DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 East 12th Street, Suite 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106-2898

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

June 22, 2020

Donna Frescatore

Deputy Commissioner

Office of Health Insurance Programs
New York State Department of Health
One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1211
Albany, NY 12210

RE: Approval of New York State Plan Amendment Transmittal Number 15-0011
Dear Ms. Frescatore:

This is to notify you that New York State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 15-0011,
has been approved on June 9, 2020, for adoption into the State Medicaid Plan with an effective
date of October 1, 2015. This SPA adds additional exempt groups from Medicaid copays.

As discussed with the State, a companion letter has been issued with the approval of this SPA to
memorialize a short term mitigation strategy that the State will implement until the State is able to
come into full compliance with statute and regulation related to tracking cost sharing and
premiums.

Enclosed are copies of the approved SPA #15-0011.

If you have any questions or wish to discuss this SPA further, please contact Ms. Maria Tabakov
at (212) 616-2503.

Sincerely.

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures
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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
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June 22, 2020

Donna Frescatore

Deputy Commissioner

Office of Health Insurance Programs
New York State Department of Health
One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1211
Albany, NY 12210

Dear Ms. Frescatore:

This letter is being sent as a companion to the approval of New York State Plan Amendment
(SPA) #15-0011. This letter memorializes a short term mitigation strategy that the state will
implement until the state is able to come into full compliance with statute and regulation related
to tracking cost sharing and premiums.

Sections 1916A(a)(2)(B), 1916A(b)(1)(B)(i1), and 1916A(b)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act, as
implemented at 42 CFR §447.56(f), require the state to limit the amount of out-of-pocket
expenditures that a beneficiary may incur. The state may not impose premiums and/or cost
sharing that exceed an amount of 5 percent of family income (aggregate cap), on either a monthly
or quarterly basis. The state’s current practice is to set an annual cap of $200 for all non-exempt
beneficiaries with income over 100 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL). While states have
flexibility to limit cost sharing below a person’s calculated 5 percent aggregate cap, in this
instance, the state’s cap could still result in some individuals exceeding their 5 percent aggregate
cap. Lastly, the state’s policy to track annually, rather than monthly or quarterly is inconsistent
with our rules.

During our review of SPA #15-0011, the state informed CMS that it would comply with the
aggregate cap and its associated tracking requirements by taking the following two steps: 1)
setting a quarterly cap at $50 for beneficiaries with income over 100 percent of the FPL, which
would result in all individuals subject to cost sharing charges never exceeding his/her aggregate
cap, and 2) making systems changes to allow the state to track cost sharing and then turn off cost
sharing once a beneficiary has reached his/her cap for the quarter. The state expects to fully
implement an automated tracking system by April 1, 2021.
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As the state works toward the tracking system implementation date, the state has delegated, as an
interim step, responsibility to track to its managed care entities. As of April 1, 2020, managed
care entities have begun to track copays incurred by enrollees not otherwise exempt from cost
sharing. The state has developed processes to identify these individuals for the managed care
entities and provide oversight of those managed care entities. The managed care entities will
track the copays and inform beneficiaries when they have reached their respective caps. Given
that the vast majority of Medicaid beneficiaries in the state are enrolled in managed care, this new
requirement will greatly reduce the number of individuals who could exceed their respective caps.

If you have any questions about this letter or require any further assistance, please contact Maria
Tabakov at (212) 616-2503, or Maria.Tabakov(@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely.

Division of Program Operations


mailto:Maria.Tabakov@cms.hhs.gov
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|A§1902(a) of the Socia | Security Act, and 42 CFR 447
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Federal Fiscal Year Amount

Second Year (2016

First Year $| 1075.00 |
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Subject of Amendment
New Populations/groups exempt from Medicaid cost sharing (co-pays).

Governor's Office Review
@ Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal

Other, as specified
Describe:
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42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 (excluding 447.55)

State Name:|New York OMB Control Number: 0938-1148
Transmittal Number: TN -15- 0011

Cost Sharing Requirements Gl
1916

1916A

The state charges cost sharing (deductibles, co-insurance or co-payments) to individuals covered under Medicaid. Yes

The state assures that it administers cost sharing in accordance with sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42
CFR 447.50 through 447.57.

