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Section I. Program Description and Objectives 

Goals and Objectives 

In July 1997, New York State received approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (“CMS”) for its “Partnership Plan” Medicaid Section 1115 Demonstration (the “1115 
Demonstration”). In implementing the 1115 Demonstration, the State sought to achieve the 
following goals: 

• Improve access to health care for the Medicaid population;
• Improve the quality of health services delivered; and
• Expand coverage to additional low-income New Yorkers with resources generated

through managed care efficiencies.

In furtherance of these goals, the primary objective of the 1115 Demonstration was to enroll 
most of the State’s Medicaid population into managed care, and to use a managed care delivery 
system to deliver benefits to Medicaid recipients, create efficiencies in the Medicaid program 
and enable the extension of coverage to certain individuals who would otherwise be without 
health insurance. 

The 1115 Demonstration was last renewed by CMS on December 7, 2016 and, at the time of 
renewal, the name of 1115 Demonstration was changed from the Partnership Plan to the New 
York Medicaid Redesign Team (“MRT”) Waiver. Since the MRT Waiver’s renewal, this waiver 
has been amended to reflect programmatic needs. Under the waiver, the State is required to 
seek Federal approval of any amendments. 

Proposed Implementation 

The State intended to implement this Amendment effective January 1, 2021. However 
consistent with Maintenance of Effort requirements under Section 6008(b)(1) of the Families 
First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), and the requirements for Home and Community 
Based Services under the American Rescue Plan Act, the earliest date that the State will seek 
implementation is March 31, 2024. 

Section II. Proposed Amendment 
The State of New York (the State or New York) is seeking to implement a 30-month transfer of 
assets lookback period for coverage of community based long-term care (CBLTC) services, 
and approval to exclude certain enrollees from these rules. 

Pursuant to a state statutory change on April 2, 2020, New York will be submitting a State Plan 
Amendment to request approval to apply the federal option to impose transfer of assets rules to 
certain categories of individuals applying for CBLTC services (non-institutionalized individuals). 
Under the federal statute, the transfer of assets lookback period is 60 months prior to the month 
the individual is applying for Medicaid. New York is seeking approval to impose a lookback 
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period of 30 months for non-institutionalized individuals seeking coverage of CBLTC services. 
Under New York’s April 2, 2020 statutory change, the transfer of assets rules for CBLTC 
services are effective October 1, 2020. The exceptions to the Medicaid transfer of assets rules 
and provision for an undue hardship waiver that apply under the transfer of assets provisions of 
the federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation (OBRA) of 1993 and Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 
2005 would apply to transfers in these situations. 

In New York, community based long-term care services are available through Medicaid fee-for-
service, managed long term care (MLTC), and Medicaid mainstream managed care (MMC). 
Under current standards, the services provided through MMC are included in one benefit 
package and enrollees are not required to be in need of CBLTC services for MMC plan 
enrollment. Conversely, under current standards, MLTC plan enrollees are dual eligible, over 
21 years of age and assessed as needing CBLTC services for more than 120 days. The State 
is seeking approval to exclude individuals enrolled in MMC from the non-institutional transfer of 
assets rules, regardless of whether the individual is in a category that the State has elected to 
include in the eligibility groups that will be subject to non-institutional transfer penalties. 

The State will also seek approval under the Section 1115 to impose the lookback with a
modified phase-in, meaning a full 30-month retroactive review will not be applied on January 1, 
2022.  Under New York’s April 2, 2020 statutory change, the transfer of assets rules for CBLTC 
services are effective October 1, 2020. Therefore, the State is seeking to begin applying the 
CBLTC transfer rules on January 1, 2022, meaning that applications for CBLTC services 
submitted on or after January 1, 2022 would be assessed for any transfers made on or after
October 1, 2020. 

This statutory change was recommended by the Medicaid Redesign Team II and adopted by 
the New York State Legislature in order to ensure that Medicaid payments are not used when 
CBLTC services could be covered by an individual’s own income and/or resources that were 
transferred, if the transfer is subject to the imposition of a transfer of asset penalty period. 

Following are the community based long-term care services the State plans to impact by this 
initiative: 

• Adult day health care
• Assisted living program (ALP)
• Certif ied home health agency (CHHA) services
• Personal care services
• Consumer directed personal assistance program
• Limited licensed home care services
• Private duty nursing services
• Managed long-term care in the community*

*Note: Managed long-term care in the community is not a State Plan service and instead refers
to enrollment in managed long-term care (MLTC) plans while residing in a community-based
setting.  These plans include Partial Capitation, Medicaid Advantage Plus and Programs of All-
Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). Because this service list includes most of the services in
the MLTC benefit package found in Attachment B of the current 1115 Waiver Special Terms and 
Conditions, the State would not require nor permit enrollment in such plans prior to the
proposed 30-month lookback and any imposed penalty period.
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This initiative does not pertain to waiver services obtained pursuant to 1915(c) or (d) of the 
Social Security Act, which are waiver services provided through the Traumatic Brain Injury
Program, the Nursing Home Transition and Diversion Waiver Program, the consolidated 1915(c) 
waiver for children and the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities’ (OPWDD) 
Comprehensive Home and Community-Based 1915(c) waiver. 

Eligibility categories determined pursuant to Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) budgeting 
rules would not be impacted by the State’s intended change. Following are the Medicaid 
eligibility categories of non-institutionalized individuals impacted by this initiative, which are 
eligibility groups categorized as Aged, Blind or Disabled and subject to non-MAGI budgeting 
rules: 

Optional Medicaid Eligibility Categories: 
• Ticket to Work Basic Group (SSA §1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV)) 

Individuals eligible in this category are working individuals with disabilities between ages 
16 and 65 whose income does not exceed established levels. 

• Ticket to Work Medical Improvement Group (SSA § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVI)) 
Individuals eligible in this category are working individuals with disabilities between ages 
16 and 65 whose income does not exceed established levels, who lose eligibility in the 
Ticket to Work Basic Group due to medical improvement and who are employed at least 
40 hours per month and earn at least the federally required minimum wage. 

Medically Needy Medicaid Eligibility Categories: 
• Medically Needy Aged (SSA § 1902(a)(10)(C), 42 CFR 435.320 and 435.330) 

Individuals eligible in this category are age 65 and over with income above the federal 
poverty level thresholds and who incur large medical expenses. These individuals may 
subtract these medical bills from their actual income and become eligible if their adjusted 
income falls below the established poverty level thresholds. 

