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Dear Ms. McKnight:

The State requests approval of the enclosed amendment #21-0005 to the Title XIX
(Medicaid) State Plan for non-institutional services to be effective January 1, 2021 (Appendix I).
This amendment is being submitted based on State Regulations 14 NYCRR Part 822 and 14
NYCRR Part 841. Asummary of the plan amendment is provided in Appendix Il.

The State of New York reimburses these services through the use of rates that are
consistent with and promote efficiency, economy, and quality of care and are sufficient to enlist
enough providers so that care and services are available under the plan at least to the extent
that such care and services are available to the general population in the geographic area as
required by §1902(a)(30) of the Social Security Actand 42 CFR §447.204.

A copy of pertinent sections of the State Regulations is enclosed for your information
(Appendix Ill). Copies of the public notice of this plan amendment, which were given in the
New York State Register on October 28, 2020, and clarified on December 30, 2020
are also enclosed for yourinformation (Appendix V). In addition, responsesto the five
standard funding questions and the standard access questions are also enclosed (Appendix V
and VI, respectively).

If you have any questions regarding this State Plan Amendment submission, please do
not hesitate to contact Regina Deyette, Medicaid State Plan Coordinator, Division of Finance
and Rate Setting, Office of Health Insurance Programs at (518) 473-3658.

Sincerely,

Donna Frescatore
Medicaid Director
Office of Health Insurance Programs
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Attachment 4.19-B

New York

1(p)(iii)

OASAS Opioid Treatment Programs (OTPs) Alternative Reimbursement Methodology
— Weekly Bundles

Effective January 1, 2021, OASAS will establish regional weekly fees for hospital-based opioid
treatment programs. Such fees will be available as an alternative to the reimbursement under
the Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) fee methodology already in place for OTPs. Providers may
bill any given week of OTP service for any given patient under either methodology (APGs or the
bundled fee methodology), but not both. All such fees will be subject to approval by the NYS
Division of the Budget.

For purposes of these fees there will be two regions, downstate and upstate, with the regional
assignment based on program location. The downstate region includes the following counties:
New York, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Bronx, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Putham,
Dutchess and Orange. The upstate region includes all other counties in the State.

The January 1, 2021 fees and rate codes are as follows:

Pre-2021
Rate Rates Jan 1, 2021 | Jan 1, 2021
Code Rate Description (Statewide) | (Downstate) | (Upstate)

7973 | HOSPITAL OTP METHADONE DISPENSING | $ 20749 | $ 209.19 $ 178.80
OR COUNSELING

7974 | HOSPITAL OTP METHADONE ADMIN $ 35.28 $ 35.28 $ 35.28
7975 | HOSPITAL OTP BUPRENORPHINE $ 25847 | $ 260.59 $ 222.73
DISPENSING OR COUNSELNG
7976 | HOSPITAL OTP BUPRENORPHINE ADMIN $ 86.26 $ 86.26 $ 86.26

The pre-2021 rates are under the authority of the NYS COVID-19 disaster relief SPA (20-0048)
and are shown here for informational purposes only.

TN _ #21-0005 Approval Date
Supersedes TN _#NEW Effective Date January 1, 2021




Attachment 4.19-B

New York
10(a.7)

OASAS Opioid Treatment Programs (OTPs) Alternative Reimbursement Methodology
— Weekly Bundles

Effective January 1, 2021, OASAS will establish regional weekly fees for community-based
opioid treatment programs. Such fees will be available as an alternative to the reimbursement
under the Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) fee methodology already in place for OTPs.
Providers may bill any given week of OTP service for any given patient under either
methodology (APGs or the bundled fee methodology), but not both. All such fees will be
subject to approval by the NYS Division of the Budget.

For purposes of these fees there will be two regions, downstate and upstate, with the regional
assignment based on program location. The downstate region includes the following counties:
New York, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Bronx, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Putham,
Dutchess and Orange. The upstate region includes all other counties in the State.

The January 1, 2021 fees and rate codes are as follows:

Rate Pre-2021 Rates | Jan 1, 2021 Jan 1, 2021

Code Rate Description (Statewide) (Downstate) (Upstate)

7969 | FREESTNG OTP METHADONE $ 207.49 | $ 209.19 | $ 178.80
DISPENSING OR COUNSELING

7970 | FREESTNG OTP METHADONE ADMIN $ 3528 | $ 35.28 | $ 35.28

7971 | FREESTNG OTP BUPRENORPHINE $ 258.47 | $ 260.59 | % 222.73
DISPENSING OR COUNSELNG

7972 | FREESTNG OTP BUPRENORPHINE $ 86.26 | $ 86.26 | $ 86.26
ADMIN

The pre-2021 rates are under the authority of the NYS COVID-19 disaster relief SPA (20-0048)
and are shown here for informational purposes only.

TN _ #21-0005 Approval Date
Supersedes TN _#NEW Effective Date January 1, 2021
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SUMMARY
SPA #21-0005

This amendment proposes to revise the State Plan to establish weekly Opioid
Treatment Program (OTP) bundled fees as a permanent alternative to the OTP
Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology. For any given week and any given
patient, the provider may choose to bill under either the new bundles or APGs.
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PART 822
GENERAL SERVICE STANDARDS FOR SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER
OUTPATIENT PROGRAMS

[Statutory Authority: Mental Hygiene Law Sections 19.07(c), 19.07(e), 19.09(b), 19.16,
19.21(b), 19.21(d), 19.40, 32.01, 32.05(b), 32.07(a) 32.09(b), 22.07(c); Penal Law Section
220.78; Public Health Law Section 3309, 2781; 42 CER Part 8]

Section:

822.1 Background

822.2 Legal base

822.3 Applicability

822.4 Savings and renewal clause

822.5 Definitions

822.6 Standards pertaining to Medicaid reimbursement

822.7 General program standards

822.8 Patient records/Treatment planning

822.9 Additional locations

822.10 Additional requirements for substance use disorder outpatient rehabilitation
services

822.11 Additional requirements for opioid treatment programs

822.12 Severability

822.1 Background

This Part contains requirements applicable to substance use disorder (SUD) outpatient programs
certified, licensed, funded or otherwise authorized by the Office and the services provided by
such programs. For purposes of this Part, addiction or substance use disorder is a chronic illness
that can be treated effectively with counseling, approved medications used consistent with their
pharmacological efficacy, and supportive services such as treatment for co-occurring disorders,
medical and psychiatric services, vocational rehabilitation and family intervention and support.

822.2 Legal base

@ Section 19.07(c) of the Mental Hygiene Law (MHL) charges the Office with the
responsibility to ensure that persons who have a substance use disorder and their families are
provided with care and treatment that is effective and of high quality.

(b) Section 19.07(e) of the MHL authorizes the commissioner to adopt standards including

necessary rules and regulations pertaining to substance use disorder treatment services.



(© Section 19.09(b) of the MHL authorizes the commissioner to adopt regulations necessary
and proper to implement any matter under their jurisdiction.

(d) Section 19.16 of the MHL requires the commissioner to establish and maintain, either
directly or through contract, a central registry for purposes of preventing multiple enrollments in
opioid treatment programs and provides medication dosage information during an emergency,
when displaced patients may seek such treatment from an alternate program.

(e) Section 19.21(b) of the MHL requires the commissioner to establish and enforce
regulations concerning the licensing, certification, and inspection of substance use disorder
treatment services.

()] Section 19.21(d) of the MHL requires the Office to establish reasonable performance
standards for providers of services certified by the Office.

(9) Section 19.40 of the MHL authorizes the commissioner to issue operating certificates for
the provision of substance use disorder treatment services.

(h) Section 22.07(c) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the commissioner to promulgate
rules and regulations to ensure that the rights of individuals who have received, and are
receiving, substance use disorder services are protected.

Q) Section 32.01 of the MHL authorizes the commissioner to adopt any regulation
reasonably necessary to implement and effectively exercise the powers and perform the duties
conferred by Article 32 of the MHL.

() Section 32.05(b) of the MHL provides that a controlled substance designated by the
commissioner of the New York State Department of Health (DOH) as appropriate for such use
may be used by a prescribing professional to treat an_individual with a substance use disorder

[ehemically-dependentindividual] pursuant to section 32.09(b) of the MHL.

(k) Section 32.07(a) of the MHL authorizes the commissioner to adopt regulations to

effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the MHL.

() Section 32.09(b) of the MHL provides that the commissioner may, once a controlled
substance is approved by the commissioner of DOH as appropriate for such use, authorize the
use of such controlled substance in treating an individual with a substance use disorder.

(m)  Section 220.78 of the Penal Law affords limited protections from prosecution for persons

seeking medical attention for accidental overdose.



(n) Section 3309 of the Public Health Law authorizes the DOH to establish standards for
approval of any opioid overdose prevention program.

(o) Section 2781 of the Public Health Law defines the rules governing HIV testing in New
York.

(p) 42 CFR Part 8 relates to the federal oversight and regulation of medication assisted

treatment for opioid use disorders.

822.3 Applicability

€)) Part 822 applies to any person or entity organized in accordance with this Part, operating
pursuant to the provisions of this Title and certified, funded or otherwise authorized by the
Office to operate an outpatient treatment program. Except as indicated in subdivision (b) of this
section, to provide services pursuant to this Part, each provider must obtain and maintain an
operating certificate pursuant to Part 810 of this Title. Programs providing opioid full agonist
treatment medications must additionally obtain approval from a federally-approved accrediting
body, and all other applicable regulatory entities.

