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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
230 South Dearborn Street
Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

Amir Bassiri 
New York State Medicaid Director 
Department of Health (DOH) 
99 Washington Ave-One Commerce Plaza Suite 1432 
Albany, NY 12210 

RE:  TN 19-0029 

Dear Director Bassiri: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed New York state 
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of NY-19-0029, which was submitted to CMS on 
June 28, 2019. This plan amendment eliminates the existing sunset date for Certified Home Health 
Agencies (CHHA) episodic payment methodology.   

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of April 1, 2019. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state 
plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at 
410-786-1167 or via email at jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.  

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

September 25, 2024

      

      





Attachment 4.19-B 

New York  
4(5) 

TN           #19-0029    Approval Date             

Supersedes TN   #15-0029       Effective Date April 1, 2019   

1905(a)(7) Home Healthcare Services 

such agency to the state and will be recouped through reductions in the Medicaid 
payments due to the agency. In those instances where an interim payment 
adjustment was applied to an agency, and such agency’s actual per-patient 
Medicaid claims are determined to be less than the agency’s adjusted ceiling, the 
amount by which such Medicaid claims are less than the agency’s adjusted ceiling 
will be remitted to each such agency by the Department in a lump sum amount.   

(f) Interim payment adjustments pursuant to this section will be based on Medicaid paid
claims for services provided by agencies in the base year 2009. Amounts due from
reconciling payment adjustments will be based on Medicaid paid claims for services
provided by agencies in the base year 2009 and Medicaid paid claims for services
provided by agencies in the reconciliation period April 1, 2011 through March 31, 2012.
The interim methodology will conclude on March 31, 2012.

(g) The payment adjustments will not result in an aggregate annual decrease in Medicaid
payments to providers in excess of $200 million. If upon reconciliation it is determined
that application of the calculated ceilings would result in an aggregate annual decrease
of more than $200 million, all providers' ceilings would be adjusted proportionately to
reduce the decrease to $200 million. Such reconciliation will not be subject to
subsequent adjustment.

(h) The Commissioner may require agencies to collect and submit any data required to
implement the provisions of this subdivision.

(i) Effective May 2, 2012 and thereafter, Medicaid payments for services provided by
certified home health agencies, except as otherwise noted in the plan, will be based on
payment amounts calculated for 60-day episodes of care. The Commissioner will
establish a base price for 60-day episodes of care, and this price will be adjusted for the
case mix index, which applies to each patient, and for regional wage differences.
Effective May 2, 2012 and thereafter, such case mix adjustments will include an
adjustment factor for CHHAs providing care to Medicaid-eligible patients, more than
50%, but no fewer than two hundred, of whom are eligible for OPWDD services.

The initial statewide episodic base price to be effective May 2, 2012, will be calculated
based on paid Medicaid claims, as determined by the Department, for services provided
by all certified home health agencies during the base year period of January 1, 2009
through December 31, 2009. The base price will be calculated by grouping all paid
claims in the base period into 60-day episodes of care. All such 2009 episodes, which
include episodes beginning in November or December of 2008 or ending in January or
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For services provided on and after May 1, 2012, please see the website below for 
detailed information, which includes information related to the following components 
of payments for 60-day episodes of care including (as posted on March 14, 2012): 

• Definition of 60-day episode of care
• Base price
• Resource groups
• Case mix indices
• Outlier thresholds
• Regional wage index factors

• Weighted average rates used to calculate total costs

www.health.ny.gov/facilities/long_term_care/reimbursement/chha/index.htm 

For periods on and after March 1, 2014, the Commissioner of Health will increase 
Medicaid rates of payment for services provided by certified home health agencies 
(CHHA) to address cost increases stemming from the wage increases required by 
implementation of the provisions of section 3614-c of the Public Health Law. 

The payment increase for CHHA episodic rates will equal the difference between the 
minimum per hour rate and the weighted average home health aide rate reflected in 
the 2009 episodic expenditure base and subsequently determined episodic base 
periods. This amount will be further adjusted for accurate application to the episodic 
bundled payment to ensure the adjustment is applied to the estimated home health 
aide portion of the episodic payment and not to the estimated professional nursing 
and therapy services portions of the payment. An adjustment is also made to reflect 
the weighted average minimum home health aide rate for the low utilization and outlier 
components of the rate calculation. 

For CHHA non-episodic rates (the payment for qualified individuals under 18 years of 
age), an add-on will be provided which represents the difference between the home 
health hourly rate in the current rate and the minimum home health aide hourly rate. 
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