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ANDREW M. CUOMO HOWARD A. ZUCKER, M.D., J.D, SALLY DRESLIN, M.8,, R.N,
Governor Commissioner Executive Deputy Commissioner

November 15, 2016

Subject: Official Notice of Home Care Worker Wage Parity Minimum Rate of Total
Compensation

Dear Administrator:

The purpose of this letter is to provide all certified home health agencies (CHHASs), long term
home health care programs (LTHHCPs) and managed care organizations (MCOs) in New York
City with an official notice of the required minimum rate of total compensation for home care
aides pursuant to Public Health Law § 3614-c(3)(b)(iv).

This law was amended in April and June of this year to align with recent changes to New York
State’s minimum wage law. See Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2016 and Chapter 73, Part E of the
Laws of 2016. In accordance with the latest amendments, beginning December 31, 2016:

o for “large” employers (those with 11 or more total employees) the cash portion of the
minimum rate shall be $11.00 per hour,

e for “small” employers (those with 10 or fewer total employees) the cash portion of the
minimum rate shall be $10.50 per hour, and

e the benefit portion of the minimum rate shall be $4.09 per hour.

Included in this notice is a document that further explains what is included in the rates for the
upcoming Home Care Worker Wage Parity compliance period along with changes in the
computation of overtime. If you have any questions regarding this information, please email to
the following address: HCWorkerParity@health.ny.gov.

Sincerely,

Mcd’}e(/ﬁ

Andrew Segal, Director
Division of Long Term Care
Office of Health Insurance Programs

Enclosure
cc: Jason Helgerson
Jonathan Bick

Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower, Albany, NY 12237 | health.ny.gov



Wage Parity 2017 Rates

New York City

For the period of December 31, 2016 through December 30, 2017, the minimum rate for
home care aide total compensation (Total Compensation) will be $15.09 and $14.59 for
large and small employers, respectively in New York City.

This consists of a cash portion (Base Wage) of at least $11.00 and $10.50 per hour for large
and small employers, respectively, and a benefit portion (Additional Wages and Supplemental
Wages) of up to $1.69 per hour for Additional Wages and up to $2.40 per hour for
Supplemental Wages.

Large Employer Small Employer

Wages Per hour Per hour

Base Wage $11.00 $10.50
Additional Wages $ 1.69 $1.69
Supplemental Wages $ 2.40 $2.40

Total Compensation $15.09 $14.59
Overtime Per hour

FLSA (1% times regular rate) $16.50 $15.75

(if reqular rate equals Base Wage)

Total Compensation may be satisfied entirely through wages, or through a combination of
wages, additional wages and supplemental wages, with the following limitations:

The Base Wage is the minimum amount of the Total Compensation that must be paid in cash
wages directly to the home care aide as regular hourly wages for all hours worked.

Additional Wages are the amount of the Total Compensation that employers may satisfy
through additional payments directly to home care aides for hours not worked and for
differentials and premiums other than overtime. Examples include paid leave (vacation,
holiday, sick and personal days) and differentials or premiums for certain shifts (nights,
weekends and holidays) or assignments (sleep-in or live-in work, care for multiple clients
during the same shift).

Additional Wages do not include overtime compensation required under FLSA or State
minimum wage orders or extra compensation creditable toward required overtime
compensation for hours worked in excess of normal, regular or maximum daily or weekly
hours. The Additional Wage portion can also be satisfied by increasing the Base Wage or
Supplemental Wages by a corresponding amount.

Supplemental Wages are the amount of Total Compensation that employers may satisfy
indirectly, for example, by providing education, pension benefits, or health insurance required
by federal law. The Supplemental Wage portion can also be satisfied by increasing the Base
Wage by a corresponding amount.

Overtime is required at 1% times the regular rate of compensation under the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) as well as under the New York State Labor Law's provisions for minimum



wage and for domestic workers. The exceptions to this general rule that applied to most
employers of home care aides and to certain non-profits prior to 2015 no longer apply to third
party employers, such as home care agencies, as a result of FLSA overtime Home Care Final
Rule issued on October 1, 2013, amending 29 C.F.R. § 552 at 3, 6,102, 109 and 110. For
more information visit www.dol.gov/whd/homecare.




Notice Regarding Overtime Pay under Wage Parity

This notice is provided to clarify the extent to which overtime pay can be used to satisfy the Total
Compensation requirements of the Wage Parity Law. While overtime pay can be used to satisfy
the Total Compensation requirement for a given hour of overtime, it cannot be used more
generally to also satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for non-overtime hours. Thus, for
example, if a home care aide’s regular rate is $11 and they are paid $16.50 for an hour of
overtime, payment of that $16.50 for that hour can be used to satisfy the Total Compensation
rate for that hour. In that example, if the Total Compensation rate is $15.09, then the
requirement to pay or provide $15.09 is fully satisfied by payment of $16.50, for that same hour
of overtime. By contrast, however, no part of the $16.50 paid for a given hour of overtime can
be used to satisfy the Total Compensation rate for all hours, generally, or for non-overtime

hours, specifically.

To the extent that FAQ number 7 from May 2014 can be read to say that overtime paid during a
given hour of overtime work cannot be used to satisfy the Total Compensation requirement for
that hour, FAQ number 7 is superseded by this notice.



