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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
230 South Dearborn 
Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

Amir Bassiri 
New York State Medicaid Director 
Department of Health (DOH) 
99 Washington Ave-One Commerce Plaza Suite 1432 
Albany, NY 12210 

RE:  TN 24-0029 

Dear Director Bassiri: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed New York state 
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of NY-24-0029, which was submitted to CMS on 
March 29, 2024. This plan amendment updates and continues minimum wage adjustments for 
assisted living programs.  

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of January 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new 
state plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at 
410-786-1167 or via email at jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.  

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

June 25, 2024







Attachment 4.19-B 

New York 
4(c)(1.4) 

TN           #24-0029        Approval Date                       

Supersedes TN   #NEW   Effective Date January 1, 2024   

1905(a)(7) Home Health Care Services 

Adjustment for Minimum Wage Increases. (Cont.) 

For January 1, 2027, and each January 1 thereafter, the adjusted minimum wage rate will be 
determined by increasing the then current year's minimum wage rate by the rate of change in the 
average of the three most recent consecutive twelve-month periods between the first of August and 
the thirty-first of July, each over their preceding twelve-month periods published by the United States 
department of labor non-seasonally adjusted consumer price index or northeast region urban wage 
earners and clerical workers (CPI-W) or any successor index as calculated by the United States 
department of labor, plus applicable fringe, with the result rounded to the nearest five cents. 

However, effective January 1, 2027, no increase in minimum wage will be effectuated if any of the 
following conditions are met: 

• Rate of change in the average of the most recent period of the first of August to the 31st of
July over the preceding period of the 1st of August to the 31st of July published by the US
Department of Labor non-seasonally adjusted consumer price index for the northeast region
urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W) or any successor index as calculated by the
US Department of Labor is negative.

• 3 month moving average of the seasonally adjusted NYS unemployment rate as determined by
the U-3 measure of labor underutilization for the most recent period ending 31st of July as
calculated by the US Department of Labor rises by ½ percentage point or more relative to its
low during the previous 12 months.

• Seasonally adjusted, total non-farm employment for NYS in July, calculated by the US
Department of Labor, decreased from the seasonally adjusted total non-farm employment for
NYS in July, calculated by the US Department of Labor decreased from the seasonally adjusted
total non-farm employment for NYS in January.

Further, the homecare worker minimum wage should be the sum of homecare worker minimum wage 
from the previous calendar year in addition to the home care worker wage adjustment. The wage of 
home care workers should not exceed the minimum wage of non-homecare workers plus $3.00, plus 
applicable fringe. 

June 25, 2024




