q10. What types of benefits can satisfy the supplement portion of the required total 

compensation? 

 

A10. The supplement portion can be satisfied through any type of payment covered by the 

following statutory definition of the term "total compensation."  

 

"'Total compensation" means all wages and other direct compensation paid to or 

provided on behalf of the employee including, but not limited to, wages, health, 

education or pension benefits, supplements in lieu of benefits and compensated 

time off, except that it does not include employer taxes or employer portion of 

payments for statutory benefits, including but not limited to FICA, disability 

insurance, unemployment insurance and workers compensation.  

 



Public Health Law § 3614-c at 1(b).  That definition does not exclude other benefits that 

employers may choose to provide through employee benefit plans regulated under the 

Employee Retirement Income Security Act.  Nor does it exclude other benefits that 

employees may choose to obtain through wage deductions permitted under New York 

State Labor Law § 193.  For further information on this topic, see January 2012 FAQ #17 

and February 2012 FAQ #5, 18 and 19.   