• Medically Needy Blind (SSA § 1902(a)(10)(C), 42 CFR 435.322 and 435.330) 
Individuals eligible in this category are blind with income above the federal poverty level 
thresholds and who incur large medical expenses. These individuals may subtract these 
medical bills from their actual income and become eligible if their adjusted income falls 
below the established poverty level thresholds. 

• Medically Needy Disabled (SSA § 1902(a)(10)(C), 42 CFR 435.324 and 435.330) 
Individuals eligible in this category are disabled with income above the federal poverty 
level thresholds and who incur large medical expenses. These individuals may subtract 
these medical bills from their actual income and become eligible if their adjusted income 
falls below the established poverty level thresholds. 
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Section III. Waiver Authority 
The State seeks such waiver authority as necessary under the demonstration to implement a
30-month transfer of assets lookback period for coverage of CBLTC services, and approval to
exclude certain Mainstream Managed Care enrollees from these rules. This initiative was
adopted to eliminate Medicaid payments that could be covered by an individual’s own income
and/or resources that were transferred, if the transfer is subject to the imposition of a transfer of
asset penalty period.

Pursuant to the State’s statutory change, New York will be submitting a State Plan Amendment 
to request CMS approval to apply transfer of assets rules beginning January 1, 2022 to certain 
categories of individuals applying for coverage of CBLTC services (non-institutionalized 
individuals). In addition to the request to amend our State Plan, New York is seeking further 
approval through this proposed amendment to our Section 1115 waiver in order to implement
this change more efficiently, contain costs and conform with changes in State law. 42 USC § 
1396p(c)(1)(B)(i) requires a 60-month lookback / transfer penalty for institutionalized individuals, 
or, at the option of the state, for non-institutionalized individuals as well. As provided for in the 
recently enacted State law, New York will be seeking approval under the Section 1115 waiver to 
apply a look-back period of thirty (30) months, rather than the federally required sixty (60)
months. 

In addition, for individuals covered in the Medicaid eligibility groups that will be impacted by the 
State’s intended change, CBLTC services are provided primarily through Medicaid fee-for-
service and managed long-term care (MLTC) plans. Some individuals in the Medicaid eligibility 
groups that will be impacted may receive these services through Medicaid mainstream 
managed care (MMC) plans. Under current standards, the services provided through MMC 
plans are included in one benefit package and enrollees are not required to be in need of 
CBLTC services for MMC plan enrollment. Conversely, MLTC plan enrollees are required to be 
in need of more than 120 days of CBLTC services. Therefore, the State is seeking approval 
through this proposed amendment to the State’s Section 1115 waiver to exclude from this
initiative all individuals that are enrolled in MMC plans, regardless of whether an individual is in 
a category that the State has elected to include in the eligibility groups that will be subject to 
non-institutional transfer penalties, and include MLTC plan enrollees receiving CBLTC services. 

Further, the State will implement these proposed transfer of assets rules only to those newly
seeking CBLTC services on or after January 1, 2022, and not to individuals already receiving 
CBLTC services on that date. This means that individuals who apply for Medicaid coverage of 
CBLTC before the implementation date will not be subject to the 30-month lookback, including 
those individuals who file a pre-implementation date application for Medicaid coverage of 
CBLTC but who are not yet receiving CBLTC services under that application on the 
implementation date. This is in keeping with Federal and State practice implementing transfer of 
asset rules by “grandfathering” in individuals already in eligibility groups and receiving services 
that would be subject to transfer of assets rules.  

In summary, and in relation to the Comparability provisions of SSA §1902(a)(10(B), New York is 
seeking such waiver authority as necessary under the demonstration to, effective January 1, 
2022: 

(i) Implement a 30-month transfer of assets lookback period for coverage of CBLTC
services, rather than the federally required 60 months (See 42 USC §
1396p(c)(1)(B)(i));
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(ii) Impose the 30-month transfer of assets provision on individuals newly seeking 
CBLTC services through Medicaid fee-for-service or Managed Long Term Care plan 
enrollment on or after January 1, 2022, but exclude individuals seeking CBLTC 
services through Mainstream Managed Care or a Medicaid Advantage Plan; and 

(iii) Phase in the application of the CBLTC transfer rules and 30-month lookback on 
January 1, 2022, meaning that applications for CBLTC services submitted on or after 
January 1, 2022 would be assessed for any transfers made on or after October 1,
2020. 

Section IV. Expenditure Authority 

The State seeks such expenditure authority as necessary under the demonstration to implement 
a 30-month transfer of assets lookback period for coverage of CBLTC services through 
Medicaid fee-for-service and Managed Long Term Care Plans, and approval to exclude 
Mainstream Managed Care enrollees from these rules to maintain uniformity in the Mainstream 
benefit package. This initiative was adopted to eliminate Medicaid payments that could be 
covered by an individual’s own income and/or resources that were transferred, if the transfer is 
subject to the imposition of a transfer of asset penalty period. Therefore, the State is not 
seeking approval of additional expenditures for healthcare related costs for any Demonstration-
Eligible populations. 

Section V. Beneficiary Impact 

The State reviewed current utilization of services while preparing this proposal, and developed 
estimates of potential asset transfers. It is estimated that in 2022 and annually thereafter, 
approximately 3,700 new non-institutionalized applicants seeking Medicaid coverage of CBLTC 
through enrollment in a Managed Long Term Care Plan and approximately 70 new applicants 
through Medicaid fee-for-service would be subject to an average penalty period of 0.91 months 
as a result of an average $11,700 prohibited transfer during the 30-month transfer of assets 
lookback period. These are services that might be necessary for an individual to avoid 
institutionalization and remain in the community.  However, these transfers would also result in 
a penalty period for Medicaid coverage of nursing home care, for consumers who are admitted 
to a nursing home during a transfer penalty period. It should be noted that once a penalty is 
imposed, the penalty impacts both levels of care - the same penalty period is not applied twice. 

The proposal to apply a 30-month look-back rather than 60 months will decrease the 
documentation required at application as compared to applications for Medicaid coverage of 
nursing home care, and reduce the review of transactions that may potentially result in a 
transfer of assets penalty for non-institutionalized individuals seeking CBLTC services through 
Medicaid fee-for-service or enrollment in MLTC. 