(b) The provision of treatment services within local correctional facilities shall not require
certification by the Office; however, local correctional facilities must follow any other applicable
state and federal regulations. The Office reserves the right to review protocols, delivery of
services and discharge planning procedures of programs providing medications for substance use

disorders within local correctional facilities.

822.4 Savings and renewal clause

Any operating certificate issued by the Office prior to the promulgation of this Part for the
operation of a program subject to regulations of the former Part 822 shall remain in effect until
the term of such operating certificate has been renewed or such operating certificate is suspended
or revoked through process of law, at which time any recertification of such program or renewal

of such operating certificate shall be pursuant to the provisions of this Part.

822.5 Definitions

As used in this Part, unless otherwise indicated, the following terms shall be applicable all

programs providing outpatient services:



@ “Accrediting Body” means an entity approved by the federal Substance Abuse Mental
Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to accredit all programs pursuant to 42 CFR Part 8.1
through 8.6 using opioid full agonist treatment medications.

(b) “Active treatment” is the period from pre-admission through discharge.

(© “Admission assessment” is a [pre-admission] service between a prospective patient and
clinical staff for the purpose of determining a preliminary diagnosis, appropriateness for service,

person-centered initial plan of treatment, including type(s) of services and frequency of

Services.

(d) “Ancillary withdrawal” is a service whereby patients in mild to moderate or persistent
withdrawal receive symptom relief and/or addiction medications after an assessment of the level
of withdrawal determined using a standardized assessment instrument. Providers must receive

Office approved designation to provide this service.

(e) “Approved medications” means any medication approved by state or federal authorities

for the treatment of [

for-the-treatment-of] substance use disorder.
U] “Brief intervention” is a [pre-admission] service between a prospective patient and

clinical staff when screening results indicate at risk behavior. The brief intervention educates
patients about their substance use, alerts them to possible consequences, and is intended to
encourage healthier choices.

(9) “Brief treatment” is a service between an active patient and clinical staff and must

include a target behavior or health need and an evidence-based or clinical practice upon which

the treatment is based. Brief treatment may be used throughout the course of treatment to meet
specific goals, motivate patients or support medicated supported recovery.

() “Central registry system” means the central registry established and maintained by the
Office pursuant to section 19.16 of the Mental Hygiene Law.

() ["Substance use disorder outpatient rehabilitatior




[(] “Collateral person” is a member of a patient’s family or household, significant others, or
persons who are directly affected by regular interaction with the patient, or who have the
capability to affect both the patient’s substance use disorder and recovery.

[D1(]) “Collateral visit” is a service between a clinical staff member and a collateral person for
the purpose of providing an intervention in the service of the primary patient’s progress in
treatment.

[)](K) “Complex care coordination” is an ancillary service provided to a patient when

a critical event occurs, or the individual’s condition requires significant coordination with

other service providers. [eren-behalfof a-patient-when-a-eritical-event-oceurs-or-the patient’s
ondittonregutressigrthicant-coordinationwith-otherservice-providers:] Complex care

coordination is distinguished from routine case coordination activities[and-must-eceur-within

. Kine.d : I icel.

0] “Continuing care treatment” is a treatment protocol that offers clinical support for

the ongoing disease management needs of patients. Patients have either completed the goals of
active treatment and are discharged with referral [admitted] to continuing care or opt for

continuing care any time after discharge.

[€e)](m) “Group counseling” is a service between one or more clinical staff and multiple
patients at the same time, to be delivered consistent with patient treatment/recovery plans, their
development or emergent issues. Group counseling sessions must be structured in size and

duration to maximize therapeutic benefit for each participant. Program policies must include a



process for determining group size, group purpose, monitoring patient experience, and assessing
group efficacy.

[Initial servi s : : iricsi

@] “Individual counseling” is a service between a clinical staff member and a patient

focused on the needs and goals of the patient to be delivered consistent with the
treatment/recovery plan, its development or emergent issues.

(0)  “Initial services or pre-admission services” are services prior to admission as the first

step in developing a treatment/recovery plan, focusing on issues that need to be addressed to

ensure successful engagement and admission into treatment and any other urgent or

emergent issues. Initial/pre-admission services address priority goals based on presenting

problem(s) identified during the patient’s assessment and provide focus for the critical

period of treatment engagement. Services which may be delivered preadmission will be
identified by the Office.

(P)[€A] “Intensive outpatient services” (I0S) is an outpatient treatment service provided by a team
of clinical staff for patients who require a time-limited, multi-faceted array of services, structure,
and support to achieve and sustain recovery. Programs that offer intensive outpatient treatment
must make available individual and group counseling, family counseling when appropriate, skills

to mitigate reoccurrence, and coping skills training, including as appropriate, Dialectical and

Behavioral Therapy (DBT), Motivational Enhancement Therapy (MET), Cognitive Behavioral

Therapy (CBT) and increased connections to recovery supports and other evidence based

practices as proven effective in meeting patient needs.

[€s)](q) “Medication administration and observation” is face-to-face administration or dispensing
of a medication by medical staff, to be delivered in conjunction with observation of the patient
prior to the administration and after, as appropriate to the medication and patient’s condition.
[®](r) “Medication assisted treatment” (MAT) means treatment of substance use disorder i.e.,

substance use disorder and concomitant conditions with medications requiring a prescription or



order from an authorized prescribing professional with counseling and behavioral therapies, as
clinically appropriate.
[€H1(s) “Medication management” is a Service with a prescribing professional for one of
the following purposes:

(1) evaluation, monitoring, observation or dosage change to a patient’s medication;

(2) a comprehensive medication review of a new patient or any patient who requires a
more extensive review; or

(3) the induction of a patient to a new medication requiring a period of patient
observation.
[eS] (1) “Naloxone emergency overdose prevention kit” means a Kit as prescribed
pursuant to state law and is used to reverse an opioid overdose.
[649](u) “Opioid medical maintenance” is a designated Office-based opioid treatment
(“OBOT”) program limited to patients who meet specific criteria as described in this Part.
[69](v)“Opioid taper” means a medical treatment protocol that, after a period of stabilization,
utilizes approved medications in gradually decreasing doses to the point of 0 milligrams (no
dose) followed by continuing care treatment as described in this Part, or discharge.
[6A](w) “Patient” is an individual including a significant other who meets with clinical

and/or peer staff for the purpose of engagement, assessment or treatment. “Active patient”

means a patient who is admitted to a program and has an active treatment/recovery plan.

f@a)] “Peer support service” is [a-face-to-face-service{(unless-otherwise-speeified)] provided by

a peer advocate as defined in Part 800 of this Title. Peer support services are services for the
purpose of outreach for engaging an individual to consider entering treatment, reinforcing
current patients’ engagement in treatment, and connecting patients to community-based recovery

supports consistent with treatment/recovery and discharge plans.



(y) “Person centered care” is a collaborative care approach to individualized treatment

resulting in the development of treatment/recovery plan goals and service provision that is

respectful of the patient’s needs and choices. It is guided by patients and produced in

partnership with care providers for treatment and recovery. Person and family centered

care planning is strength-based and focuses on individual capacities, preferences and goals.

It supports patient preferences and a recovery orientation and is developed within the

professional responsibilities of providers and care teams.

@[] “Progress note” is documentation of each service delivered and serves as the
treatment/recovery plan as it evolves to support person centered goals and ongoing service and
care planning. Progress notes identify patient’s clinical status, type of services, and may also
include updates to goals, methods of treatment and types of services provided and includes
challenges and achievements identified.

(aa)[{a€)] “Screening” is a pre-admission service with a clinical staff member for the
purpose of identifying patients who have problems with substance use. Screening results must be
shared by the clinical staff with the patient[iran-trdividualface-to-face-session].

(ab)[d)] “Specialized opioid services” are those not defined in this Part and are generally

research-oriented in nature. Such specialized services shall be reviewed and approved by the
Office prior to implementation and operation in accordance with Office policy, procedures, and
requirements.

(ac)  “Substance use disorder outpatient rehabilitation services” (outpatient

rehabilitation services) are services offered by programs which have been certified to

provide outpatient rehabilitation services; such services are designed to assist individuals

with more chronic conditions as further defined in this Part who are typically scheduled to

attend the outpatient rehabilitation program three to five days per week for at least two

hours per day.

(ad) “Substance use disorder outpatient program?” is an Office certified program which

provides outpatient services that assist individuals with a substance use disorder and their

family members and/or significant others and may also provide outpatient rehabilitation

services and/or intensive outpatient services (10S); and sites where addiction medications

are administered to treat opioid use disorder, as well as other SUDs following one or more

medical treatment protocols as defined in this Part. This term encompasses medical and




comprehensive support services including counseling, educational and vocational

rehabilitation. The term also includes the Narcotic Treatment Program (NTP) as defined
by the federal Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) in 21 CER Section 1301. An NTP or

Opioid Treatment Program (OTP) requires federal and state approval.

(ae) “Transfer” is an intra-program function (i.e., between outpatient and outpatient
rehabilitation within the same provider or between different Program Reporting Units (PRUS) of
the same provider); and
may also be an inter-program function (i.e., between two different providers).

