
 

 

         

   

 

    

  
  
  

 

 

Table of Contents 

State/Territory Name: New York 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 18-0023 
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RS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

, l I 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
New York Regional Office 
26 Federal Plaza, Room 37-100 
New York, NY 10278 

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND CHILDREN’S HEALTH OPERATIONS 

DMCHO: BP:SPA-NY-18-0023-Approval 

September 7, 2018 

Ms. Donna Frescatore 
State Medicaid Director 
Office of Health Insurance Programs 
NYS Department of Health 
One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1211 
Albany, NY 12210 

Dear Ms. Frescatore: 

This letter is to notify you that New York State Plan Amendment (SPA) #18-0023 has been 
approved for adoption into the State Medicaid Plan with an effective date of April 1, 2018. This 
SPA provides increases to hospice provider reimbursement rates due to the state’s statutorily 
increases to hourly minimum wages.     

Enclosed are copies of the Plan Pages for SPA #18-0023 and the HCFA-179 form, as approved.   

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please call Betsy Pinho at 518.396.3810 or 
e-mail at Betsy.Pinho@cms.hhs.gov. 

Ricardo Holligan 
Acting Associate Regional Administrator 
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations 

Enclosures: HCFA-179 Form 
State Plan Pages 

cc: R. Deyette 
P. LaVenia 
M. Levesque 
J. Yungandreas 
R. Weaver 

R. Holligan 
N. McKnight 
M. Tabakov 
B. Pinho 
M. Lopez 

mailto:Betsy.Pinho@cms.hhs.gov


DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

FORM APPROVED 
0MB NO. 0938-0193 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
18-0023 

2. STATE 

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
HEAL TH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 

New York 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
April 1, 2018 

0 NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN rg)AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT Se arate Transmittal or each amendment 

6, FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: (in thousands) 

Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447 a. FFY 04/01/18-09/30/18 $22.50 
b. FFY 10/01/18-09/30/19 $45.00 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN 
SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 

Attachment 4.19-B - Page 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Minimum Wage - Hospice Non-Residence 
(FMAP=50%) 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 
~ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
� NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUB MITT AL 

12. SIGNATURJi.-QF STATE_-6-GENCY QFFICIAL: 

0 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

16. RETURN TO: 

13.TYPED : Donna Frescatore 

New York State Department of Health 
------a Division of Finance & Rate Setting 

99 Washington Ave- One Commerce Plaza 

1--14-. _T_IT_L_E_: _M_e_d-ic-a-id_D_i_r-ec-to-r--------------------j Suite 1432 

De artment of Health Albany, NY 12210 

15. DATE SUBMITTED: 

6(b), 6(b)(1) 

09/07/2018 

04/01/2018 
Acting Associate Regional Administrator

Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health OperationsRICARDO HOLLIGAN 



  

  
 

                   

         

    
               
               

           
           

   

      

       
    
       

         

          

            
        

            
              
         

      
        
               
        

    
           
     

            
          

             
          

             
            
                 

         

          
      

Attachment 4.19-B 

New York 
6(b) 

Hospice Services – Adjustment for Minimum Wage Increases 
Effective April 1, 2018 , and every January 1, thereafter until the minimum wage reaches the 
statutorily described per hour wage as shown below, the rates of payment for services provided 
by Non-Residence Hospice providers include a rate add-on to reimbursement in accordance with
the wage chart shown below to address increases in labor costs. 

Minimum Wage Chart 

12/31/2016 12/31/2017 12/31/2018 12/31/2019 12/31/2020 12/31/2021 

New York City $10.50 $12.00 $13.50 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 
Nassau, Suffolk, & Westchester 
counties $10.00 $11.00 $12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00 

Remainder of the State $9.70 $10.40 $11.10 $11.80 $12.50 $12.50 

The minimum wage adjustment will be developed and implemented as follows: 

1. Minimum wage costs will mean the additional costs incurred beginning April 1, 2018 and
thereafter, as a result of New York State statutory increases to minimum wages. 

2. The 2018 provider specific minimum wage add-on will be developed based on collected survey
data received and attested to by hospice providers. If a hospice provider fails to submit the 
attested survey data, the provider will not receive a minimum wage add-on. 

i. Minimum wage cost development based on survey data collected. 
a. Survey data will be collected for provider specific wage data. 
b. Providers will report by wage bands, the total count of FTEs and total hours paid to all
employees (contracted and non-contracted staff) earning less than the statutory 
minimum wage applicable for each region. 

c. Providers will report an average fringe benefit percentage for the employees directly 
affected by the minimum wage increase. 

d. The minimum wage costs are calculated by multiplying the total hours paid by the
difference between the statutory minimum wage and the midpoint of each wage band 
where the provider has reported total hours paid. To this result, the provider’s 
average fringe benefit percentage is applied and added to the costs. 

3. The provider specific cost amount will be adjusted by a factor calculated by dividing the 
provider’s average dollar per hour under minimum wage by the regional average. The 
resulting amount will be divided by patient days to arrive at a rate per diem add on, which will 
be applied to only Medicaid days for purposes of Medicaid reimbursement. 

4. In subsequent years until the minimum wage is completely implemented statewide, the 
Department will survey facilities utilizing the same methodology. 

TN #18-0023 Approval Date 09/07/2018
04/01/2018Supersedes TN New Effective Date 



  

  
 

                   

         

           
            
         

               
              

             
               
            
        

          
           

         
             
         

          

           
             
   

            
              
            

       
      

        
        

         

          
       

Attachment 4.19-B 

New York 
6(b)(1) 

5. Minimum Wage Reconciliation - After the end of each calendar year, the Department of
Health will survey providers to obtain the following information for the purpose of 
reconciling annual minimum wage reimbursement. The state will release the reconciliation 
survey by the end of March and providers will have two weeks to complete the survey or
request an extension if a provider determines it is unable to complete the survey within that 
time. Approval of extensions, and the time of the extension, is at the discretion of the 
state. If the reconciliation survey is not submitted within the two weeks or within the
extension time frame, should one be granted, the provider’s minimum wage add-on for the 
calendar year covered by the survey will be recouped. 

i. Total annual minimum wage funding paid to the provider (as determined from the 
minimum wage add-on to claims paid for services rendered in the prior calendar
year) for the Medicaid share of the minimum wage law increase requirement. (This 
information will be supplied by the Department of Health.) Medicaid’s share is the 
percentage of minimum wage costs that are attributable to Medicaid services based
on the proportion of Medicaid services to a provider’s total services. 

ii. Medicaid’s share of the total amount the provider was obligated to pay to bring
salaries up to the minimum wage for the calendar year. (This information will be 
completed by the provider.) 

iii. Minimum wage funds to be recouped or additional funds to be received by the
provider. (This information will be completed by the provider.) This will be the 
difference between the amount paid to the provider for the Medicaid share of the 
minimum wage law increase requirement and the corresponding amount the
provider determined it was actually obligated to pay. 

iv. The State agency will review providers’ submissions for accuracy and 
reasonableness, following which it will process associated payments and 
recoupments via retroactive per unit rate adjustments as quickly as practical 
thereafter. 

6. The agency’s Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer must sign an Attestation 
verifying the data that is supplied in the survey. 

TN #18-0023 Approval Date 09/07/2018
04/01/2018

Supersedes TN New Effective Date 