If the proposal to exclude beneficiaries enrolled in MMC and Medicaid Advantage from transfer 
of assets penalties for CBLTC services is approved, there will be no impact to these 
beneficiaries. 
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Section VI. Budget Neutrality 

The State reviewed current utilization of services while preparing this proposal, and developed 
estimates of potential asset transfers. This statutory change was recommended by Medicaid 
Redesign Team II and adopted by the New York State Legislature in order to ensure that 
Medicaid payments are not used when CBTLC services could be covered by an individual’s own 
income and/or resources that were transferred, if the transfer is subject to the imposition of a 
transfer of asset penalty period. It is estimated that in 2022 and annually thereafter, 
approximately 3,700 new non-institutionalized applicants seeking Medicaid coverage of CBLTC 
through enrollment in a Managed Long Term Care Plan and approximately 70 new applicants 
through Medicaid fee-for-service would be subject to an average penalty period of 0.91 months 
as a result of an average $11,700 prohibited transfer during the 30-month transfer of assets 
lookback period. Assuming an effective date of January 1, 2022, and as a result of this 
amendment, the State estimates approximately 3,770 new members will be impacted against an 
annual total enrollment of 2.8 million demonstration recipients. This amendment is expected to 
reduce the average annual total demonstration cost of $40 billion by $8.865 million in federal 
savings through the end of 2022. Accordingly, any impact on the annual total enrollment of 2.8 
million demonstration recipients, or individuals enrolled in Medicaid fee-for-service, is expected 
to be fairly small. Please refer to the following excel f ile: NY MRT Budget Neutrality - 30-month 
lookback.xlsx. 

Section VII. Compliance with Tribal Consultation and Public 
Notice 
Consistent with notice requirements, the State notified and sought input from Tribal leaders and 
colleagues in Indian Health Centers, posted public notice to the New York State Register and 
performed other notification and outreach seeking public input regarding implementation of a
30-month transfer of assets lookback period for coverage of CBLTC services, and approval to 
exclude Mainstream Managed Care and Medicaid Advantage enrollees from these rules. Refer 
to Appendix A for tribal consultation communications and Appendix B for public notice posting. 

Public Notice Process 
The State certif ies that public notice of the formal waiver amendment was published in the New 
York State Register on August 19, 20201 and tribal notif ication for the formal waiver amendment 
was issued August 14, 2020, with written comments accepted by electronic or written mail 
through September 18, 2020 and September, 21, 2020, respectively. 

The State also certif ies that it used an electronic mailing list to notify the public of the State’s 
intent to seek a waiver amendment to CMS. The State used its Medicaid Redesign Team 
Listserv (MRT Listserv) in order to notify interested parties that the Department is seeking to 
implement a 30-month transfer of assets lookback for Medicaid coverage of community based 
long-term care services and that public comments could be submitted through September 18, 
2020 via the electronic mail and written submission methods outlined in the State Register. The 
MRT Listserv electronic mailing was sent August 24, 2020 and provided subscribers with the 

1 August 19, 2020 New York State Register, available at https://www.dos.ny.gov/info/register/2020/081920.pdf 
(pg. 75). 
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website link to the August 19, 2020 public notice in the New York State Register. The State 
further certifies that the public was notif ied of the intent to submit this waiver amendment to 
CMS, as evidenced by the announcement posted on the New York MRT website.2 

The State also conducted six (6) stakeholder outreach sessions in July, 2020 with consumer 
and advocacy groups, managed care plan representatives and local social services district 
representatives seeking public input regarding implementation of a 30-month transfer of assets
lookback period for coverage of CBLTC services, and approval to exclude Mainstream 
Managed Care and Medicaid Advantage enrollees from these rules. 

Public Comment 
Overview. The State received 12 written comments from a combination of advocacy groups, 
community providers, local social services districts, pooled trust representatives and other
stakeholders. No comments in response were received from Tribal leaders or Indian Health 
Center colleagues. The State appreciates all of the comments and feedback shared by 
stakeholders. Most of the comments relate to Medicaid eligibility policy and process, or the 
specific CBLTC services and Medicaid eligibility groups the State seeks to apply the lookback to 
through its State Plan Amendment, or expressed opposition to the implementation of lookback
period for coverage of community-based long term care services in the first instance. No 
comments were specific to the express authority sought through this Amendment, which is 
implementation of a 30-month rather than 60-month transfer of assets lookback period for 
coverage of CBLTC services, and approval to exclude Mainstream Managed Care and Medicaid 
Advantage enrollees from these rules.  A summary of the comments submitted and the State’s
responses to those comments are provided below. Comments have informed the State’s 
overall implementation of this initiative but did not result in any change to this application. 

Public Comment Topics and State Responses
Concerns About Delays in Application Processing, Access to Care 
One commenter stated that applicants not subject to the 30-month transfer of assets lookback 
period will bear the burden of this initiative and face delays having their Medicaid applications 
processed due to the diversion of local social services district staff to review documentation on 
cases subject to a lookback. Response: The State disagrees. Local social services districts 
must comply with application processing timeframe requirements, regardless of application type. 
The State will monitor application processing timeframes in conjunction with this initiative to 
ensure compliance. 

Three (3) commenters state that because of the local social services district’s need to review 
documentation of the lookback at application and because of any penalty period assessed as a 
result of asset transfers, implementation of a 30-month transfer of assets lookback period would 
limit an individual’s access to community-based care, which will lead to poorer health outcomes 
and trigger higher costs to Medicaid for expensive services such as hospital care. One of the 
commenters stated the lookback will hurt New York’s economy, as middle-income individuals 
spend down assets, become poor, decrease their consumer spending and increase reliance on 
public assistance. Another of the commenters stated it was irresponsible to implement this 
policy change during a global pandemic based on an unconfirmed fear that wealthy individuals 
are taking advantage of Medicaid home care; the commenter stated home care services are key 
to survival during the COVID-19 pandemic because the services help keep individuals out of 
institutions experiencing COVID-19 related infections and deaths. The commenter also stated 

