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NOTE: This guide provides a brief overview of the GDL. For more detailed 
information, parents should visit DMV’s web site at DMV.ny.gov.

Before your teen jumps behind the wheel, 
there a few things you both need to know.

The bad news: Because of inexperience, teens are more likely to crash.

Younger drivers are involved in more crashes than other age group. The 
crashes that involve teens also tend to be more serious. The first year of 
unsupervised driving is the most dangerous due to lack of experience.

The good news: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws Save Lives.

Crashes are preventable. New York State’s (NYS) Graduated Driver 
Licensing (GDL) law is designed to prevent teen crashes by helping 
teens gradually and safely build their skills and gain experience behind 
the wheel. Need proof?  

The NYS GDL law is responsible for a 80% decrease in 
crashes for 16 and 17 year-old drivers. There is a basis for 
every restriction in the law (limit on number of passengers, 
curfew, etc.) 

Research shows that these strategies work.

What can you do to keep your teen driver safe?

When your teen is in the driver’s seat, you’re more than just a passenger.  
You’re the #1 influence for your teen driver.  Use this guide to become 
familiar with the law so you can help your young driver navigate through 
both the roads and the process to getting an unrestricted license! 
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Going through all three phases of licensing gives your teen the time and 
experience they need to become a safer driver.

Remember: Like everything else, you know your child best. The 
restrictions described in this guide are the minimum safety rules 
your teen must follow. You may choose to be more restrictive if 
you feel your child is not ready for added responsibility behind the 
wheel.

This guide describes GDL restrictions for junior permit and junior 
license holders who drive in Long Island (Nassau and Suffolk counties). 

Restrictions apply to where your teen drives, not where you live. 

The phases of licensing
There are three phases of licensing for young drivers:

1 2

3

Junior Permit/ 
Junior 
Motorcycle 
Permit

• Minimum age is 16. 
• Need to pass written test.
• Must have parental 

supervision while driving.
• See page 3 for more info.

Junior License/ 
Junior Motorcycle 
License (restricted)

• Allows for unsupervised 
driving with curfew and 
passenger restrictions.

• See page 5 for more 
info.

Unrestricted Driver/ 
Motorcycle License

• Minimum age is 18, or age 17 with 
driver education.

• This is an unrestricted license 
(not subject to GDL restrictions).

• See page 9 for more info.



PHASE 1: JUNIOR PERMIT
This is the learning phase. It allows young drivers to learn the basics of 
operating a motor vehicle through restricted driving.

To apply for a junior permit your child must:

• Be at least 16 years-old. 
• Have proof of identification (e.g., passport, social security card) and 

bring it to the test. 
• Study the New York State Driver’s Manual (printed copies of the 

Manual are available at local DMV offices and an online version is 
available at http://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/drivers-manual-practice-
tests).

• Complete an application (DMV form MV-44).
• Pass the written test and eye test.

For more information about getting a junior permit, test, forms, and 
fees, visit the NYS DMV website at:

http://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/get-learner-permit

Set your teen up for success! 

Before your teen hits the road, sit down together and create a driving 
agreement to set safe driving behaviors, rules, and consequences for 
breaking them. For a sample agreement, visit: 

www.safeny.ny.gov/SRO-Toolkit/contract.html 

Now the driving practice begins!

The single most important factor in developing 
a safe driver is practice. Before your teen 

can take their road test, they must 
complete a minimum of 50 hours of 
parent certified supervised driving, with 
15 of those hours required after sunset. 
Use a Driving Practice Log to keep track 
of the number of hours you and your teen 

have driven together. You may also want to jot down skills 
practiced, those mastered, and new ones to work on. 
A log is available on page 25 of the NYS Teen Driver 
Resource Guide at: 

http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nysdmv/
teenresourceguide/#/30 
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in loco parentis1 = A person who has, on a regular/extended basis, assumed the character 
of a parent and is discharging parental duties as a result of the death, disability, or 
absence of a natural parent.