General Provisions

The cost sharing amounts established by the state for services are always less than the amount the agency pays for the
service.

[m] No provider may deny services to an eligible individual on account of the individual's inability to pay cost sharing, except as
elected by the state in accordance with 42 CFR 447.52(e)(1).

[m] The process used by the state to inform providers whether cost sharing for a specific item or service may be imposed on a
beneficiary and whether the provider may require the beneficiary to pay the cost sharing charge, as a condition for receiving
the item or service, is (check all that apply):

[7] The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)

[[] The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System

[X] The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System

[7] The state includes an indicator on the Medicaid card, which the beneficiary presents to the provider

[7] Other process

[m] Contracts with managed care organizations (MCOs) provide that any cost-sharing charges the MCO imposes on Medicaid

enrollees are in accordance with the cost sharing specified in the state plan and the requirements set forth in 42 CFR 447.50
through 447.57.

Cost Sharing for Non-Emergency Services Provided in a Hospital Emergency Department

The state imposes cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in a hospital emergency department. Yes

The state ensures that before providing non-emergency services and imposing cost sharing for such services, that the
hospitals providing care:

[m] Conduct an appropriate medical screening under 42 CFR 489.24, subpart G to determine that the individual does
not need emergency services;

[m] Inform the individual of the amount of his or her cost sharing obligation for non-emergency services provided in
the emergency department;

[m] Provide the individual with the name and location of an available and accessible alternative non-emergency
services provider;

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011

Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Supersedes TN: New

Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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[m] Determine that the alternative provider can provide services to the individual in a timely manner with the
imposition of a lesser cost sharing amount or no cost sharing if the individual is otherwise exempt from cost
sharing; and

[m] Provide a referral to coordinate scheduling for treatment by the alternative provider.

The state assures that it has a process in place to identify hospital emergency department services as non-emergency for
purposes of imposing cost sharing. This process does not limit a hospital's obligations for screening and stabilizing
treatment of an emergency medical condition under section 1867 of the Act; or modify any obligations under either
state or federal standards relating to the application of a prudent-layperson standard for payment or coverage of
emergency medical services by any managed care organization.

The process for identifying emergency department services as non-emergency for purposes of imposing cost sharing is:

The Emergency Department medical professionals make a determination as to whether the services provided were non-
emergency or not. When determined to be non-emergency, the claim for services would be submitted with the ‘non-
emergency’ indicator, and the system will remove the copay amount from the reimbursement amount. In NYS the $3
copay for non-emergent use of the emergency department is equal to the $3 copay for clinic services. Services are never
denied due to the inability or failure to pay a co-payment. NYS has current initiatives (Delivery System Reform Incentive
Payment / Health Homes) underway to decrease potentially preventable emergency department visits. Members who
present to the ER with a non-emergent condition will incur the same $3 copay if they are treated in the ER or are referred
to the facility’s outpatient clinic for care.

Cost Sharing for Drugs
The state charges cost sharing for drugs. Yes
The state has established differential cost sharing for preferred and non-preferred drugs. No

[m] All drugs will be considered preferred drugs.

Beneficiary and Public Notice Requirements

Consistent with 42 CFR 447.57, the state makes available a public schedule describing current cost sharing

requirements in a manner that ensures that affected applicants, beneficiaries and providers are likely to have access to
the notice. Prior to submitting a SPA which establishes or substantially modifies existing cost sharing amounts or
policies, the state provides the public with advance notice of the SPA, specifying the amount of cost sharing and who is
subject to the charges, and provides reasonable opportunity for stakeholder comment. Documentation demonstrating
that the notice requirements have been met are submitted with the SPA. The state also provides opportunity for
additional public notice if cost sharing is substantially modified during the SPA approval process.

