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November 15, 2016
Subject: Official Notice of Home Care Worker Wage Parity Minimum Rate of Total

Compensation

Dear Administrator:

The purpose of this letter is to provide all certified home health agencies (CHHAs), long term
home health care programs (LTHHCPs) and managed care organizations (MCOs) in Nassau,
Suffolk and Westchester counties with an official notice of the required minimum rate of total

compensation for home care aides pursuant to Public Health Law § 3614-c(3)(b)(iv).

This law was amended in April and June of this year to align with recent changes to New York
State’s minimum wage law. See Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2016 and Chapter 73, Part E of the
Laws of 2016. In accordance with the latest amendments, beginning December 31, 2016:

e the cash portion of the minimum rate shall be $10.00 per hour, and

o the benefit portion of the minimum rate shall be $3.22 per hour.

Included in this notice is a document that further explains what is included in the rates for the
upcoming Home Care Worker Wage Parity compliance period along with changes in the
computation of overtime. If you have any questions regarding this information, please email to
the following address: HCWorkerParity@health.ny.qov.

Sincerely,

aw(mu’ 5 oe

Andrew Segal, Dire
Division of Long Term Care
Office of Health Insurance Programs

Enclosure
cc: Jason Helgerson
Jonathan Bick

Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower, Albany, NY 12237 | health.ny.gov



Wage Parity 2017 Rates

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties

For the period of December 31, 2016 through December 30, 2017, the minimum rate for home
care aide total compensation (Total Compensation) will be $13.22 per hour.

This consists of a cash portion (Base Wage) of at least $10.00 per hour and a benefit portion
(Supplemental Wages) of up to $3.22 per hour.

Wages Per hour
Base Wage $10.00
Supplemental Wages $ 322
Total Compensation $13.22
Overtime Per hour
FLSA (1% times regular rate) $15.00

(if reqular rate equals Base Wage)

Total Compensation may be satisfied entirely through wages, or through a combination of
wages and supplemental wages, with the following limitations:

The Base Wage is the minimum amount of the Total Compensation that must be paid in cash
wages directly to the home care aide as regular hourly wages for all hours worked.

Supplemental Wages are the amount of Total Compensation that employers may satisfy
indirectly, for example, by providing education, pension benefits, or health insurance required by
federal law. The Supplemental Compensation portion of Total Compensation can be satisfied by
increasing the Base Wage rate by a corresponding amount.

Overtime is required at 1%z times the regular rate of compensation under the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) as well as under the New York State Labor Law's provisions for minimum
wage and for domestic workers. The exceptions to this general rule that applied to most
employers of home care aides and to certain non-profits prior to 2015 no longer apply to third
party employers, such as home care agencies, as a result of FLSA overtime Home Care Final
Rules issued on October 31, 2013, amending 29 C.F.R. § 552 at 3, 6, 102 and 110. For more
information visit www.dol.gov/whd/homecare.




Notice Regarding Overtime Pay under Wage Parity

This notice is provided to clarify the extent to which overtime pay can be used to satisfy the Total
Compensation requirements of the Wage Parity Law. While overtime pay can be used to satisfy
the Total Compensation requirement for a given hour of overtime, it cannot be used more
generally to also satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for non-overtime hours. Thus, for
example, if a home care aide’s regular rate is $10 per hour and they are paid $15 for an hour of
overtime, payment of that $15 for that hour can be used to satisfy the Total Compensation rate
for that hour. In that example, if the Total Compensation rate is $13.22, then that requirement to
pay or provide $13.22 is fully satisfied by payment of $15, for that same hour of overtime. By
contrast, however, no part of the $15 paid for a given hour of overtime can be used to satisfy the
Total Compensation rate for all hours, generally, or for non-overtime hours, specifically.

To the extent that FAQ number 7 from May 2014 can be read to say that overtime paid during a
given hour of overtime work cannot be used to satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for
that hour, FAQ number 7 is superseded by this notice.