(af)  “Treatment/recovery plan” is the plan developed by clinical staff with the patient and
based on the admission assessment and initial services and includes goals, type and frequency of
services and methods. Treatment/recovery plans shall be regularly updated using progress notes.
(ag)  “Visit” means one or more services provided to a patient and/or collateral person on a

single day.

822.6 Standards pertaining to Medicaid reimbursement

@ For purposes of Medicaid billing, a claim may be submitted for services delivered to a
patient, collateral person, or significant other (regardless of whether such significant other is
connected to a current patient with a diagnosed substance use disorder).
(b) Only services delivered by an Office-certified or authorized program are eligible for
Medicaid reimbursement under this Part.
(© The content and/or outcome of all services must be fully documented in the patient record
consistent with this Part.
(d) In order to qualify for reimbursement, each service must be documented as a covered
Medicaid service in accordance with the following:

(1) the service must meet the standards established in this Part;

(2) the service must meet the standards established in Part 841 of this Title;

(3) the service must be provided by appropriate staff as required in this Part.
(e) The following services alone do not constitute a service eligible for Medicaid
reimbursement:

(1) nutrition services;

(2) educational and vocational services;



(3) recreational and social activity services;
(4) group meetings, workshops or seminars that are primarily informational or
organizational;

(5) acupuncture.

822.7 General program standards

@ Policies and procedures. The program sponsor must approve written policies, procedures,
and methods governing the provision of services to patients in compliance with Office
regulations including a description of each service provided. These policies, procedures, and
methods must address, at a minimum:

(1) admission and discharge, including specific criteria relating thereto, as well as transfer
and referral procedures;

(2) treatment/recovery plans;

(3) services to be provided by contract or subcontract including methods for coordinating
service delivery and a description of core groups offered and procedures for coordinating group,
individual, and family treatment;

(4) a schedule of fees for services rendered,

(5) compliance with other requirements of applicable local, state and federal laws and
regulations, OASAS guidance documents and standards of care regarding, but not limited to:

(i) education, counseling, prevention and treatment of communicable diseases,
including viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases and HIVV/AIDS; regarding HIV, such
education, counseling, prevention and treatment shall include condom use, testing, pre- and post-
exposure prophylaxis and treatment;

(ii) the use of alcohol and other drug screening and toxicology tests; and

(iii) medication and the use of medication assisted treatment; and

(iv) the use of a problem gambling screen approved by the Office.

(6) infection control procedures;

(7) staffing, including but not limited to, training and use of student interns, peers and

volunteers;

10



(8) Waiting lists. Programs must maintain a waiting list of eligible prospective patients.
When an opening is available programs must make at least one good faith attempt to contact the
next prospective patient on the waiting list.

(9) Certified Capacity. [{H] In determining certified capacity for an OTP, such programs

may:

(i) Exclude patients confirmed to be maintained on appropriate medications in a
hospital, nursing home or correctional facility and who are expected to return to the program
within 12 months upon discharge from such facility;

(if) Programs may include patients previously deemed ineligible for admission for
reasons other than behavioral concerns; and

(iii) Exclude patients maintained on buprenorphine.

(iv) Exclude a significant other(s).

(10)[€9)] Each program must maintain a policy on toxicology.

(b) Emergency medical kit. (1) All programs must maintain an emergency medical Kit at
each certified location; such kit must include basic first aid and at least one naloxone emergency
overdose prevention kit. Programs must develop and implement a plan to have staff trained in the
use of a naloxone overdose prevention kit such that it is available for use during all program
hours of operation.

(2) All staff and patients should be notified of the existence of the naloxone overdose
prevention kit and the authorized administering staff.

(3) Nothing in this regulation shall preclude patients from becoming authorized in the
administration of the naloxone emergency overdose prevention kit, provided however, the
program director must be notified of the availability of any additional authorized users.

(© Utilization review and quality improvement. All programs must have a utilization review
process, a quality improvement committee, and a written plan that identifies key performance
measures.

(d) Continuous services. Programs must develop necessary procedures, including disaster
plans, to assure continuous services in emergencies or disruption of operations in accordance
with Office guidelines and accreditation standards.

(e) Community relations. Programs must develop and implement a community relations

plan that describes actions responsive to reasonable community needs; such plans may include,

11



but not be limited to, formation of community patrols to ensure that patients are not loitering, and
formation of a Community Committee that meets regularly to discuss actions to improve
community relations.
M Required services. Each program must directly provide the following:

(1) admission assessment, including, if clinically indicated, a screen for problem
gambling;

(2) treatment/recovery planning and review;

(3) trauma-informed individual and group counseling;

(4) medication assisted treatment;

(5) toxicology testing (not required for significant others unless clinically indicated):

(i) Each program must conduct toxicology tests to be determined by the provider
as clinically appropriate provided, however, at least eight random toxicology tests must be
conducted per year for each patient in an OTP.

(ii) Each program must review and discuss with the patient the toxicology result.

(iii) Laboratories used for toxicology testing must be approved by the New York
State Department of Health or, in the City of New York, the New York City Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene.

(iv) Each program must use a method approved by the Food and Drug
Administration (FDA) and Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) for toxicology
testing.

(6) post-treatment planning;
(7) medication administration and observation;
(8) medication management;
(9) brief intervention and brief treatment;
(10) collateral visits;
(11) complex care coordination;
(12) outreach; and
(13) peer support services.
(9) Optional Services. Each program may, at its option, directly provide any of the following:
(2) intensive outpatient services (10S);

(2) ancillary withdrawal (requires Office approved designation); or

12



(3) other services which may be identified by the Office from time to time.
(h) Problem gambling. A program that treats an individual and/or a significant other who

has been affected by problem gambling, shall be designated and provide such services in

accordance with Part 857 of this Title.
Q) Telepractice. Any services authorized to be delivered using telepractice shall be provided
consistent with Part 830 of this Title.
() Staffing. Each program must provide clinical supervision and ensure and document a
plan for staff training based on individual employee needs. Subject areas appropriate for training
shall be identified by the Office. Staffing requirements include:

(1) Clinical Director. Each program must have a qualified health professional designated

as the clinical director working within their scope of practice who is responsible for the daily

activities and supervision of services provided. Such person must have at least three years of full-
time clinical work experience in the substance use disorder field, at least one year of which must
be supervisory, prior to appointment as clinical director. A program which is part of a provider
comprised of multiple health, mental health or substance use disorder treatment programs may
share this position provided clinical director responsibilities have been delegated to another
qualified staff member and shared to the extent such assignment is sufficient to meet patient
need.

(2) Medical Director. Each program must have a Medical Director as defined in Part 800
of this Title.

(3) Medical staff, as defined in Part 800 of this Title.

(i) The medical staff must be trained in emergency response treatment and must
complete regular refresher courses/ drills on handling emergencies.

(if) A physician, registered physician's assistant or nurse practitioner must provide
on-site, or through telepractice, coverage as adequate and necessary.

(iii) Inan OTP, anytime such program is open, and a physician is not present, a
physician must be available for consultation, prescribing, dispensing and to attend to any
emergency situation.

(iv) An OTP must have at least the equivalent of two full-time on-site nurses for
up to 300 patients, one of whom shall be a registered nurse. Programs approved to serve more

than 300 patients must have one additional full-time nurse for each additional 150 patients or
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part thereof. A [registered] nurse must always be present when medication is being
administered.

(4) Health coordinator. Each program must designate a health coordinator to assure the
provision of education, risk reduction, counseling and referral services to all patients regarding

HIV/AIDS (including pre- and post-exposure prophylaxis), tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually

transmitted diseases, and other communicable diseases. [Fhisperson-may-alse-serve-as-the

s .

) taison]

(5) Counselors. In every program there must be an adequate number of counselors

sufficient to carry out the objectives of the program and to assure the outcomes of the program
are addressed. The Office will review factors in determining whether the program’s outcomes
are being addressed, which may include but shall not be limited to:

(1) retention of patients in treatment;

(ii) patients’ stability and progress in treatment.

(6) Full-time staffing requirements. There must be at least one full-time Credentialed
Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Counselor (CASAC); and there must be at least one full-time
qualified health professional, as defined in Part 800 of this Title, qualified in a discipline other
than substance use disorder counseling, that maintains a professional license other than a
CASAC.

(7) Qualified health professional requirements. At least 50 percent of all clinical staff
must be qualified health professionals. CASAC trainees (CASAC-T) may be counted towards
satisfying the 50 percent requirement; however such individuals may not be considered qualified
health professionals for any other purpose under this Part. Clinical staff members who are not
qualified health professionals must have qualifications appropriate to their assigned
responsibilities as set forth in the personnel policies of the program and must be subject to
appropriate staff supervision and continuing education and training.

(8) Each program must notify the Office of any change in medical director, on-site
physician(s), or program sponsors (pursuant to Part 810 of this Title).

(k) Other staffing requirements. (1) If other specialized services are directly provided by the
program, staff must be appropriately qualified to provide such services.

(2) Volunteers and student interns. In addition to staffing requirements of this Part, a

program may utilize volunteers and student interns. Such volunteers or student interns must
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receive supervision, training, or didactic education consistent with their assigned tasks and the
services they are expected to provide.

(3) Certified Recovery Peer Advocates (CRPA). CRPAs, as defined in Part 800 of this
Title, must be supervised by a clinical staff member who is credentialed or licensed and
participate in a training plan appropriate to their needs. CRPAs may provide peer support
services based on clinical needs as identified in the patient’s treatment/recovery plan.