2 https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/redesign/mrt2/proposals/index.htm 
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that this initiative should only be implemented with processes that ensure care will not be 
delayed for the many applicants who have not made transfers. Response: The State 
acknowledges that a 30-month lookback period increases documentation requirements for an 
individual applying for community-based long term care services but reiterates that local social 
services districts must comply with application processing timeframe requirements, regardless 
of application type. As the State explains in Section V., the proposal to apply a 30-month look-
back rather than 60 months will decrease the documentation required at application as
compared to applications for Medicaid coverage of nursing home care, and reduce the review of 
transactions that may potentially result in a transfer of assets penalty for non-institutionalized 
individuals seeking CBLTC services through Medicaid fee-for-service or enrollment in MLTC. 
The State confirms that, in accordance with statutory requirements, individuals applying for 
community-based long term care services who are subject to a penalty period as a result of 
transferring assets will not be eligible for coverage for community-based long term care services 
for the duration of the penalty period, which ensures that Medicaid payments are not used when 
CBLTC services could be covered by an individual’s own income and/or resources that were 
improperly transferred. Lastly, as the State explains in Section I., implementation of this initiative 
is delayed until at least January 1, 2022 in light of the January 22, 2021 letter to Governors 
issued by Health and Human Services Secretary Cochran indicating the federal COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration will likely remain in place for the entirety of 2021, 
and the Maintenance of Effort requirements under Section 6008(b)(1) of the FFCRA. 

Use of Pooled Trusts 
Five (5) commenters, four (4) of which are comprised of pooled trust administrators and a
pooled trust coalition, expressed similar or identical concerns or recommendations in a similar 
letter format regarding an individual’s use of a pooled trust, opposing any restriction on the 
ability of older adults and individuals with disabilities to utilize a pooled trust. Commenters refer 
to a pooled trust established and managed in accordance with 42 U.S.C. §1396p(d)(4)(C). 
Commenters state that without further clarif ication from the State, particularly with regard to 
individuals age 65 or older, imposition of a 30-month lookback risks rendering pooled trusts
obsolete, violating an individual’s right to receive care in the most integrated setting and 
impeding the ability of non-profit organizations that manage pooled trusts to support individuals 
with disabilities. Commenters stated their belief that overall administrative cost to the State and 
its impact on pooled trust beneficiaries and non-profit organizations that administer pooled trusts 
will outweigh any speculated benefit derived from treating a transfer to a pooled trust as a
disqualifying transfer. Commenters recommended the State implement the following policies 
with the 30-month lookback initiative: 

(i) A presumption that all transfers or contributions made by an individual age 65 and 
older to a pooled trust are exempt for purposes of eligibility for Medicaid coverage of 
community-based long term care services, with the burden on the Medicaid agency 
to rebut the presumption; 

(ii) Funds deposited and spent from the pooled trust for the sole benefit of the Medicaid 
recipient shall be deemed for fair market value, and thereby exempt; 

(iii) The Medicaid agency should only review the unexpended funds in a pooled trust on 
an annual basis; 

(iv) Medicaid recipients with a pooled income trust should be entitled to an exempt 
“reserve amount” equal to the allowable resource level (eg. $15,750 resource level 
for one, 2020); 

(v) On annual review by the Medicaid agency, notice by the agency should be issued of 
any excess of the “reserve amount” and a 12-month period extended for the funds to 
be spent for the sole benefit of the Medicaid recipient; if spent within 12 months, 
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transfers which created the excess amount in the pooled trust shall be treated as a 
transfer for fair market value and therefore exempt under Medicaid transfer of asset
rules; 

(vi) In the event the Medicaid agency determines that a transfer to a pooled trust is a 
disqualifying transfer, the Medicaid recipient would be entitled to “aid continuing” 
under existing Medicaid rules; 

(vii) In the event that a transfer penalty is imposed based on deposits to a pooled trust,
the Medicaid recipient’s eligibility should not terminate or be suspended during any 
penalty period because most individuals will be enrolled in MLTC plans and 
suspension would be very disruptive, especially if the length of the penalty is a 
fraction of a month because an individual cannot be disenrolled for a fraction of a 
month; 

(viii) Funds in pooled trust accounts should be determined to be exempt if funded with 
transfers prior to October 1, 2020; 

(ix) Funds in pooled trust accounts should be determined to be exempt from transfer of 
asset rules regardless of the beneficiary’s age, if transferred as an exempt transfer at 
the time of the transfer, eg. a pooled trust beneficiary who participates in the State’s 
OPWDD Comprehensive Home and Community-Based Services 1915(c) waiver. 

Response: The State is required to implement this initiative in a manner that complies with 
federal Medicaid transfer-of-asset rules. In doing so, the State will seek to operationalize this 
initiative in a way that is not overly administratively burdensome to disabled 
applicants/recipients utilizing pooled trusts, non-profit organizations and the Medicaid agency 
and the State will consider comments in establishing policy guidance in this area to the extent 
allowable under federal Medicaid transfer-of-asset rules. 

Exclude Ticket to Work Categories from List of Groups to be Impacted 
Two (2) commenters state that individuals eligible in the Ticket to Work categories (those 
eligible to participate in the State’s Medicaid Buy-In for Working People with Disabilities (MBI-
WPD) program) should be excluded from the 30-month lookback for several reasons: (i) 
individuals must be disabled and under age 65 to participate, making many eligible to transfer 
excess assets to an exception trust, such as a supplemental needs trust, without incurring a
transfer penalty and therefore the State’s review of f inancial records would be unproductive; (ii) 
the State encourages these individuals to work by giving them a higher resource allowance and 
by not requiring their retirement accounts to be in payout status, and exempting them from the 
lookback would add to these work incentives; (iii) many individuals eligible in the MBI-WPD 
category have severe disabilities and rely on home care to remain independent, without which 
they could require nursing home care; (iv) the State’s proposal appears to make a distinction 
between the medically need, and those categorically eligible in the Ticket to Work categories, 
which are optional eligibility categories the State has chosen to include. Commenters conclude 
that the State’s imposition of the lookback on the medically needy would implicitly remove the 
categorically needy from the lookback and contend that the medically needy who are eligible for 
Medicaid generally have a greater amount of lifetime assets and/or income, which justif ies a 30-
month lookback for this group.  Response: The State acknowledges that many disabled 
individuals eligible for Medicaid, not just those eligible in the Ticket to Work categories, may be 
eligible to transfer excess assets to an exception trust without incurring a transfer penalty and 
that many individuals in the Ticket to Work categories rely on home care services. Individuals 
currently enrolled in the Ticket to Work categories and receiving or applying for CBLTC services 
on or before the implementation date will be grandfathered in and not subject to the 30-month 
lookback. Otherwise, individuals applying for participation in the Ticket to Work categories after 
the implementation date, regardless of use of an exception trust, will be subject to the 30-month 
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lookback, the same as individuals applying for any other Aged, Blind or Disabled category 
subject to the lookback. The State acknowledges that an impact of a transfer penalty is that
individuals will not be eligible for CBLTC services during the penalty period, services that might 
be necessary for an individual to avoid institutionalization and remain in the community. 
However, as stated previously in Section V., these transfers would also result in a penalty 
period for Medicaid coverage of nursing home care, for consumers who are admitted to a 
nursing home during a transfer penalty. Finally, the State is not making a distinction between 
the medically need and categorical eligibility; the State is seeking to impose the 30-month 
lookback on the eligibility groups categorized as Aged, Blind or Disabled and subject to non-
MAGI budgeting rules, which are the Ticket to Work categories and the Medically Needy Aged, 
Medically Needy Blind and Medically Needy Disabled. 