Other Relevant Information

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
age 3 of 3
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State Name:|New York
Transmittal Number: TN - 15- 0011

OMB Control Number: 0938-1148

Cost Sharing Amounts - Categorically Needy Individuals G2a
1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54
The state charges cost sharing to all categorically needy (Mandatory Coverage and Options for Coverage) individuals. Yes
Services or Items with the Same Cost Sharing Amount for All Incomes
Dollars or
Add Service or Item Amount |Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
FDA approved drugs to 0.00 .
el treat tuberculosis $ Prescription Remove
FDA approved 0.00 .
Add psychotropic drugs $ Prescription RemOVﬁ

Services or Items with Cost Sharing Amounts that Vary by Income

Service or Item:|Pharmacy Prescription Brand Name Drugs

Remove Service

or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
0
Add|!00% FPL 3001 Prescription Remove
. - . ) Remove Service
Service or Item:{Pharmacy Prescription Generic, Preferred Brand, and Brand Less Than Generic Drugs or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than |than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
100% FPL 1.00 When brand drug cost after
consideration of all rebates is less than
o the generic equivalent, the brand is
Add $ Prescription dispensed. Cost Sharing Amount is SEToNE
limited to the generic Cost Sharing
Amount, holding member harmless.

Service or Item:{Pharmacy Non-Prescription Drugs

Remove Service

or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add|100% FPL 0.50 $ Prescription Remove

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011
Supersedes TN: New

Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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Service or Item:|Clinic Visits

Remove Service

or [tem
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than |than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add|100% FPL 3.00 S Visit Remove
Servi Tterm:| Lab T Remove Service
ervice or Item:|Laboratory Tests s T
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add|100% FPL 0.50 S Procedure Remove
Servi Ttem:| Medical Suppli Remove Service
ervice or Item:|Medical Supplies or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add|100% FPL 1.00 S Ttem Remove

Service or Item:|Inpatient Hospital Stays (involving at least one overnight stay; is due upon discharge)

Remove Service

or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
0,
Add|100% FPL 25.00 $ Entire Stay Remove
) ; Remove Service
Service or Item:{Emergency Room - for non-urgent or non-emergency services or Ttem
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add|100% FPL 3.00 S Visit Remove
Add Service or Item
Cost Sharing for Non-preferred Drugs Charged to Otherwise Exempt Individuals
If the state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs (entered above), answer the following question:
The state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs to otherwise exempt individuals. No

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011
Supersedes TN: New

Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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Cost Sharing for Non-emergency Services Provided in the Hospital Emergency Department Charged to Otherwise
Exempt Individuals

If the state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department (entered above), answer
the following question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department to otherwise No
exempt individuals.

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
age 3 of 3
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State Name:|New York OMB Control Number: 0938-1148
Transmittal Number: TN -15- 0011

Cost Sharing Amounts - Medically Needy Individuals G2b

1916

1916A

42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state charges cost sharing to all medically needy individuals. Yes
The cost sharing charged to medically needy individuals is the same as that charged to categorically needy individuals. Yes

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
age 1 of 1



@HSM Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name:|New York OMB Control Number: 0938-1148
Transmittal Number: TN -15- 0011

Cost Sharing Amounts - Targeting G2¢

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state targets cost sharing to a specific group or groups of individuals. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
age 1 of 1
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State Name

Transmittal

:INew York OMB Control Number: 0938-1148

Number: TN -15-0011

Cost Sharing Limitations G3

1916
1916A

42 CFR 447.56

[m]

[m]

[m]

(]
(]

[m]

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56, and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and
1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

[Exemptions

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42
CFR 435.118).

Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income
does not exceed the higher of:

[m] 133% FPL; and

[m] If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(1)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act, up to 185 percent.
Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:

[m] SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).

[m] Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).

[m] Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).

Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child
in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.

Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the
Act).

Pregnant women, during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and
extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends, except for cost
sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.

Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available
income other than required for personal needs.

An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(0) of the Act.

Indians who are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or
through referral under contract health services.

Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015

age 1 of 5
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Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions

The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:

The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19, 20 or 21, or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age

Oor over.

Yes

Indicate below the age of the exemption:
(" Under age 19
(" Under age 20
(® Under age 21

(" Other reasonable category

The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based
setting is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.