(4) Security staff. Programs may employ security staff who are not clinical staff and
may not be involved in clinical services and must receive training on confidentiality of patient
information and adhere to such federal laws.

(5) All clinical staff should be provided training related to, including but not limited to,
crisis interventions, dealing with special populations, quality improvement, agency policies and
procedures. Additional subject areas appropriate for training may from time to time be identified
by the Office.

(6) A clinical or non-clinical staff person shall be identified to serve as the program’s

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning/Queer (LGBTQ) liaison.

() Program hours of operation. Each program must operate at least five (5) days per week
providing structured treatment services in accordance with treatment/recovery plans. Programs
should make every effort to provide services outside of normal business hours, including evening
and weekend hours. OTPs must be open at least six (6) days per week and must provide flexible
dosing hours that meet patient needs, providing access for patients with varying schedules.
Patients must be given an appointment for all visits including medication dispensing.

Appointment times must allow for program operation with limited wait times.

822.8 Patient Records/Treatment Planning

@ General requirements for all patient records. All programs must maintain a patient record
(either electronic or paper) for each patient who receives services. The patient record must
demonstrate a chronological pattern of delivered medical and treatment services consistent with
the patient’s prior treatment history, if any, and the patient’s evolving treatment/recovery plan,
updated regularly through progress notes. The patient record shall also include:

(1) the source of referral, if applicable;
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(2) a notation that, prior to the first treatment visit, the patient received a copy of the
program’s rules and regulations, including patient’s rights (Part 815) and a summary of the
federal confidentiality requirements, that such rules and regulations were discussed with the
patient, including their ability to designate individuals to be notified in case of an emergency and
that the patient indicated he/she understood them;

(3) any clinical or non-clinical documentation or determination applicable to the delivery
of medical and treatment services for a patient and/or supporting the patient’s evolving
treatment/recovery plan;

(4) the individual treatment/recovery plan and all reviews and updates thereto through
progress notes;

(5) signed releases of consent for information;

(6) documentation of services in accordance with this Part;

(7) documentation of level of care determinations using the OASAS level of care

protocol for admission and level of care transition;

(8) transition planning, including medication list, circumstances/reason, and referrals
made;

(9) if the patient is a minor being treated without parental consent, documentation
establishing that the provisions of Mental Hygiene Law section 22.11 have been met.

(10) information and documentation required in screening and admission;

(112) all lab results;

(12) current approved medication doses and justification for any changes; and

(13) include an order sheet that is displayed in the patient record and signed (physical or
electronic signature) by any medical professional licensed under the appropriate state law
authorizing such change and noting the date for each approved medication order and dose

change.




(b)  Admission requirements applicable to all programs:
(1) Diagnosis. (i) Unless otherwise authorized, the program must document that the

individual is determined to have a substance use disorder based on the criteria in the most recent

version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) or the International Classification of
Diseases (ICD).

(i) For a significant other, the program must document that the individual is

determined to have a diagnosis consistent with the presenting concerns related to a close

relationship with someone who has a substance use disorder.

(2) If an individual has been referred by an Office approved Driving While Intoxicated
(DWI) provider/practitioner, any assessment created by such provider which meets the
requirements of this section may be used to admit the patient.

(3) Documentation of admission must:

(1) include the level of care determination;

(i) include an assessment, initial services and diagnosis that form the basis of the
treatment/recovery plan;

(iii) be made by a clinical staff member who is a qualified health professional and
must be documented by the dated signature (physical or electronic) of the qualified health
professional working within their scope of practice and include the basis for admitting the
patient; and

(iv[#]) be approved by the dated signature (physical electronic) of a physician,
physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner, licensed psychologist, or licensed clinical social

worker. [Heensedpractitionerorphysician:]

(4) Patients being admitted to an OTP must be documented to have a minimum 12-month

opioid use disorder (OUD) accompanied by a [complete] physical examination. A
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comprehensive physical examination must be completed within fourteen days, or otherwise

in accordance with federal rules.

(5) If the presenting individual is determined to be inappropriate for admission to the
program, a referral and connection to a more appropriate service must be made, unless the
individual is already receiving substance use disorder services from another provider.
Individuals deemed ineligible for admission must be informed of the reason.

(6) No individual that meets level of care criteria may be denied admission to a

program based solely on the individual's:
(i) prior treatment history;
(i) referral source;
(iii) pregnancy;
(iv) history of contact with the criminal justice system;
(v) HIV and AIDS status;
(vi) physical or mental disability;
(vii) lack of cooperation by significant others in the treatment process;
(viii) toxicology test results;

(ix) use of any_illicit or prescribed substance, including but not limited to,

benzodiazepines; or

(x) use of medications for substance use disorder prescribed and monitored by a
physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner[;-ef
-~ {xi)useof benzodiazepines].

(7) All prospective patients must be informed that admission to a program is on a
voluntary basis and a prospective patient is free to discharge themselves from the service at any
time. For prospective patients under an external mandate, the potential consequences for
premature discharge must be explained, including that the external mandate does not alter the

voluntary nature of admission, [and] continued treatment, and toxicology screening.

(8) A significant other may be admitted to a program regardless of whether the
individual with whom they are associated is in treatment. A significant other is not appropriate
for admission to an outpatient rehabilitation service.

(c) Post-admission. (1) As soon as possible after admission, if not already complete, every

patient must be:
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(i) offered viral hepatitis testing; testing may be done on site or by referral;

(ii) offered HIV testing; testing must be conducted with patient consent in

accordance with public health law[may-net-be-conducted-without-patient-written-informed
consent-except-in-situations-specifically-authorized-by-laws-testing] and may be done on site or

by referral; individuals on a regimen of pre- or post-exposure prophylaxis, must be permitted to

continue the regimen until consultation with the prescribing professional occurs;

(iii) screened for co-occurring mental health conditions and behavioral health risk
including suicide risk using validated screening instruments approved by the Office.

(2) If clinically indicated, all programs must:

(i) conduct an intradermal skin or blood-based Tuberculosis test; testing may be
done on site or by referral with results as soon as possible after testing; for patients with a
positive test result, refer the patient for further tuberculosis evaluation.

(ii) offer testing for other sexually transmitted diseases; testing may be done on
site or by referral;

(iii) provide or recommend any other tests the examining physician or other
medical staff member deems to be necessary including, but not limited to, an EKG, a chest X-
ray, or a pregnancy test.

(3) As soon as possible after testing programs must explain or ensure that the [referring]
provider has explained, any blood and skin test results to the patient.

(4) For those patients who have not had a physical examination within one year prior to
admission, each such patient must either be assessed [face-te-face] by a member of the medical
staff to ascertain the need for a physical examination or referred for a physical examination. For
those patients who have had a physical examination within one year prior to admission, or for
those patients being admitted directly to the outpatient program from another substance use
disorder service authorized by the Office, the existing medical history and physical examination
documentation may be used to comply with the requirements of this subdivision, provided such
documentation has been reviewed by a medical staff member and determined to be current.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, HIV and viral hepatitis testing [the-fellowing] shall be offered
regardless of a documented history within the previous twelve months[-HP\-and-viral-hepatitis

testing]. OTPs are exempt from this requirement but must provide physical examinations

in accordance with federal rules.

19



(d) Additional admission requirements for outpatient rehabilitation services. In addition to the
requirements of paragraph (a) of this section, an individual must also meet the criteria in Section
822.10 of this Part to be admitted to an outpatient rehabilitation service.

(e) Additional admission requirements for OTPs. (1) The decision to admit a prospective

patient for treatment is finalized on the date of administration or prescription of the initial

approved medication dose after satisfaction of all applicable requirements of this Part.
Prospective patients with a chronic immune deficiency or prospective patients who are pregnant
and have a current opioid or past opioid dependency must be screened and admitted on a priority
basis. No person under the age of 16 may be admitted without the prior approval of the Office.
The following requirements must be met for an individual to be admitted:

(2) In order to [previde]administer the first medication dose, a patient must have an in-
person evaluation, including a [eemplete] physical evaluation, to determine that they have had a
physiological dependence on opioids for at least the previous 12-month period, and must
diagnose and document such, provided however:

(i) aprospective patient may be admitted who voluntarily completed treatment in
another program without confirming current opioid dependence if the program confirms that the:

(a) voluntary completion of treatment occurred within the previous 24 months;
and

(b) previous treatment lasted at least 6 months;

(if) a prospective patient who is less than 18 years of age may be admitted if such
patient has had at least two prior treatment episodes within a 12-month period and a dependence
on opioids;

(iii) a prospective patient who resided in a correctional or chronic care facility
for at least one month, if assessed within 6 months after release or discharge, may be admitted if
the prospective patient would have been eligible for admission prior to residing in such facility.

(3) A physician,_or other practitioner with federal approval, must ensure that prior to

first dose, the prospective patient is provided and signs (physical or electronic signature) an
informed written consent to participate in an opioid treatment program, which shall include

notice of the risks and benefits of a prescribed medicine.
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(4) Each OTP must issue a photo-identification card to each patient within two weeks
after admission; patients may carry the identification or, at the patient’s option, have the
identification maintained at the program.