Exclude Short-Term Certified Home Health Agency (CHHA) Services from Lookback
Three (3) commenters stated that a 30-month lookback should not be required to initiate or 
receive certif ied home health agency (CHHA) services on a short-term basis, either stating or 
implying that a need for CHAA services under 120 days should be considered short-term. 
Commenters state CHHA services are often critically needed after hospital or rehabilitation 
facility discharge and the 30-month lookback would cause excessive delays in accessing post-
acute services. Response: The State allows individuals seeking Medicaid coverage for short-
term rehabilitation services to attest to the amount of their resources. Short-term rehabilitation 
services include one commencement/admission in a 12-month period, up to a maximum of 29 
consecutive days of each of the following: certified home health care and nursing home care. In 
the event that the short-term rehabilitation services extend beyond 29 days, the individual is
required to provide proof of resources in order to obtain Medicaid coverage for these services 
beyond the 29th day. Proof of resources includes resource documentation for the past 60 
months for nursing facility services, and certified home health care services, which require proof 
of current resources today, will require 30 months of documentation upon implementation of this 
initiative. Proof of resources also must be provided in order to have Medicaid coverage for a 
second commencement/admission of short-term rehabilitation within 12 months from the start of 
the first commencement/admission. 

Review Inclusion of Limited Licensed Home Care Services in Lookback 
One (1) commenter recommended the State review its decision to include limited licensed home 
care services in the list of CBLTC services, to the extent these are limited licensed home care 
services agencies operated by adult home operators to provide home care services not covered 
for adult home residents. The commenter questioned how extensively this service is utilized in 
adult homes, perhaps not enough to justify the administrative cost to administer the lookback for 
adult home residents, and expressed concern that individuals who cannot obtain these services 
would likely have to transfer to a higher cost nursing home. Response: The State will apply
the 30-month lookback to any setting where an individual seeks Medicaid coverage for limited 
licensed home care services, including to adult home residents. 

Clear Guidance to Local Departments of Social Services Regarding Eligibility Categories 
Subject to 30-Month Lookback; Website Information 
Three (3) commenters stated that local social services districts will need clear guidance and 
screening tools to distinguish which applicants are Aged, Blind and Disabled applicants and 
therefore subject to the 30-month lookback requirement to ensure that applicants excluded from 
the lookback are not subjected to the lookback and to help reduce administrative burdens and 
costs and potential service delays. Commenters stated the State should also post clear 
information on the Department’s website about the lookback, including explanations of the terms
“medically needy” and “categorically needy”, to help applicants compile necessary documents 
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and navigate the eligibility process more smoothly. Response: The State will issue 
administrative guidance, direction and training to the local social services districts regarding 
implementation of the 30-month lookback and will provide information on the Department’s 
website about the 30-month lookback and which applicants seeking Medicaid coverage of 
CBLTC are subject to the lookback requirements. To confirm, the State is not making a 
distinction between the medically needy and categorical eligibility in implementing the 30-month 
lookback; the State is seeking to impose the 30-month lookback on the eligibility groups
categorized as Aged, Blind or Disabled and subject to non-MAGI budgeting rules, which are the 
Ticket to Work categories and the Medically Needy Aged, Medically Needy Blind and Medically 
Needy Disabled, and the State’s guidance and information will include an explanation of the 
eligibility groups and applicants impacted by the 30-month lookback. 

Beneficiary Impact, Budget Neutrality, Evaluation Design
Four (4) commenters shared the following combined comments with regard to waiver sections 
on Beneficiary Impact, Budget Neutrality and Evaluation Design: (i) the requirement to gather 
and submit documentation for a 30-month lookback increases the burden on individuals seeking 
CBLTC, and the fact that the lookback is 30 months as opposed to 60 months is not dispositive 
of the increased burden that will be placed on those applying for CBLTC;  (ii) costs, f iscal 
benefits, transfer data and application processing times resulting from this waiver amendment 
should be tracked to evaluate whether the lookback is worth continuing once it’s implemented; 
(iii) costs of delays to applicants while waiting for services or the lookback review should be 
tracked and compared with pre-lookback expenditures for similarly-situated applicants; (iv) data 
regarding number of nursing home placements pre- and post- lookback implementation should 
be compared; (v) the State has failed to provide a complete and meaningful assessment of the 
savings and costs of implementing a 30-month lookback because the projected savings of 
$2.525 million through the end of the current waiver period is not balanced against the costs 
that will be imposed on all applicants subject to the lookback who must gather and produce 30 
months of f inancial records, or against any costs that will be imposed on the local social 
services districts responsible for reviewing this documentation and implementing penalty
periods; (vi) the proposed 30-month lookback does not result in budget neutrality because it will 
significantly increase workload at local departments of social services, delay application 
processing times, increase fair hearing requests and any purported savings will be dwarfed by 
additional workload and staffing requirements at the local social services districts; (vii) the 
proposal fails to take into account that fact that a 30-month lookback for Medicaid coverage of 
CBLTC may result in an individual abandoning hope for services at home and seeking 
institutionalization and Medicaid coverage of nursing home care instead because a penalty 
period for CBLTC may mean that no appropriate services are available or in place, as opposed 
to nursing home residents who still receive appropriate care if a penalty period is imposed. 
Response: The State acknowledges that a 30-month lookback period increases
documentation requirements for an individual applying for community-based long term care 
services but reiterates that local social services districts must comply with application 
processing timeframe requirements, regardless of application type, and that the State is 
soliciting input and concerns from local districts as part of implementation of this initiative. The 
State confirms that, in accordance with statutory requirements, individuals applying for 
community-based long term care services who are subject to a penalty period as a result of 
transferring assets will not be eligible for coverage for community-based long term care services 
for the duration of the penalty period, which ensures that Medicaid payments are not used when 
CBLTC services could be covered by an individual’s own income and/or resources that were 
transferred. The State will monitor implementation of the 30-month lookback, including 
application processing times, and will implement system coding to identify cases with a transfer
during the 30-month lookback, the number of penalty months, and the month and year of 