Yes

Services - Mandatory Exemptions
The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:
[m] Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).

[m] Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and

pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the

Act for family planning services and supplies.

[m] Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age

regardless of family income, which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures
guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

[m] Pregnancy-related services, including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p), and counseling and drugs for
cessation of tobacco use. All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those

services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.

[m] Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).

Enforceability of Exemptions

The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that

apply):

[m] To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AI/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service
furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR

447.56(a)(1)(x), the state uses the following procedures:

[X] The state accepts self-attestation
[] The state runs periodic claims reviews
[7] The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document

[X] The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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[7] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

[m] To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):

[[] The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt

[X] The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt

[[] The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt

[X] The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary is exempt

[7] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

Payments to Providers

The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation, regardless of
whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).

IPayments to Managed Care Organizations

The state contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes

The state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for

beneficiaries not exempt from cost sharing, regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient
members or the cost sharing is collected.

Aggregate Limits

Medicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5
percent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.

[m] The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020
Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
age 3 of 5
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® 5%
C 4%
C 3%
C 2%
C 1%

(C Other: %

[m] The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:
(® Quarterly

(" Monthly

The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing through a mechanism that does not

; . Yes
rely on beneficiary documentation.

[m] Describe the mechanism by which the state tracks each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing (check all that
apply):

[X] As claims are submitted for dates of services within the family's current monthly or quarterly cap period, the state
applies the incurred cost sharing for that service to the family's aggregate limit. Once the family reaches the
aggregate limit, based on incurred cost sharing and any applicable premiums, the state notifies the family and
providers that the family has reached their aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period, and are
no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing.

[[] Managed care organization(s) track each family's incurred cost sharing, as follows:
[] Other process:

[m] Describe how the state informs beneficiaries and providers of the beneficiaries' aggregate family limit and notifies
beneficiaries and providers when a beneficiary has incurred premiums and cost sharing up to the aggregate family limit
and individual family members are no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing for the remainder of the family's
current monthly or quarterly cap period:

Providers are informed by the Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (MEVS) when a beneficiary has no co-pay or
if the beneficiary's co-pay limit has been met. Beneficiaries are also sent a system-generated letter when their co-pay
limit has been met. Beneficiaries whose income is less than 100% of the FPL are not subject to cost-sharing.
Beneficiaries whose income is greater than 100% of the FPL will not exceed a $50 quarterly co-pay maximum, which
will ensure that beneficiaries will not incur cost sharing that exceeds the 5% aggregate quarterly limit as described in
42 CFR 447.56(f). Both fee-for-service and managed care populations will be tracked.

The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have incurred premiums or cost sharing over

the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period. Yes

Describe the appeals process used:

Any disagreement with the Medicaid decision including co-pay can be challenged by the beneficiary through established
fair-hearing process. Information about fair-hearing is provided on every notice that the beneficiaries receive and on the
department website.

Transmittal Number (TN): 15-0011 Approval Date: 06/09/2020

Supersedes TN: New Effective Date: 10/01/2015
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[m] Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the family is identified as paying over the aggregate
limit for the month/quarter:

Once the beneficiary reaches the limit or has met the maximum co-pay limit the system will indicate that to the provider
who should not charge any co-pay. Co-pays are deducted from the payment to the providers and the provider collects co-
pay from the beneficiary. In case of over-payment the provider returns the copay to the beneficiary.

[m] Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in
circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

Beneficiaries are required to report any changes in income or the household. Any such change results in recalculation of
the family budget and co-pay if applicable. No one is terminated and no service is denied for the beneficiary's inability to
make a co-pay.

The state imposes additional aggregate limits, consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5). No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722
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42 CFR 447.51

through 447.55

1916(a) and
of the Act

TN _ #15-0011

Attachment 1.1
OMB No. 0938-

New York
54

Reserved

4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges

@

(b)

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

Approval Date

Unless a waiver under 42 CFR 431.55(g) applies,
deductibles, coinsurance rates, and copayments do
not exceed the maximum allowable charges under
42 CFR 447.54

Except as specified in items 4.18(b)(4), (5),

and (6) below, with respect to individuals covered as
categorically needy or as qualified Medicare
beneficiaries (as defined in section 1905(p)(1) of
the Act) under the plan:

(D) No enrollment fee, premium, or similar charge
is imposed under the plan.