()] Readmissions to OTPs. Programs need not repeat admission procedures for any patient
who is being re-admitted within three (3) months of discharge and need not repeat a medical and
laboratory examination if the patient received a medical and laboratory exam within the previous
year, provided:

(1) The patient’s prior medical records must be combined with the new medical records
within thirty days of the patient’s readmission;

(2) each program must immediately readmit patients who were previously discharged
from that program:

(i) after a stay of 30 days or more in a hospital, nursing home, or other health
care facility, if such patient is still being maintained on an approved medication, and/or meets the
eligibility requirements when released; or

(ii) after an extended incarceration (including KEEP), if clinically appropriate
when such patient is released.

(9) Transfers between OTPs. (1) Each program must develop procedures regarding the
transfer of patients which must ensure that the program shall:

(i) not deny a reasonable request for a temporary or permanent transfer;

(i1) not include “temporary-to-permanent” conditions, whereby a patient is
temporarily provided guest medication and then evaluated as to whether or not the OTP will

permanently admit, unless otherwise authorized by the Office;

(iii) regard transferred patients as continuing in treatment by incorporating their
length of treatment and treatment/recovery plans from the referring program;

(iv) send or receive the reason for the transfer and provide the most current
medical, counseling, and laboratory information within fourteen (14) days of the request.
Receipt of this information is not required prior to acceptance and the failure to receive this
information will not preclude acceptance; and

(v) continue the patient’s approved medication dosage and take-home schedule
unless new medical or clinical information requires medical staff to review and subsequently

order a change.
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(2) Each program must develop procedures for the temporary transfer of patients which
must ensure that the:

(1) transferring programs forward information on fees, contact person, time and
dose of medication to the receiving program;

(i1) Program sends or receives prior to the patient’s arrival the reason for the
temporary transfer including temporary dates and approved medication dose;

(iii) Program shall not deny a reasonable request for a temporary transfer;

(iv) transferring program remains responsible for the patient’s overall treatment.
The receiving program may deliver any necessary service after consultation with the transferring
program; and

(v) receiving program prescribing professional must write an order to continue
the patient’s medication dose and take-home schedule.

(h) Treatment/recovery plan. (1) Each patient must have a written person-centered
treatment/recovery plan developed by the clinical staff person with primary responsibility for the
patient, in collaboration with the patient and anyone identified by the patient as supportive to
recovery goals. The treatment/recovery plan begins with the assessment incorporated into the
patient record and is regularly updated with progress notes.

(i) Minor patients: If the patient is a minor, the treatment/recovery plan must also
be developed in consultation with the patient’s parent or guardian unless the minor is being
treated without parental consent as authorized by Mental Hygiene Law section 22.11.

(ii) Immediate transfer: For patients moving directly from one program to another,
the existing treatment/recovery plan may be used if there is documentation that it has been
reviewed and, if necessary, updated to reflect patient goals as appropriate[within-fourteen-{14)
days-of-transter].

(2 The treatment/recovery plan must:

(i) include the assessment, which identifies each diagnosis for which the patient is
being treated,;

(ii) be incorporated into the patient record through regular progress notes,
including initial services to be offered prior to completion of the initial assessment;

(iii) address patient goals as identified through the assessment process and

regularly updated as needed through progress notes;
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(iv) identify a single member of the clinical staff responsible for coordinating and
managing the patient's treatment who shall approve and sign (physical or electronic signature)
such plan;

(v) [#relude] reference to any significant medical and psychiatric issues,

including all medications, by acknowledging review of medical/psychiatric assessment and

progress notes, as well as coordination with mental and psychiatric providers [identified-as

(vi) be reviewed and approved by the clinical staff person responsible for

developing the plan, the patient and the clinical supervisor.
Q) Continuing review of treatment/recovery plans. The treatment/recovery plan must be
reviewed through the ongoing assessment process and regular progress notes. [New-and-revised

() Progress Notes. Progress notes are intended to document the patient’s clinical status.

Service delivery should be documented in the patient record through regular progress notes that
include, unless otherwise indicated, the type, content, duration and outcome of each service
delivered to or on behalf of a patient, described and verified as follows:

(1) be written and signed (physical or electronic signature) by the staff member providing
the service;

(2) indicate the date the service was delivered,;

(3) record the relationship to the patient’s developing treatment goals described in the
treatment/recovery plan; and

(4) include, as appropriate and relevant, any recommendations, communications, or

determinations for initial, continued or revised patient goals and/or treatment.

(k) The program’s multidisciplinary team, as defined in Part 800 of this Title, shall meet on a
regularly scheduled basis for the purpose of reviewing a sample of cases for the purpose of
clinical monitoring of practice. This meeting shall be documented as to date, attendance, cases

reviewed and recommendations.
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() Pregnancies. Treatment/recovery plans must include provisions for pre-natal care for all
patients who are pregnant or become pregnant. If a pregnant patient refuses or fails to obtain
such care, the provider must have the patient acknowledge in writing that pre-natal care was
offered, recommended, and refused. The program should also offer to develop a plan of safe care
with the patient and anyone identified by the patient, such offer should be noted in the patient
record.

(m)  Communicable disease. Treatment/recovery plans must include provisions for the
prevention, care and treatment of HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, tuberculosis and/or sexually
transmitted diseases when present. If a patient refuses to obtain such care, the provider must have
the patient acknowledge in writing that such care was offered, recommended, and refused.

(n) Transfers. If patients are transferred between a SUD outpatient program and outpatient
rehabilitation services within the same provider, a single patient record may be maintained
provided that it includes clinical justification for the transfer, the effective date of the transfer
and a revised treatment/recovery plan, if necessary, signed (physical or electronic signature) by a
clinical staff member and their supervisor.

(o) Confidentiality. Patient records maintained by the program are confidential and may
only be disclosed consistent with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA) and the federal regulations governing the confidentiality of patients' records as set forth
in 42 CFR Part 2 and other applicable law.

(p) Records retention. Patient records must be retained for six (6) years after the date of
discharge or last contact, or three (3) years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen,
whichever time period is longer.

()] Patient deaths. If a patient dies while in active treatment any known details must be
documented in the patient record.

(9] Transition or discharge criteria. (1) Patients having no contact or intent to continue

accessing services from a program should be discharged after a period not exceeding sixty (60)

days unless reason for continuing treatment past that period is identified and documented in the

patient record.
(2) Individuals entering treatment should progress by meeting treatment milestones
including: stabilization; engagement; goal setting; and attainment of patient-centered goals.

Individuals should be considered for transitions to the community or another level of care once
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they have stabilized and attained the support necessary to support their goals. If an individual
leaving treatment expresses a preference for a level of care or services that preference should be
included in the patient record.

(3) Individuals who are discharged involuntarily must be discharged consistent with Part
815 of this Title.

(4) Transition plan.

(1) A transition plan must be developed in collaboration with the patient and any
collateral person(s) the patient chooses to involve. Such plan shall specify needed referrals with
appointment dates and times, all known medications (including frequency and dosage) and
recommendations for continued care.

(i) If the patient is a minor, the plan must also be developed in consultation with
their parent or guardian, unless the minor is being treated without parental consent as authorized
by Mental Hygiene Law section 22.11; information pertaining to the testing and treatment of
sexually transmitted diseases cannot be shared with the minor patient’s parent or guardian
without the patient’s consent, in accordance with applicable laws and regulations.

(5) No patient may be discharged without a plan which has been previously
reviewed and approved by a clinical staff member and the clinical supervisor. This requirement
does not apply to patients who stop attending, or otherwise fail to cooperate, or refuse continuing
care or OBOT planning. That portion of the transition plan which includes referrals for
continuing care must be given to the patient prior to leaving the program. The patient, and their

family/significant other(s), shall be offered [ralexene] overdose prevention education and

training, and a naloxone Kit or prescription.

(s) Continuing Care. Individuals may be admitted to continuing care when they require
a less intensive amount of support and services and there is a documented clinical need for
ongoing clinical support to maintain gains made in treatment.

1) The purpose of continuing care is to provide ongoing disease management
services including management of life stressors, urges and cravings, mood and interpersonal
relationships and to maintain gains made in treatment.

2 Individuals in continuing care may receive counseling or peer services,

rehabilitative support services including case management and medication management services

as needed.
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3) [Persons-receiving-opioid-full-agonist-medication-treatment] Patients receiving

OTP services are not appropriate for continuing care as defined herein.

822.9 Additional locations

@ A certified provider of an outpatient program may operate at one or more additional
locations with the approval of the commissioner pursuant to Part 810 of this Title. For purposes
of this section, an “additional location” is a provider site providing [substance-use-disorder]
outpatient addiction treatment services which reports to a primary certified program for its
operation, administration and supervisory activities.

(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to certified providers of outpatient
rehabilitation services.

(© Opioid Treatment Programs must comply with federal statutes, regulations and guidance
regarding the development of additional locations and are not subject to the provisions of
822.7(f) of this Chapter.

822.10 Add_itional requirements for substance use disorder outpatient rehabilitation
services

@ These requirements are in addition to those contained in 822.7 of this Chapter and other

sections applicable to all programs.

(b) As defined in 822.5 of this Part, outpatient rehabilitation services for individuals with

more chronic conditions emphasize development of basic skills in prevocational and vocational

competencies, personal care, nutrition, and community competency. The individual must have

an inadequate support system and either substantial deficits in interpersonal and functional skills

or health care needs requiring attention or monitoring by health care staff. These services are

provided in combination with all other clinical services provided by programs. It is expected that

services will be provided three to five days per week for at least two [four] hours per day.