13 



  

   
   

  
       

 
   

  
 

   
 

  
   

  
     

 
    

      
 

  
   

 
 

  
 

 
      

  
    

     
 

 
 

       
      

 
 

 
 

       
 

  
 

 
      

 
  

penalty expiration. The State will also investigate adding other tracking components to its 
implementation monitoring. The State’s Budget Neutrality analysis is accurate and sufficiently
assesses the impact of this proposal on the annual total enrollment of 2.8 million demonstration 
recipients, and individuals enrolled in Medicaid fee-for-service. 

Implementation of the 30-month Lookback and Olmstead 
Seven (7) of the commenters referred generally to Olmstead (Olmstead v. L.C.) when 
expressing concerns about the State’s implementation of a 30-month lookback for CBLTC 
services and the potential impact on disabled individuals, stating that imposition of the lookback 
itself, any restriction of the use of pooled trusts or failure to clarify pooled trust policy, and delays 
in individuals receiving services needed to prevent institutionalization as a result of the lookback 
could potentially violate Olmstead integration provisions. Response: The State will continue to 
clarify policy and seek CMS guidance in the implementation of the 30-month lookback, and will
implement this initiative consistent with all applicable laws, regulations, rules and policies. 

Comments from Local Departments of Social Services 
Two (2) of the State’s 58 local social services districts submitted comments. One expressed 
concern regarding the ability to process Medicaid applications within required timeframes if
applicants for CBLTC services will need additional time to obtain documents necessary for a 
resource review because of the 30-month lookback. The same district expressed concern 
regarding implications of the 30-month lookback on processing Medicaid applications based on 
immediate need for personal care or consumer directed personal assistance services, 
expressing doubt that applicants will be able to provide the required documentation needed to 
obtain a Medicaid eligibility decision within 7 days of application and also concern that 
“presumptive” coverage based on attestation would create a loophole. The second local social 
services district submitted several questions related to their administrative processing of 
Medicaid applications in areas such as which applicants or cases will be subject to the 
lookback, how the lookback and any transfer penalty applies to individuals with pooled trusts, 
what the undue hardship provisions will be for cases subject to 30-month lookback, spousal
budgeting, and phase-in dates for the 30-month lookback. Response:  The State will issue 
administrative guidance, direction and training to the local social services districts regarding 
implementation of the 30-month lookback, which will include direction regarding application 
processing, how to address situations when an applicant needs additional time to obtain 
information and applications submitted based on an immediate need for personal care and 
consumer directed personal assistance services. 

Approximately seven (7) of the commenters expressed similar or identical concerns or 
recommendations in a similar letter format, summarized as follows: 

Maintenance of Effort Requirement 
Commenters pointed out the State’s January 1, 2021 intended implementation date would be 
impacted by any extension of the federal public health emergency by the Secretary of Health 
and Human Services, and by the Maintenance of Effort requirements under Section 6008(b)(1) 
of the FFCRA. Response: As now stated in Section I., the State will seek a January 1, 2022 
implementation date given the federal COVID-19 public health emergency declaration will likely 
remain in place for the entirety of 2021 and the Maintenance of Effort requirements under 
Section 6008(b)(1) of the FFCRA. 

Undue Hardship and Other Exceptions to a Transfer Penalty 
Commenters noted the State’s proposed waiver includes a statement that Medicaid transfer of
assets rules and provision for an undue hardship waiver that apply under the transfer of assets 
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provisions of the federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation (OBRA) of 1993 and Deficit Reduction 
Act (DRA) of 2005 would apply to transfers in situations involving applications for community-
based long term care. However, commenters proposed that for applications for community-
based long term care services, the State should include additional exceptions, including: (i) a 
broader definition of what would constitute undue hardship; (ii) exceptions for the transfer of a 
home to a sibling with equity interest or a caregiver child; and (iii) a presumed exception for 
transfers made while an applicant received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group. 

Undue hardship: Commenters stated the State’s existing policy for an undue hardship exception 
to a transfer penalty must be modified for purposes of individuals applying for coverage of 
community-based long term care, including to either increase limits of or remove the provision 
that precludes claiming of an undue hardship if after payment of medical expenses, the 
individual’s or couple’s income and/or resources is at or above the allowable Medicaid 
exemption standard for a household of the same size. For reference, at the time of comment, 
the 2020 Medicaid Non-MAGI exemption standard for a household of one was monthly income 
of $875 and resources of $15,750. Commenters compared institutionalized individuals, who pay 
almost all of their Net Available Monthly Income (NAMI) to the cost of care and whose needs 
are arguably met by the nursing home to providing the individual with medical care, food and 
shelter, with individuals living in the community who are left with $875 to pay for food, shelter 
and other services. Commenters expressed concern that the $875 monthly income level would 
make undue hardship waivers unavailable for most individuals applying for Medicaid coverage 
of community-based long term care, estimating that most individuals have income of more than 
$875 per month. Commenters requested that the State create a new standard for individuals
applying for Medicaid coverage of community-based long term care that considers an 
individual’s actual living, medical and other expenses. Response: The State shares the 
commenters’ interest in an undue hardship policy with adequate provision for individuals 
applying for Medicaid coverage of community-based long term care and will take their 
comments under advisement in establishing policy guidance in this area. 