(2) No deductible, coinsurance, copayment, or
similar charge is imposed under the plan for
the following:

(i)  Services to individuals under age 18, or

under —

[ 1] Age 19
[] Age 20
[X] Age 21

Reasonable categories of individuals
who are age 18 or older, but under age
21, to whom charges apply are listed
below, if applicable.

(i)  Services to pregnant women related to
the pregnancy or any other medical
condition that may complicate the

pregnancy.]

June 9, 2020

Effective Date Oc¢tober 1, 2015




New York
55

Reserved

Attachment 1.1
OMB No. 0938-

[Citation 4.18 (b)(2) (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii)
through
447.58

(iv)

(v)

(vi)

(vii)

1916 of the Act, (viii)
P.L.99-272,
(Section 9505)

All services furnished to pregnant
women.

[ ] Not applicable. Charges apply for
services to pregnant women
unrelated to the pregnancy.

Services furnished to any individual who
is an inpatient in a hospital, long-term
care facility, or other medical institution,
if the individual is required, as a
condition of receiving services in the
institution, to spend for medical care
costs all but a minimal amount of his or
her income required for personal needs.

Emergency services if the services meet
the requirementsin 42 CFR
447.53(b)(4).

Family planning services and supplies
furnished to individuals of childbearing
age.

Services furnished by a health
maintenance organization in which the
individual is enrolled.

Services furnished to an individual
receiving hospice care, as defined in
section 1905(0) of the Act.]

TN _ #15-0011 Approval Date June 9, 2020
Supersedes TN __ #92-28 Effective Date _October 1, 2015




[Citation

42 CFR 447.51
through
447.46

TN _ #15-0011

Attachment 1.1
OMB No. 0938-

New York

Reserved

4.18 (b) (Continued)

3)

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

Unless a waiver under 42 CFR 431.55(g)
applies, nominal deductible, coinsurance,
copayment, or similar charges are imposed
for services that are not excluded from such
charges under item (b)(3) above.

[ 1 Not applicable. No such charges are
imposed.

(i)  For any service, no more than one type
of charge is imposed.

(i) Charges apply to services furnished to
the following age groups:

[ ] 18 or older
[ ] 19 or older
[ ] 20 or older
[X] 21 or older
[ 1 Charges apply to services furnished to
the following reasonable categories of

individuals listed below who are 18
years of age or older but under age 21.]

Approval Date ___June 9, 2020

Effective Date _October 1, 2015




Attachment 1.1

New York
56a
Reserved
[Citation 4.18(b)(3) (Continued)
42 CFR 447.51 (i) For the categorically needy and qualified
through 447.58 Medicare beneficiaries, ATTACHMENT

4.18-A specifies the:

(A) Service(s) for which a charge(s) is
applied;

(B) Nature of the charge imposed on
each service;

(C) Amount(s) of and basis for
determining the charge(s);

(D) Method used to collect the
charge(s);

(E) Basis for determining whether an
individual is unable to pay the
charge and the means by which
such an individual is identified to
providers;

(F) Procedures for implementing and
enforcing the exclusions from cost
sharing contained in 42 CFR
447.53(b); and

(G) Cumulative maximum that applies
to all deductible, coinsurance or
copayment charges imposed on a
specified time period.

[ 1 Not applicable. There is no
maximum.]

TN _ #15-0011 Approval Date _ June 9, 2020
Supersedes TN __ #92-28 Effective Date October 1, 2015




[Citation
1902(c) of
the Act

1902(a)(52)
and 1925(b)
of the Act

1916(d) of
the Act

TN _ #15-0011

Attachment 1.1

New York

56b

Reserved

4.18(b)(4) [ ]

4.18(b)(5) [ ]

4.18(b)(6) [ ]

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

A monthly premium isimposed on pregnant
women and infants who are covered under
section 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) of the Act
and whose income equals or exceeds 150
percent of the Federal poverty level
applicable to a family of the size involved.
The requirements of section 1916(c) of the
Act are met. ATTACHMENT 4.18-D specifies
the method the State uses for determining
the premium and the criteria for
determining what constitutes undue
hardship for waiving payment of premiums
by recipients.