Day
5am-9pm

Night
9pm-5am

Junior permit 
holders may 
drive only under 
supervision

✓
Must be under supervision of 
21+, NYS license holder who 
is parent, guardian, driver 
education teacher/driving 
school instructor, or person 
designated in loco parentis1.

• No front seat occupant except supervising driver.

• With parent/guardian as supervising driver: no restrictions on number 
of back seat passengers. Driving prohibited without parent/guardian as 
supervising driver.

• Each passenger must wear a seat belt and every child passenger 
must use a correct child restraint. For more information about the NYS 
Occupant Restraint Law, visit www.safeny.ny.gov/sesa-ndx.htm.

• For permit holders to drive in NYC, the vehicle used must have dual 
controls (dual brakes).  See NYC GDL guide for additional restrictions. 
No driving on the Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or 
Taconic State parkways, on any street within a park in NYC, on any 
bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Tri-borough Bridge and 
Tunnel Authority. Must not operate vehicle in any park, on any play 
street, or along any block in which there is an entrance to a public 
playground or park.

• Junior permit for motorcycle license: supervising driver must have 
a driver license valid to operate the same class vehicle your teen is 
driving, and must exercise general supervision and control by remaining 
within one-quarter mile. No passenger unless that passenger has a valid 
unrestricted motorcycle license.

Penalties:  fines $75-$300  Jail: maximum of 15 days

Activity Allowed =  ✓        Activity Not Allowed =  

Junior Permit Restrictions
Long Island
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To move to Phase 2 ( junior license) your teen must:
• Hold their junior permit for a minimum of six months.

• Take a pre-licensing course or driver education course (also called 
a “5 hour course”).

• Complete 50 hours of parent certified supervised driving, with 15 
of those hours required after sunset, prior to taking the road test. 
(A practice log is available on page 25 of the NYS Teen Driver 
Resource Guide at http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nysdmv/
teenresourceguide/#/30) 

• Complete DMV form MV-262 Certification of Supervised Driving. 
http://dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv262.pdf

• Schedule and take the road test.

PHASE 2: JUNIOR LICENSE
This is the training phase. It allows the young driver to practice and improve on 
the lessons learned during the junior permit phase.  Additional privileges begin 
at this point.

The restrictions for junior license holders described in this guide are 
the minimum safety rules your teen must follow. You may choose to be 
more restrictive if you feel your teen is not ready for added responsibility 
behind the wheel.
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Activity Allowed =  ✓        Activity Not Allowed =  X

School or extracurriculars2 = Authorized school activities do not include extracurricular 
events or social events for which scholastic credits are not given.

Junior License Restrictions
Long Island

Junior license holders 
may drive without 
supervision to: 

Day 
5am-9pm

Night 9pm-5am, 
directly to and from home:

School or extracurriculars2

Your teen may not 
drive during course of 
employment  
(deliveries, etc).

For authorized activities, 
your teen must have 
documentation signed by 
their employer (MV-58a) or 
instructor.

Work ✓
While engaged in farm 
employment ✓ ✓
State-approved cooperative 
work-study educational 
program

Approved program for credit 
in post-secondary institution

State-approved registered 
evening high school

Approved driver education 
course

✓ ✓

For all nighttime activities, your teen 
may drive with a supervising driver3.

• Without supervising driver3: only one passenger under 21 allowed, unless 
passengers are immediate family. With supervising driver3: no restrictions 
on number of passengers. 

• Every occupant must be properly restrained by safety belt or child 
safety seat.

• Junior motorcycle license: supervising driver need exercise only general 
supervision and control over the learner when operating a motorcycle.  
No passenger unless that passenger possesses a valid, unrestricted 
motorcycle license.

• Driving in NYC, for any reason, is prohibited with a junior license.  In 
addition, no driving on any street within a park in NYC, on any bridge or 
tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Tri-borough Bridge and Tunnel Authority, 
on the Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or Taconic State 
parkways.

Penalties:  fines $75-$300  Jail: maximum of 15 days

Supervising Driver3 = A 21+, NYS license holder who is the parent, guardian, driver 
education teacher/driving school instructor, or a person designated in loco parentis.
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Suspensions & Revocations

Using any electronic device while driving is against the law 
for all drivers.

