
 

 

  
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

  
 

 

  

 
 

         

 
 

 
  

November 2, 2015  

Subject: 	 Official Notice of Home Care Worker Wage Parity Minimum Rate of Total  
Compensation 

Dear Administrator: 

The purpose of this letter is to provide all certified home health agencies (CHHAs), long term 
home health care programs (LTHHCPs) and managed care organizations (MCOs) in Nassau, 
Suffolk and Westchester counties with an official notice of the required minimum rate of total 
compensation for home care workers required pursuant to Public Health Law § 3614-c(3)(b)(iv).  
That provision of law mandates that for the period March 1, 2016 through February 28, 2017 
such total compensation must be no less than 115% of the total compensation mandated by 
New York City’s living wage law or; the total compensation mandated by the living wage law of 
Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester county, based on the location of the episode of care. 

	 For all periods on or after March 1, 2016, the lesser of (i) the minimum rate home care 
aide total compensation of $13.22, consisting of a base wage of at least $10.00 per 
hour, and supplemental (benefit) wages of up to $3.22 per hour or; (ii) the total 
compensation mandated by the living wage law of Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester 
county. Overtime is not included in the above rates, and must be paid as required 
pursuant to State and Federal law. 

Included in this notice is a document that further explains what is included in the rates for the 
upcoming Home Care Worker Wage Parity compliance period.  If you have any questions 
regarding this information, please email to the following address: 
HCWorkerParity@health.ny.gov. 

      Sincerely,

      Mark L. Kissinger, Director 
      Division of Long Term Care 
      Office of Health Insurance Programs 

Enclosure 
cc:	 Jason Helgerson 
 Vallencia Lloyd 

mailto:HCWorkerParity@health.ny.gov


 

 

 
 

 

 
  

 
  

  
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
  

Wage Parity 2016 Rates 

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties 

For the period of March 1, 2016 through February 28, 2017, the minimum rate home care aide 
total compensation will be $13.22, consisting of a base wage of at least $10.00 per hour, and 
supplemental (benefit) wages of up to $3.22 per hour.    

Wages Per hour 
Base Wage $10.00 
Supplemental Wages $ 3.22 
Total Compensation $13.22 

Overtime Per hour 
FLSA (1½ times regular rate) $15.00 (if regular rate is $10.00) 

Total Compensation may be satisfied entirely through wages, or through a combination of 
wages and supplemental wages, with the following limitations: 

The Base Wage is the minimum amount of the Total Compensation that must be paid directly to 
workers as regular hourly wages for all hours worked. 

Supplemental Wages are the amount of Total Compensation that employers may satisfy 
indirectly, for example, by providing health insurance required by federal law.   

Overtime is required at 1½ times the regular rate of compensation under the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA) as well as under the New York State Labor Law's provisions for minimum 
wage and for domestic workers.  The exceptions to this general rule that applied to most 
employers of home care workers and to certain non-profits prior to 2015 no longer apply to third 
party employers, such as home care agencies, as a result of the new FLSA overtime rules for 
home companions already in effect.  For more information visit www.dol.gov/whd/homecare. 

The Overtime premium pay that employers are required to pay for overtime hours under state 
and federal minimum wage laws may be used to satisfy the Total Compensation required under 
the wage parity law. As such, if a worker is being paid $15 an hour for overtime work, the Total 
Compensation rate of $13.22 will be fully satisfied during overtime hours.  Nothing more needs 
to be paid for those overtime hours.  See the attached notice regarding overtime pay under 
Wage Parity. 

www.dol.gov/whd/homecare


 

 

 
  

  
  

 
 

Notice Regarding Overtime Pay under Wage Parity 

This notice is provided to clarify the extent to which overtime pay can be used to satisfy the 
Total Compensation requirements of the Wage Parity Law.  While overtime pay can be used to 
satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for a given hour of overtime, it cannot be used more 
generally to also satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for non-overtime hours.  Thus, for 
example, if a worker is paid $15 for an hour of overtime, payment of that $15 for that hour can 
be used to satisfy the Total Compensation rate for that hour.  In that example, if the Total 
Compensation rate is $14.09, then that requirement to pay or prove $14.09 s fully satisfied by 
payment of $15, for that same hour of overtime.  By contrast, however, no part of the $15 paid 
for a given hour of overtime can be used to satisfy the Total Compensation rate for all hours, 
generally, or for non-overtime hours, specifically. 

To the extent that FAQ number 7 from May 2014 can be read to say that overtime paid during a 
given hour of overtime work cannot be used to satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for 
that hour, FAQ number 7 is superseded by this notice. 