For families receiving extended benefits
during a second 6-month period under
section 1925 of the Act, a monthly premium
is imposed in accordance with sections
1925(b)(4) and (5) of the Act.

A monthly premium, set on a sliding scale,
imposed on qualified disabled and working
individuals who are covered under section
1902(a)(10)(E)(ii) of the Act and whose
income exceeds 150 percent (but does not
exceed 200 percent) of the Federal poverty
level applicable to a family of the size
involved. The requirements of section
1916(d) of the Act are met. ATTACHMENT
4.18-E specifies the method and standards
the State uses for determining the
premium.]

Approval Date _ June 9, 2020

Effective Date Oc¢tober 1, 2015




Attachment 1.1

New York
56¢C

Reserved

[Citation
4.18(c) [X] Individuals are covered as medically needy
under the plan.
42 CFR 447.51
through 447.58
(1) [ 1 Anenroliment fee, premium or similar

charge is imposed. ATTACHMENT 4.18-B
specifies the amount of and liability period
for such charges subject to the maximum
allowable charges in 42 CFR 447.52(b) and
defines the State’s policy regarding the
effect on recipients of non-payment of the
enrolliment fee, premium, or similar charge.

447.51 through (2) No deductible, coinsurance, copayment,
447.58 or similar charge is imposed under the plan
for the following:

(i)  Services to individuals under age 18,
or under —

[ 1] Agel9

[ 1T Age20

[X] Age21

Reasonable categories of individuals
who are age 18, but under age 21, to

whom charges apply are listed below,
if applicable:]

TN __ #15-0011 Approval Date June 9, 2020
Supersedes TN __ #92-28 Effective Date October 1, 2015




[Citation

42 CFR 447.51
through
447.58

1916 of the Act,
P.L.99-272
(Section 9505)

447.51 through
447.58

TN_ #15-0011

New York
56d

Reserved

Attachment 1.1

4.18(c)(2) (Continued)

(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

(v)

(vi)

(vii)

(viii)

Approval Date

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

Services to pregnant women related to
the pregnancy or any other medical
condition that may complicate the

pregnancy.

All services furnished to pregnant
women.

[ 1 Not applicable. Charges apply for
services to pregnant women
unrelated to the pregnancy.

Services furnished to any individual
who is an inpatient in a hospital, long-
term care facility, or other medical
institution, if the individual is required,
as a condition of receiving services in
the institution, to spend for medical
costs all but a minimal amount of his
income required for personal needs.

Emergency services if the services
meet the requirementsin 42 CFR
447.53(b)(4).

Family planning services and supplies
furnished to individuals of childbearing
age.

Services furnished to an individual
receiving hospice care, as defined in
section 1905(0) of the Act.

Services provided by a health
maintenance organization (HMO) to
enrolled individuals.

[ T Not applicable. No such charges
are imposed.]

June 9, 2020

Effective Date

October 1, 2015




[Citation

TN_ #15-0011

Attachment 1.1

New York

Reserved

4.18(c)(3)

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

56e

Unless a waiver under 42 CFR 431.55(g)
applies, nominal deductible, coinsurance,
copayment, or similar charges are imposed on
services that are not excluded from such
charges under item (b)(2) above.

[ T Not applicable. No such charges are

(i)

(ii)

imposed.

For any service, no more than onetype of
charge is imposed.

Charges apply to services furnished to the
following age group:

[ 1 18orolder

[ 1T 19orolder

[ 1 20orolder

[X] 21orolder

Reasonable categories of individuals who
are 18 years of age, but under 21, to

whom charges apply are listed below, if
applicable.]