(c) Programs must be certified by the Office to provide outpatient rehabilitation services.

(d) Staffing. There must be at least one full-time equivalent counselor or therapist for every

20 patients receiving outpatient rehabilitation services. If volunteers or student interns are used,

they may not be counted in the counselor-to-patient ratio. In addition to the staffing required in

section 822.7 of this Part, the following additional staff members are required:
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(1) at least one half-time therapeutic recreation therapist or occupational therapist or
vocational specialist, certified as a rehabilitation counselor or qualified health professional with
one year of experience and/or training in providing recreation, occupation and/or rehabilitation
services; and

(2) at least one part-time nurse practitioner, registered physician's assistant, or registered
nurse, or a licensed practical nurse supervised by a registered nurse employed by the governing
authority.

(e) If a program is providing outpatient rehabilitation services, the following services must
be available either directly or through written agreements:

(1) socialization development;

(2) skill development in accessing community services;

(3) activity therapies; and

(4) information and education about nutritional requirements, including but not limited to
planning, food purchasing, preparation and clean-up.

U] A provider of outpatient rehabilitation services must assure the availability of one meal to
each patient who receives outpatient rehabilitation services.

822.11 Additional requirements for opioid treatment programs

@) Central registry system. Each such program must participate in the central registry system
established and maintained by the Office to prevent a patient’s simultaneous enrollment in more
than one such program and ensure accurate dispensing of medication in accordance with federal
regulations. Each such program must:

(1) initiate a clearance inquiry to the central registry system by submitting all required
information prior to admitting a patient;

(2) report all admissions, transfers, and discharges immediately to the central registry
system;

(3) verify with the central registry system that the prospective patient is not presently
enrolled in another such program and this verification must be documented in the clinical record,;
a program may not admit an applicant who is participating in another such program; and

(4) report any other information deemed necessary by the Office to comply with state and

federal laws and regulations.
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(b) Medication administration. (1) A physician must determine a patient's initial medication
dose and schedule of administration and document such orders in the patient’s record. Another
designated practitioner, such as a nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant may determine a
patient’s initial medication dose and schedule of administration if a federal waiver has been
approved.

(2) A prescribing professional may report such orders to the registered or licensed
medical personnel supervising medication administration; any subsequent change in approved
medications, dose or schedule must similarly be reported to the pharmacy or to the medical staff
and documented in the record before administration. The prescribing professional may issue
verbal orders in emergencies only and must document such orders in writing within seventy-two
(72) hours.

(3) Patients must be properly stabilized with a therapeutic dose of approved medications;

a therapeutic dose means an amount sufficient to maintain comfort for at least twenty-four (24)
hours, alleviate opioid craving and stop continued opioid use. [To assure effectiveness,

psychiatric-evaluationsmay-be-considered-as-chinicath-ndicated:| Spllt medication doses require
prior Office approval. [Fests-forplasmatevels-must-be-taken-priorto-arequest-to-the Officefor
sphitdesing}

(4) If any medical staff member observes any condition or behavior on the part of a
patient that may contraindicate a regularly scheduled dose of medication, such staff member
must contact the prescribing professional immediately and advise of the patient’s condition
which may warrant an approved medication delay, withholding or adjustment. The prescribing
professional must:

(i) approve any medication delay, withholding or adjustment; and

(ii) provide follow up consistent with emergency verbal orders as otherwise required by
this section.

(© Unsupervised or take-home medication. (1) Each patient must be on a visit schedule that
is most appropriate to clinical need, conducive to treatment progress, and supportive of
rehabilitation. A prescribing professional may reduce a patient’s visit schedule, when clinically

indicated, to accommodate patient changes in need, progress, or rehabilitation.
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(2) Each patient’s take-home schedule must comply with the federal regulatory time in
treatment requirements (42 CFR Part 8.12), unless there is a clinical justification that takes into
consideration the federal eight (8) point criteria, as to why the person is not stable enough to be
granted the applicable take home schedule. The Medical Director [A-physictar] must review

and confirm the appropriateness for take-home medication.

(3) Any patient may receive a single take-home dose for a day that the clinic is closed for
business, including Sundays and State and Federal holidays.

(4) Such determinations shall be documented in the patient's medical record. Time-in-
treatment requirements do not apply to buprenorphine take-home medication per federal rules.

(5) No medications shall be dispensed to patients in short-term detoxification treatment
or interim maintenance treatment for unsupervised or take-home use.

(6) Notwithstanding the requirements of this subdivision, a provider may require a
patient to visit the program when concerned with diversion of medication. When this occurs the
patient shall be required to bring in all remaining take-home doses. Remaining doses must
match the prescribed schedule.

(7) Holidays. Notwithstanding the requirements of this subdivision, a patient may be
provided with extra medication without prior Office approval if the patient's next regular visit
falls on a legal or program holiday. Designation of a program holiday that is not a federal
holiday must be approved annually by the Office at least thirty (30) days in advance.

(8) Exceptional circumstances. Notwithstanding the requirements of this subdivision, a
prescribing professional, based on reasonable clinical judgment, may order up to thirty (30) take-
home doses at any one time if a patient is unable to conform to the applicable mandatory
schedule requirements due to exceptional circumstances such as illness, personal or family crisis,
travel, employment, medical, or hardship, and the prescribing professional determines the patient
is also responsible in handling approved medication. Such order shall not be a permanent
schedule change. The prescribing professional must immediately document in the patient record
the reasons for the order.

(9) Release of medication to designated third party. Program medical staff may release
medication to a designated third party other than the patient only when the patient is physically
unable to attend the program. The decision to permit such release to a designated third party

must be based on the clinical judgment of the prescribing professional and with the consent of
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the patient, both of which must be documented in the patient’s record. All designated third
parties must also receive prior Office approval.

(10) Patients readmitted to a program after an approved voluntary discharge may be
granted the same take-home schedule at the time of discharge provided all criteria other than
length of treatment are satisfied.

(d) Medication security. (1) Access to controlled substances, including approved
medications, shall be limited to authorized persons in accordance with applicable state and
federal law. The areas where controlled medication stocks are maintained, dispensed, or
administered must be physically separated and secure from patient areas in accordance with
applicable state and federal law.

(2) Immediately after administration, drug containers must be purged by rinsing,
inversion, or by an acceptable alternative method that must effectively prevent the accumulation
of residual medication. Containers used in the program or for take-home medications must be in
child resistant packaging [ehiHd/tamperproof], may not be reused and must be destroyed. Each

program must assure patients’ take-home bottles and used containers are disposed of properly.

Patients should return take-home bottles before receiving any subsequent take-home medication.

(3) Any theft or loss of approved medications must be immediately reported in
accordance with applicable state and federal law.
(e)  Residential programs providing opioid full agonist treatment medications. Such a
residential program shall:

(1) comply with all applicable requirements of this Part;

(2) comply with all requirements of this Title applicable to substance use disorder
residential services;

(3) not dispense take-home medications to any patient; and

(4) include material and schedules for development and review of treatment/recovery
plans as required by regulations applicable to substance use disorder residential services, rather
than the requirements of this Part.
)] Opioid taper. (1) MAT is the standard of care for OUD; however an opioid taper may be

appropriate in limited clinical situations and upon patient request.
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(2) Voluntary Taper. Each program must provide an opioid taper at the program or
arrange for taper at another program or in a facility approved to provide tapering as is medically
and clinically appropriate:

(1) Patients may request a voluntary taper at any time and may discuss reasons and
circumstances with program staff who must provide clinical feedback regarding patient
readiness. No reasonable request shall be denied;

(i1) Each program must administer a voluntary taper at a pace tailored to the
patient’s individual needs, based on clinical judgment, medical evaluation, patient input and
feedback at the start of the taper and continuously throughout.

(9) Opioid medical maintenance (OMM). (1) An OMM program requires federal and state
approval. Patients admitted to OMM must meet specific criteria including:

(i) four (4) years of continuous treatment in a program providing opioid full
agonist treatment;

(ii) three (3) years of no drug abuse including alcohol;

(iii) three (3) years of no criminal involvement;

(iv) three (3) years of continuous gainful employment or productive activity;

(v) three (3) years of emotional stability;

(vi) intent to continue maintenance treatment; and

(vi1) verified stability in the Prescription Monitoring Program (“PMP”).

(2) The individual patient record for a patient in OMM must be updated at least monthly
and toxicology tests and/or a check of the PMP must be conducted as clinically indicated.

(3) The 30-day medication supply may be dispensed in dry tablet form in a single bottle.

(4) An OMM patient must return to a program when, in the prescribing professional’s
clinical judgment, the patient needs maintenance treatment services.

(5) An OMM program has no Office-certified capacity.

(h)  Specialized opioid services. Specialized opioid services are those not defined in this Part
and are generally research-oriented in nature. Such specialized services shall be reviewed and
approved by the Office prior to implementation and operation in accordance with Office policy,

procedures, and requirements.

822.12 Severability
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If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part that can be

given effect without the invalid provisions or applications, and to this end the provisions of this

Part are declared to be severable
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MEDICAL ASSISTANCE FOR CHEMICAL DEPENDENCE SERVICES

(Statutory Authority: Mental Hygiene Law Sections 19.07(e), 19.09(b), 19.40, 32.01, 32.07(a), 43.01,
and 43.02; Social Services Law Section 364)
Sec.
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841.2 Legal basis
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841.13  Audits and revisions to rates for inpatient rehabilitation services and fees and fee
add-ons for residential rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY)
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programs
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841.14 Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid
treatment programs.