Penalties:  
The first conviction of a cell phone use or texting violation re-
sults in a 120-day junior permit suspension and 5 points. 

A second conviction within six months of the restoration of the 
permit results in a revocation of at least one year for a permit 
and 5 points.

Under the NYS “Zero Tolerance Law,” a driver under the age 
of 21 cannot legally drive with a blood alcohol content of .02 
or above (a level that may occur from using mouthwash or 
cough syrup). 

Penalties:  
6-month license suspension, a $125 civil penalty, and a $100 
suspension termination fee. 

Each additional offense will result in junior permit revocation for 
at least one year or until age 21 (whichever is longer), plus a $125 
civil penalty, and a $100 permit re-application fee.
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What happens if they have more than one of the following violations?  

Your teen’s junior permit or license will be suspended for 60 days if 
they are convicted of two violations committed while they held a junior 
permit or license. 

Their license will also be suspended for 60 days if they are convicted 
of one “serious traffic violation” (usually carrying three points or more), 
such as speeding or texting while driving.  After the suspension ends, 
if your junior driver is convicted within 6 months of one serious traffic 
violation or two other violations, their junior permit or license will be 
revoked for 60 days.

If a license is suspended, your teen can drive again once the 
suspension period is over.  If a license is revoked, then it is lost 
completely, and your teen will have to start all over again and apply for 
a license after 60 days.   

Monitor your teen’s driving! 

Enroll in the TEENS Program with the NYS DMV – you’ll receive a 
notification when specific events (tickets, traffic violation convictions, 
driver license suspensions, and certain accidents) are added to your 
teen’s driving record. 

http://dmv.ny.gov/dmv-records/monitor-my-teen-driver-teens 

You control the keys. 

As the parent or guardian who consented to the 
issuance of a junior permit or license to your 
teen, you have the right to cancel your teen’s 
permit or junior license if you feel they should 
not be allowed to drive. Complete DMV form  
MV-1W (Withdrawal of Consent) and submit it 
to a DMV. 

http://dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv1w.pdf
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PHASE 3: UNRESTRICTED LICENSE

A full, unrestricted license will be sent in the mail to anyone holding a junior 
license after their 18th birthday. An unrestricted license is the same license that 
adults have and allows your teen to drive anywhere in NYS without curfew or 
passenger restrictions.

Teens who have taken a driver education course:

Your teen can apply for their full license at age 17 if they received a 
Student Certificate of Completion (DMV form MV-285) from an approved 
driver education course. Once your 17 year-old driver has passed their 
road test and surrendered the MV-285 to a DMV they are issued an 
unrestricted license. If your teen does not surrender their MV-285 form, 
they will still be considered a junior license holder and must continue to 
follow GDL restrictions.  

Safe Driving Takes Practice

Obtaining an unrestricted license does not signify the end of learning to 
drive. It takes years before an individual is proficient behind the wheel. 
Teens may even know people at their school or from other schools that 
have died or been seriously hurt in crashes. They are still at greater risk 
than the general population. Urge them to keep learning and practicing 
safe driving behavior.  
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KEY POINTS

Remember: junior permit and license restrictions apply to where 
you drive, not where you live.

• Practice, practice, practice. 

• Can only drive with a supervising driver. 

• Must wait at least six months before taking the  
road test. 

• If driving in New York City, must have a vehicle with 
dual brakes.

• Must pass the road test to receive a junior license.

• See page 4 for more details.
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• Driving unsupervised has restrictions. 

• Can only have one passenger under the age of 21. 

• Cannot use electronic devices while driving (applies 
to all drivers).

• Cannot drive in NYC.

• See page 6 for more details.JU
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For questions about this publication or to order 
copies, contact:

New York State Department of Health

Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury 
Prevention
Phone: (518) 402-7900
Email: injury@health.ny.gov

For more information about the Graduated 
Driver Licensing Law, visit the New York State 
Department of Motor Vehicles website:

www.dmv.ny.gov/youngerdriver

Funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration with a grant 
from the NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.
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