Approval Date __June 9, 2020

Effective Date _October 1, 2015




[Citation

447.51 through
447.58

TN _ #15-0011

Reserved

Supersedes TN __ #92-285

Attachment 1.1

New York

4.18(c)(3) (Continued)

(i) For the medically needy, and other

optional groups, ATTACHMENT 4.18-C
specifies the:

(A) Service(s) for which charge(s) is
applied;

(B) Nature of the charge imposed on
each service;

(©) Amount(s) of and basis for
determining the charge(s);

(D) Method used to collect the
charge(s);

(E) Basis for determining whether an
individual is unable to pay the
charge(s) and the means by which
such an individual is identified to
providers;

(F) Procedures for implementing and
enforcing the exclusions from cost
sharing contained in 42 CFR
447.53(b); and

(G) Cumulative maximum that applies to
all deductible, coinsurance, or
copayment charges imposed on a
family during a specified time
period.

[ 1 Not applicable. There is no
maximum.]

Approval Date June 9, 2020
Effective Date _October 1, 2015
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Attachment 4.18-A
OMB NO. : 0938-0193

New York
2

Reserved
[STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals:
[X] Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.

[ 1 Theagency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for a services and collects
the cost sharing charges from individuals.

The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the
means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described below:

The recipient’s own declaration that he/she is unable to pay is the basis for determining when
an individual is unable to pay.]

TN

#15-0011 Approval Date ___June 9, 2020

Supersedes TN __ #92-28 Effective Date October 1, 2015




Attachment 4.18-A
OMB.: 0938-0193

New York
3

Reserved
[STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions [form] from cost-
sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Informational notices and letters have been sent to providers, recipients and
local social service districts.

MMIS Systems have been implemented to exclude certain groups of recipients
from co-pay requirements as follows: SEE SUPPLEMENT 1.

E. CUMULATIVE MAXIMUMS ON CHARGES:
O State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.
Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:

From November 1, 1993 through March 31, 1994, a cumulative
maximum of $41 per Medicaid recipient will apply.

Beginning April 1, 1994 through March 31, 1995 and each following
year beginning on April first a cumulative maximum of $100 per
Medicaid recipient will apply.

Beginning August 1, 2005 through March 31, 2006 and each

following year beginning on April first, a cumulative maximum of $200
per Medicaid recipient will apply.]

TN#: #15-0011 Approval Date: June 9, 2020

Supercedes TN#: _#05-40 Effective Date:_October 1, 2015




TN

Supersedes TN __ #92-28

Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.18-A

New York
1

Reserved
[
1.) Children under age 21 are excluded based on a check of date of birth on the recipient
file used during claim processing. The date of birth is printed on the plastic common
benefit card.

2.) Pregnant women are excluded when requesting a service requiring copay. If not visibly
apparent, a pregnant recipient can be determined by the type of drug or supply ordered,
through a note signed by a physician which identifies the recipient as pregnant or
through some other evidence which includes telephone contact with a physician or when
the prescription source is a Prenatal Care Assistance Program (PCAP) or an obstetrician.
The provider must indicate pregnancy on the claim form.

3.) Institutionalized individuals are identified and exempted during claims processing.
These recipients usually do not leave the facility where they are institutionalized. When
recipients require outside services, the facility makes arrangements and verifies the
recipient exemption from copay.

4.) Emergency services are excluded by the providers indicating that the service is an
emergency on the claim form.

5.) Family planning drugs and supplies are excluded from copay and are currently identified
in the Provider Manuals under the headings of “Family Planning Products.” Family
planning items are also identified in the MMIS during claims processing. ]

#15-0011 Approval Date June 9, 2020
Effective Date _October 1, 2015




Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.18-A

New York
2

Reserved

[

6.) Services provided by an HMO to an enrollee are identified by the Electronic Medicaid
Eligibility Verification System (EMEVS) to the provider of service. During claims
processing, HMO enrollees and the services included in the capitation payment are
identified as excluded.