@ This Section shall govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified

ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities:

(1) chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this
Title;

(2) opioid treatment clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title;

(3) chemical dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to
Part 822 of this Title.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the
following:

(1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics;

(2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and

(3) payments made on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family
health plus program.

(c) Definitions
As used in this Part, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)” shall mean a defined group of outpatient procedures
or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which incorporate
the ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below.

(2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered
to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment.

(3) “APG weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average

resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other
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APG's. Procedure-based APG weight shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected
average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned to its
own weight shall have its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the
weight of the APG to which the procedure groups.

(4) “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a
given APG to determine the total Medicaid payment for a service.

(5) “Case mix index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a
defined group of APG visits.

(6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to adjust for more complete
and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be
developed to assure that New York Department of Health is in full compliance with federally
approved reimbursement levels.

(7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is
appropriate in those circumstances when a patient receives multiple APG procedures during a single
patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated procedure. In
this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more
complicated procedure and the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero payment
for that procedure. Consolidation logic is defined in the 3M Health Information Systems' APG
Definitions Manual version 3.1 dated March 6, 2008 and as subsequently amended by 3M.

(8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes” is the systemic listing and coding of
procedures and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System
(HCPCS). The CPT and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually.

(9) “Discounting” shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results when unrelated,
additional procedures or ancillary services are performed during a single patient visit.

(10) “Episode” shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All
services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into
separate visits based on coded dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under
episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical visits and/or significant procedures that are
provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered on the date of
the visit or date of the significant procedure(s), resulting from the medical visits and/or significant
procedures, some of which may have been done on a different date of service from that of the medical

visits and/or significant procedures. Multiple episodes cannot be coded on the same claim. The
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calculation of the APG payment by the APG software may be either visit based or episode-based
depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits” in this Part
shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes™ for billing purposes.

(11) “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30,
2011,

(12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight for a given visit as expressed
by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting
and other applicable adjustments.

(13) “Healthcare common procedure coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a
comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system for health services and products.

(14) “Hospital based” shall mean a program that is operated by and certified as a hospital
pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health Law and identified as such by the Department of Health.

(15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this
comprehensive coding system maintained by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
maintained for the purpose of providing a standardized, universal coding system to identify and
describe patient diagnosis, symptoms, complaints, conditions and/or causes of injury or illness. It is
updated annually.

(16) “Packaging” shall mean those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary
services or drugs shall be deemed as included in the applicable APG payment for a related significant
procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant procedures, unless specifically
excepted in regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software.

(17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG base rate. Peer
groups may be established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of
patients.

(18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising New York City,
and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess.

(19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties in the state other than those counties
included in the Downstate Region.

(20) “Visit” shall mean a unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a
patient on a single date of service.

(d) System Transition. There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended
payment. For chemical dependence outpatient clinics it will be comprised of an existing payment
for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement
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established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of an existing
payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG
reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows:

(1) The office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based
upon the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011; and

(2) Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule:

(i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on July 1, 2011.

Providers shall receive 75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated
value of the APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part;

(ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall receive 50% of the
existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement
established pursuant to this Part;

(iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall receive 25% of the
existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement
established pursuant to this Part;

(iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part.
(e) APG Categories and associated weights.

(1) APG categories shall be subject to periodic revision; the most current listing shall be
published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS
website.

(2) The Department of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated
with all CPT and HCPCS procedure codes which can be used to bill any APG category. The assigned
weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights
associated with APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance”
manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated with
chemical dependency outpatient and  opioid treatment services, but which may appropriately be
billed by providers subject to this Part.

()] Base Rates. Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the
office, and subject to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following:

(1) Separate base rates shall be established for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of
this Part. Base rates shall reflect differing regional cost factors, variations in patient population and

service delivery, and capital reimbursement;
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(2) Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be
established by regulation in this Part; and

(3) Base rates may be periodically adjusted to reflect changes in provider case mix, service
costs and other factors as determined by the office.

(0) System Updating.

(1) The following elements of the APG rate-setting system shall be reviewed at least
annually, with all changes posted on the office's website:

() The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated weights assigned to each such
APG set forth in this Part;

(ii) The base rates;

(iii) The applicable 1CD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG
software system;

(iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS codes utilized in the APG software system; and

(v) The APG software system.

() Medicaid claims.

Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more
than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication
administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.

Q) Billing services.
Billing services include:

(1) Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable
services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment. No more than one admission
assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be
billed for any patient within an episode of care. No single program may bill for more than one extended
assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.

(i) Brief assessment — The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact
with the patient.

(if) Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face
contact with the patient.

(ili) Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face

contact with the patient.

30



(2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.
No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient
within an episode of care. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with
the patient.

(3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The
program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.

(4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No
more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program
must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person. A collateral visit
may occur at any time during an episode of care.

(5) Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any
patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an
episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex
care services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 45 minutes
of services. Service time need not be consecutive. This service must occur within five working days of
another program visit that includes a billable service.

(6) Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient
per day. The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.

(7) Individual counseling. No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for
any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual
counseling and normative individual counseling.

0] Brief individual counseling — The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-

face contact with the patient.

(i) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of

face-to-face contact with the patient.

(8) Intensive outpatient services (10S). No more than six weeks of 10S may be billed for any
patient. However, additional 10S may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled 10S, clinical
staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional 10S are clinically necessary and
appropriate. The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be
provided in increments of at least three hours per day. Where a patient fails to receive a full daily

increment of services, a program may bill for delivery of any services defined in Part 822 of this Title.
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(9) Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and
observation service may be billed for any patient per day. This service may be of any duration. The
program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.

(10) Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable
services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication
induction. No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day.

(i) Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of

services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation.

(if) Complex medication management — The program must document at least 15 minutes of

services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation.

(iii) Addiction Medication Induction — The program must document at least 30 minutes of

services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation.

(11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be
billed for any patient per day. Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for
medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer
support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this
subdivision. Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the
outpatient rehabilitation service. Outpatient rehabilitation services consist of two billable levels of
service: 2-4 hour duration and 4 hour and above duration.

(i) 2-4 hour duration — The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4
hour hours of services.

(1) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.

(12) Peer support service — No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient
per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care,
unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are
clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face
contact with a patient.

(13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of
care. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.

() All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence

outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment
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associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee

methodology and Federal financial participation.
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Fourth Quarter Amendment
Public Notice



Miscellaneous Notices/Hearings

NYS Register/October 28, 2020

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County
250 Church Street
New York, New York 10018

Queens County, Queens Center
3220 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457

Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99
Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE
Department of Health

Pursuant to 42 CFR Section 447.205, the Department of Health
hereby gives public notice of the following:

The Department of Health proposes to amend the Title XIX
(Medicaid) State Plan for non-institutional services to comply with
Title 14 NYCRR Parts 822 and 841 and 42 CFR 440.130(d). The fol-
lowing changes are proposed:

Non-Institutional Services

The COVID emergency SPA covering the NYS Office of Addiction
Services and Supports (OASAS) Opioid Treatment Programs (OTPs)
ends on January 21, 2021. That SPA permitted billing weekly OTP
(Opioid Treatment Programs) bundles under a methodology similar to
that of Medicare. Effective on or after January 1, 2021, OASAS
proposed to establish those bundled rates as a permanent alternative to
the OTP Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology. Each week,
for any given patient, the provider must choose to bill under either the
APG methodology or the bundled weekly rates, generally based on
the amount of face-to-face contact with the patient during that week
and the specific services provided.

There is no additional estimated annual change to gross Medicaid
expenditures as a result of this proposed amendment.

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County

250 Church Street

New York, New York 10018
Queens County, Queens Center
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3220 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457

Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99
Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE

Town of North Hempstead
Solid Waste Management Authority

Pursuant to Section 120-w of the New York General Municipal Law,
the Town of North Hempstead Solid Waste Management Authority
hereby gives notice of the following:

On October 8, 2020, the Town of North Hempstead Solid Waste
Management Authority awarded a contract to Covanta Sustainable
Solutions LLC pursuant to section one hundred twenty-w of the Gen-
eral Municipal Law for the transportation and disposal of solid waste
from the North Hempstead Transfer Station, Port Washington, New
York. The validity of this contract or the procedures which led to its
award may be hereafter contested only by action, suit or proceeding
commenced within sixty days after the date of this notice and only
upon the ground or grounds that: (1) such award or procedure was not
authorized pursuant to that section, or (2) any of the provisions of that
section which should be complied with at the date of this publication
have not been substantially complied with, or (3) a conflict of interest
can be shown in the manner in which the contract was awarded; or by
action, suit or proceeding commenced on the grounds that such
contract was awarded in violation of the provisions of the Constitution.

PUBLIC NOTICE
Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Pursuant to section 14.07 of the Parks, Recreation and Historic Pres-
ervation Law, the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preserva-
tion hereby gives notice of the following:

In accordance with subdivision (c) of section 427.4 of title 9
NYCRR notice is hereby given that the New York State Board for
Historic Preservation will be considering nomination proposals for
listing of properties in the State and National Register of Historic
Places at a meeting to be held on Thursday, December 3rd, 2020 at
Peebles Island State Park, 1 Delaware Avenue, Cohoes, NY 12047.