Transfer of a home: Commenters stated that because the individual’s home is not counted as 
an asset for purposes of Medicaid eligibility for coverage of community-based long term 
services, the transfer of a home by an applicant for community-based long term services should 
not trigger a penalty and that the lookback should not include a transfer of an applicant’s home, 
reasoning that transfer of an exempt asset does not impact eligibility for Supplemental Security
Income (SSI) and therefore should not impact Medicaid eligibility. Commenters stated that none 
of the services identified in the proposed waiver amendment would make an applicant an 
“institutionalized individual” as defined under 42 U.S.C. § 1396p(h). Commenters further stated 
that if the State does impose a penalty for transfer of a home, then the exceptions under federal 
and state statute that apply to a transfer of a home by an institutionalized individual seeking 
coverage of nursing home care must be applied to an individual applying for coverage of 
community-based long term care, with one commenter stating that otherwise Congress’ intent in 
enacting exceptions for transfer of a home to certain family members will be defeated. 
Commenters specifically reference transfer of a home to a caregiver child or to a sibling with 
equity interest. Response: The State is bound by federal statute at 42 U.S.C. § 1396p for the 
treatment of transfer of assets, including transfers of a home. A transfer of a home to a spouse, 
or a child under age 21, or a child who is certif ied blind or certified disabled in the 30-month 
lookback period by a non-institutionalized individual seeking Medicaid coverage of community-
based long term care would be considered an exempt transfer in accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 
1396p(c)(2)(A)(i)-(ii). However, 42 U.S.C. § 1396p(c)(2)(A)(iii)-(iv) provides to only an 
institutionalized individual an exception for transfer of a home to a caregiver child or to a sibling 
with equity interest. Therefore, pursuant to federal statute, the State cannot exempt transfer by 
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a non-institutionalized individual of a home to a caregiver child or to a sibling with equity interest 
in conjunction with an application by the non-institutionalized individual for community-based
long term care services and the applicable 30-month lookback. 

Transfers Made While an Applicant Received Medicaid in a MAGI Eligibility Group: 
Commenters stated the State should exempt transfers made by an individual in the 30-month 
lookback period if the transfer was made while the individual received Medicaid in a MAGI
eligibility group, reasoning MAGI eligibility does not consider resources and provides coverage 
for community-based long term care services. Response: The State is bound by federal statute 
at 42 U.S.C. § 1396p for the treatment of transfer of assets. There is no provision that exempts 
transfers made while an individual received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group. While 
individuals enrolled in a MAGI eligibility group may receive home and personal care services if 
needed, those over age 21, dually eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare and needing 
community-based long term care services for more than 120 days are required to enroll in an 
MLTC plan and would be subject to the 30-month lookback. Similarly, individuals seeking 
coverage of nursing home care are subject to a 60-month lookback and there is no exception for 
transfers made during the 60-month lookback if the transfer was made while the individual 
received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group. Therefore, pursuant to federal statute, the State 
cannot exempt transfers made by an individual in the 30-month lookback period if the transfer 
was made while the individual received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group.  

Start Date of Transfer Penalty 
Commenters seek clarif ication of the penalty start date and urge that the State define it as the 
first day an individual is “functionally eligible” for community-based long term care services, up 
to three (3) months prior to the application date, rather than the first day the otherwise eligible 
individual is receiving services for which Medicaid assistance coverage would be available 
based on an approved application. Commenters pointed out that unlike institutionalized 
individuals seeking Medicaid coverage of nursing home care, individuals in the community 
seeking Medicaid coverage of community-based long term care services will rarely be able at 
application to meet the requirement to demonstrate they are receiving the community-based 
long term care services for which Medicaid would be available based on an approved 
application given various upfront assessment requirements and the inability of individuals to 
directly contract with providers for services that Medicaid would pay for. Response: The State 
shares the commenters’ concern for a penalty period start date that considers the 
circumstances of an individual in the community and will seek to start a penalty period for an 
otherwise eligible individual based on a physician’s verif ication of the individual’s need for the 
community-based long term care services. 

Allow Attestation for Those in Immediate Need of Personal Care and Consumer Directed 
Personal Assistance Services 
Commenters stated that individuals applying for an expedited Medicaid eligibility determination 
in relation to an immediate need for personal care or consumer directed personal assistance 
services by the process the State has established pursuant to New York Social Services Law 
section 366-a(12) must be allowed to attest to the absence of prohibited transfers within the 
lookback period or that a transfer met an exemption, in lieu of the requirement to submit 
documentation of all resources for the applicant and spouse within the lookback period. Only 
one commenter proposed that documentation would submitted for review to the agency at a 
later time, after an initial attestation that no disqualifying transfers were made within the 30-
month lookback period. Commenters assert this is required in light of the State’s requirement to 
make a final eligibility determination within 7 days of the date of a complete Medicaid application 
for individuals in immediate need of personal care or consumer directed personal assistance 

16 



  

   
     

 
  

   

    
 

 

 

  
    

  
 

   

  

  
  

  
  

 
 

 
 

  

    
 

   
    

     
       

 
  

 
 

    
       

  
     

    

services and the requirement to complete social and nursing assessments for these services 
within 12 days of receipt of a completed application. Commenters state that because the 
applicant attests to their immediate need for these services, they should be allowed to attest to 
the absence of prohibited transfers within the lookback period and/or that a transfer meets an 
exemption. Commenters further state the State’s current process allowing an applicant who 
would otherwise be required to document accumulated resources to attest to the current value 
of real property and to the current dollar amount of any bank accounts should be extended to 
cover all documentation required for the 30-month lookback. Commenters state that many 
individuals who submit an application for Medicaid coverage of personal care and consumer 
directed personal assistance services based on an immediate need for those services are not 
transferring assets to qualify for those services.  Response: The State currently allows an 
applicant applying for an expedited Medicaid eligibility determination based on an immediate 
need for personal care or consumer directed personal assistance services, who would 
otherwise be required to document accumulated resources, to attest to only the current value of 
real property and to the current dollar amount of any bank accounts. 
(See https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/publications/adm/16adm2.htm) 
That is because for these specific assets, the local social services districts receive information 
through the Asset Verif ication System. These applicants must document all other resources.
Such coverage in the future will require documentation of the 30-month lookback pursuant to 
this amendment. For applicants seeking an expedited Medicaid eligibility determination based 
on an immediate need for personal care or consumer directed personal assistance services, the 
State will permit initial attestation only to the value of real property and the dollar amount value 
of any bank accounts owned in the 30-month lookback period if a consumer cannot submit
those documents at application, the values of which will be verif ied through the local district’s 
use of the Asset Verif ication System. The applicant will be required to submit all other asset 
information required to document the 30-month lookback in order for the application to be 
considered complete and subject to the expedited eligibility processing timeframes. If after an 
eligibility determination is made for an individual in immediate need of personal care or 
consumer directed personal assistance services the local district obtains information that is
inconsistent with the attested information and the inconsistency is relevant to the individual’s 
Medicaid eligibility, the local district is required to request documentation to verify the 
inconsistency. If upon further review of the information the individual is determined to be 
ineligible for Medicaid or the individual does not provide the requested documentation within the 
required time period, the local district is required to issue proper 10-day notice regarding the 
individual’s eligibility. 