Individuals enrolled in health maintenance organizations (HMQO's) or other entities which
provide comprehensive health services, or other managed care programs for services
covered by such programs are exempt from co-payments, except that such persons shall
be subject to co-payments for each generic prescription drug dispensed, each brand-
name prescription drug dispensed, and each over-the-counter medication ordered by a
recognized practitioner as listed on Attachment 4.18-A, Page 1c.

7.) No service provided by a hospice is subject to co-pay. Services provided to individuals
receiving hospice care are identified during MMIS claims processing and are exempted
from co-pay requirements.

8.) Additional exclusions from co-payment may be made pursuant to state statute. ]

TN __ #15-0011 Approval Date__June 9, 2020

Supersedes TN __ #05-02 Effective Date October 1, 2015
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Attachment 4.18-C
OMB.:0938-0193

New York
2

Reserved
[STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
The method used to collect cost sharing charges for Medically needy individuals:
X] Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.

[ 1 Theagency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for a service and collects
the cost sharing charges from individuals.

The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the
means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described below:

The recipient’s own declaration that he/she is unable to pay is the basis for determining when

TN

an individual is unable to pay.]

#15-0011 Approval Date__2une 9, 2020

Supersedes TN __ #92-28 Effective Date October 1, 2015




Attachment 4.18-C
OMB.: 0938-0193

New York
3

Reserved
[STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions [form] from cost-
sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Informational notices and letters have been sent to providers, recipients and
local social service districts.

MMIS Systems have been implemented to exclude certain groups of recipients
from co-pay requirements as follows: SEE SUPPLEMENT 1.

E. CUMULATIVE MAXIMUMS ON CHARGES:

[] State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.
Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:

From November 1, 1993 through March 31, 1994, a cumulative
maximum of $41 per Medicaid recipient will apply.

Beginning April 1, 1994 through March 31, 1995 and each following
year beginning on April first a cumulative maximum of $100 per
Medicaid recipient will apply.

Beginning August 1, 2005 through March 31, 2006 and each

following year beginning on April first, a cumulative maximum of $200
per Medicaid recipient will apply.]

TN#: _15-0011 Approval Date; __UN® 9 2020

Supercedes TN#: _05-40 Effective Date:___ October 1, 2015




TN

Supersedes TN _#92-28

Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.18-C

New York
1

Reserved

1.) Children under age 21 are excluded based on a check of date of birth on the recipient
file used during claim processing. The date of birth is printed on the plastic common
benefit card.

2.) Pregnant women are excluded when requesting a service requiring copay. If not visibly
apparent, a pregnant recipient can be determined by the type of drug or supply ordered,
through a note signed by a physician which identifies the recipient as pregnant or
through some other evidence which includes telephone contact with a physician or when
the prescription source is a Prenatal Care Assistance Program (PCAP) or an obstetrician.
The provider must indicate pregnancy on the claim form.

3.) Institutionalized individuals are identified and exempted during claims processing. These
recipients usually do not leave the facility where they are institutionalized. When
recipients require outside services, the facility makes arrangements and verifies the
recipient exemption from copay.

4.) Emergency services are excluded by the providers indicating that the service is an
emergency on the claim form.

5.) Family planning drugs and supplies are excluded from copay and are currently identified
in the Provider Manuals under the headings of “Family Planning Products.” Family
planning items are also identified in the MMIS during claims processing. ]

#15-0011 Approval Date June 9, 2020
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Reserved

6.) Services provided by an HMO to an enrollee are identified [via] by the Electronic
Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (EMEVS) to the provider of service. During claims
processing, HMO enrollees and the services included in the capitation payment are

identified as excluded.

Individuals enrolled in health maintenance organizations (HMQO's) or other entities which
provide comprehensive health services, or other managed care programs for services
covered by such programs are exempt from co-payments, except that such persons shall
be subject to co-payments for each generic prescription drug dispensed, each brand-
name prescription drug dispensed, and each over-the counter medication ordered by a

recognized practitioner.
7.) No service provided by a hospice is subject to co-pay. Services provided to individuals
receiving hospice care are identified during MMIS claims processing and are exempted

from co-pay requirements.

8.) Additional exclusions from co-payment may be made pursuant to state statute. ]
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