“Grandfathered” Individuals 
Commenters stated the State should clarify the individuals or scenarios that would be 
grandfathered in and not subject to the 30-month lookback, and also stated certain groups of
individuals should be granted “grandfather” or essentially exempt status. 

Individuals Who Applied for Medicaid Coverage of CBLTC Services Prior to the Implementation 
Date:  
Commenters state those who apply for Medicaid coverage of CBLTC by December 31, 2020 but 
who are not yet receiving CBLTC services should not be subject to the 30-month lookback on 
January 1, 2021 (the former implementation date). Response: The State agrees and this is the 
State’s intention. As previously stated in Section III above, the State will implement these 
proposed transfer of assets rules only to those newly seeking CBLTC services on or after the 
implementation date - formerly January 1 2021, now January 1, 2022- and not to individuals 
already receiving CBLTC services on that date.  This means that individuals who apply for
Medicaid coverage of CBLTC before the implementation date will not be subject to the 30-
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month lookback, including those individuals who file a pre-implementation date application for 
Medicaid coverage of CBLTC but who are not yet receiving CBLTC services under that
application on the implementation date. The State has clarif ied this language in Section III. 

Individuals Receiving CBLTC on or After the Implementation Date: 
Commenters state that individuals receiving CBLTC services on the implementation date should 
be able to maintain “grandfather” status under several circumstances: (i) if their required 
services change; (ii) if they switch MLTC plans; (iii) if their Medicaid eligibility temporarily lapses 
due to issues with their Medicaid renewal; and (iv) if their Medicaid eligibility is inactivated due 
to an unmet spenddown. Response: The State shares the commenters’ interest in a policy 
that provides certain “grandfather” provisions for individuals receiving CBTLCservices as of the 
implementation date and will take their comments under advisement in establishing policy 
guidance in this area. 

Individuals in a MAGI Eligibility Group Who Transition to a Non-MAGI Eligibility Group on or 
After the Implementation Date: 
Commenters propose the following individuals should be exempt from the 30-month lookback:
(i) non-institutionalized individuals in a MAGI eligibility group who are subject to a 
redetermination of eligibility under a non-MAGI category of assistance, whether or not they were 
receiving CBLTC services while in a MAGI eligibility group; and (ii) non-institutionalized 
individuals currently in a MAGI eligibility group for whom the State has suspended 
redeterminations under a non-MAGI category of assistance during the current public health 
emergency in compliance with the conditions of FFCRA Section 6008(b)(3), when they are 
redetermined under a non-MAGI category of assistance at the end of the public health 
emergency. Commenters assert these individuals are not newly applying for Medicaid and that 
they are not requesting an increase in coverage because the MAGI eligibility category provides 
full Medicaid coverage, including coverage of CBLTC. Commenters also state that those 
individuals in a MAGI eligibility group who received CBLTC as MAGI recipients were not subject 
to an asset test and transfers were not reviewed or penalized; therefore, it would be unfair to 
impose a penalty on a transfer that was permitted at the time it was made. Commenters state 
that when the State returns to transitioning cases for a redetermination after the public health 
emergency ends, there will be a burdensome backlog of cases for local Medicaid agencies to 
review and confusion because individuals will have to be transferred from Mainstream Managed 
Care plans to Managed Long Term Care plans if they receive home care, or to fee-for-service 
and Medicare, and that it would be unfair to subject this group to the 30-month lookback 
because it will impose a more restrictive methodology that FFCRA Section 6008 was intended 
to prohibit and, were it not for the public health emergency, these individuals would have had 
the benefit of a redetermination under a non-MAGI category before the implementation of the 
30-month lookback. Response: As to scenario (i), regarding individuals enrolled in a MAGI 
eligibility group, as stated above, the State is bound by federal statute at 42 U.S.C. § 1396p for 
the treatment of transfer of assets. There is no provision that exempts transfers made while an 
individual received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group. While individuals enrolled in a MAGI 
eligibility group may receive home and personal care services if needed, those over age 21, 
dually eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare and needing community-based long term care 
services for more than 120 days are required to enroll in an MLTC plan and would be subject to 
the 30-month lookback. Similarly, individuals seeking coverage of nursing home care are 
subject to a 60-month lookback and there is no exception for transfers made during the 60-
month lookback if the transfer was made while the individual received Medicaid in a MAGI 
eligibility group. Therefore, pursuant to federal statute, the State cannot exempt transfers made 
by an individual in the 30-month lookback period if the transfer was made while the individual 
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received Medicaid in a MAGI eligibility group and cannot exempt that individual from the 
required 30-month lookback.  As to scenario (ii), the State will request guidance from CMS as to 
individuals who, because of the public health emergency, the State extended in a MAGI 
eligibility category in compliance with the conditions of FFCRA Section 6008(b)(3), and for 
whom the State will redetermine eligibility for under a non-MAGI category of assistance as 
required under federal rules and the redetermination occurs on or after the implementation date 
of the 30-month lookback. 

Section VIII. Evaluation Design 
New York believes this proposal will have minimal change to evaluation design.  This initiative 
is estimated to impact approximately 3,700 new applicants for CBLTC services through MLTC 
enrollment and approximately 70 new applicants through Medicaid fee-for-service in 2022 and 
annually thereafter.  New York will include a question in its next Evaluation Plan, specifically in 
Domain 1, that will assess the impact of the implementation a 30-month transfer of assets 
lookback period. The new lookback period criteria will be assessed by utilizing monthly 
enrollment data and evaluating any changes. 
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