The following properties will be considered:
1. Main Street Historic District, Niagara Falls, Niagara County
2. Nassau County Courthouse, Mineola, Nassau County

3. Eagle’s Nest, William K. Vanderbilt II Estate Boundary Expan-
sion, Centerport, Suffolk County

4. Brockport West Side Historic District, Brockport, Monroe County
5. St. Stephen’s Chapel, Morris, Otsego County

6. Sperry Rand, Ilion, Herkimer County

7. AM.E. Zion Church of Kingston, Ulster County

8. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad Power Station,
Westchester County

9. Wethersfield, Dutchess County
10. Harder Mill, Rensselaer, Rensselaer County
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Miscellaneous Notices/Hearings

NYS Register/December 30, 2020

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County
250 Church Street
New York, New York 10018

Queens County, Queens Center
3220 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457

Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99
Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE
Department of Health

Pursuant to 42 CFR Section 447.57, the Department of Health
hereby gives public notice of the following:

The Department of Health proposes to amend the Title XIX
(Medicaid) State Plan for non-institutional services to comply with
Section 367-a(6)(c)(iii) of Social Services Law. The following changes
are proposed:

Non-Institutional Services:

Effective on or after January 1, 2021, this notice proposes to correct
SPA 17-0029 regarding copayment for preferred brand-name prescrip-
tion drugs that are not part of the Brand Less Than Generic Program,
consistent with the March 29, 2017 Federal Public Notice regarding
pharmacy copayments. Specifically,

¢ The co-pay for preferred brand-name prescription drugs will be
corrected to change the copayment from $1.00 to $2.50, provided,
however, that the copayments for brand name prescriptions drugs in
the Fee-for-Service Brand Less Than Generic program will continue
to be $1.00.

There is no additional estimated annual change to gross Medicaid
expenditures as a result of the proposed amendments.

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County

250 Church Street

New York, New York 10018
Queens County, Queens Center
3220 Northern Boulevard

Long Island City, New York 11101
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Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457

Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99
Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE
Department of Health

Pursuant to 42 CFR Section 447.205, the Department of Health
hereby gives public notice of the following:

The Department of Health proposes to amend the Title XIX
(Medicaid) State Plan for non-institutional services to comply with
Title 14 NYCRR Parts 822 and 841 and 42 CFR 440.130(d). The fol-
lowing changes are proposed:

Non-Institutional Services

The COVID emergency SPA covering the NYS Office of Addiction
Services and Supports (OASAS) Opioid Treatment Programs (OTPs)
ends on January 21, 2021. That SPA permitted billing weekly OTP
(Opioid Treatment Programs) bundles under a methodology similar to
that of Medicare. Effective on or after January 1, 2021, OASAS
proposed to establish those bundled rates as a permanent alternative to
the OTP Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology. Each week,
for any given patient, the provider must choose to bill under either the
APG methodology or the bundled weekly rates, generally based on
the amount of face-to-face contact with the patient during that week
and the specific services provided.

The following is a clarification to the October 28, 2020 noticed al-
ready provided. There will be a small savings in fee-for-service
Medicaid associated with this initiative of approximately ($920,000)
per year (all shares). The estimated annual net aggregate decrease in
gross Medicaid expenditures attributable to this initiative contained in
the budget for state fiscal year 2020/2021 is ($230,000).

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County
250 Church Street
New York, New York 10018

Queens County, Queens Center
3220 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457
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Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99
Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE
Department of Health

Pursuant to 42 CFR Section 447.205, the Department of Health
hereby gives public notice of the following:

The Department of Health proposes to amend the Title XIX
(Medicaid) State Plan for non-institutional services to comply with
S.7506-B & A.9506-B, Part LL, § 3. The following changes are
proposed:

Effective on or after January 22, 2021, and subject to Federal
financial participation, a supplemental reimbursement program for
publicly owned or operated Medicaid enrolled ground emergency
medical transportation (ambulance) providers would be established or
transitioned from one approved under emergency State Plan Amend-
ment authority. Medicaid enrolled publicly owned or operated ground
emergency medical transportation (ambulance) providers are currently
reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis, but at a rate that is far less than
the actual cost of providing these services. This proposed amendment
is intended to help bridge that fiscal gap. Providers participating in the
inpatient supplemental reimbursement program will no longer be
reimbursed through the inpatient rates as a non-comparable add-on to
the acute per discharge rate.

The additional estimated annual change to gross Medicaid expendi-
tures as a result of this proposed amendment is estimated to be $175M.
This proposed amendment presents a potential savings to local govern-
ments, counties; cities; towns; or villages, which own or operate
ground emergency medical transportation (ambulance) services, and
which voluntarily choose to participate.

The public is invited to review and comment on this proposed State
Plan Amendment, a copy of which will be available for public review
on the Department’s website at http://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/
state_plans/status. Individuals without Internet access may view the
State Plan Amendments at any local (county) social services district.

For the New York City district, copies will be available at the fol-
lowing places:

New York County
250 Church Street
New York, New York 10018

Queens County, Queens Center
3220 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Kings County, Fulton Center
114 Willoughby Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201

Bronx County, Tremont Center
1916 Monterey Avenue
Bronx, New York 10457

Richmond County, Richmond Center
95 Central Avenue, St. George
Staten Island, New York 10301

For further information and to review and comment, please contact:
Department of Health, Division of Finance and Rate Setting, 99

Washington Ave., One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432, Albany, NY
12210, spa_inquiries @health.ny.gov

PUBLIC NOTICE

Department of State
Program Change

STATEWIDE — Pursuant to 15 CFR 923, the New York State
Department of State (DOS) hereby gives notice that the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Office for Coastal Man-
agement (OCM) concurred on December 8, 2020 on the incorporation
of the Village of Alexandria Bay and Town of Alexandria Local Wa-
terfront Revitalization Program (LWRP) into New York State’s
Coastal Management Program as a Program Change. As of December
8, 2020, the enforceable policies identified in the Table of Approved
Changes below shall be applicable in reviewing federal actions pursu-
ant to the federal consistency requirements of the Coastal Zone
Management Act (CZMA) and its implementing regulations found at
15 CFR part 930. DOS requested OCM’s concurrence on this action
on October 14, 2020, in a previous notice in the New York State Reg-
ister, which further described the content of the action.

The Village of Alexandria Bay and Town of Alexandria LWRP was
prepared in partnership with DOS and in accordance with the New
York State Waterfront Revitalization of Coastal Areas and Inland
Waterways Act and the New York State Coastal Management Program.
The LWRP is a long-term management program for the waterfront re-
sources of the Village and Town along the St. Lawrence River and Ot-
ter Creek and is based on the policies of the New York State Coastal
Management Program. The Village of Alexandria Bay and Town of
Alexandria LWRP provides a detailed inventory and analysis of natu-
ral, historic and cultural resources in the Local Waterfront Revitaliza-
tion Area in the Village and Town, describes existing land and water
uses, harbor management, and important economic activities, presents
issues and opportunities for future development, and contains enforce-
able polices to be used for CZMA consistency review purposes.

Pursuant to the New York State Coastal Management Program and
Article 42 of the New York State Executive Law, the Village of Alex-
andria Bay and Town of Alexandria LWRP was adopted by resolution
by the Village of Alexandria Bay Board of Trustees on May 8§, 2018
and by the Town of Alexandria Town Board on September 19, 2018
and approved by the New York State Secretary of State on January 6,
2020.

OCM'’s concurrence includes the following list of changes and
qualifications:

Table of Approved Changes

Legal Title of policy, Is the Date Enforceable Enforceable
citation section, or other change effective policy mechanism
descriptor new, in state citation
revised, or
deleted
Not Village of Revised 01/06/ Yes Executive
applicable Alexandria Bay 2020 (Section IIT aw,
and Town of only) Article 42
Alexandria
Joint Local
Waterfront

Revitalization
Program (LWRP)

Qualifications

As with previous approval of NY CMP LWRPs, the enforceable
provisions of Section III are only the stated policies and sub-policies.
The enforceable policies do not include the explanatory text that ac-
companies each policy. While the explanatory text may be advisory as
to how activities can show consistency with the LWRP policies, the
State may not use the explanatory text as a basis for issuing an objec-
tion under its CZMA authority. Please also note that for the review of
federal actions pursuant to the CZMA, the requirements of the statute
and implementing regulations at 15 CFR part 930 are controlling over
any conflicting interpretation of the discussion of the CZMA federal
consistency requirements within the Village of Alexandria Bay and
Town of Alexandria LWRP.

As a standard qualification applying to all program changes, states
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NON-INSTITUTIONAL SERVICES
State Plan Amendment #21-0005

CMS Standard Funding Questions

The following questions are being asked and should be answered in relation to all
payments made to all providers reimbursed pursuant to a methodology described in
Attachment 4.19-B of the state plan. For SPAs that provide for changes to payments for
dinic or outpatient hospital services or for enhanced or supplemental payments to
physician or other practitioners, the questions must be answered for all payments made
under the state plan for such service.

1. Section 1903(a)(1) provides that Federal matching funds are only
available for expenditures made by States for services under the approved
State plan. Do providers receive and retain the total Medicaid
expenditures claimed by the State (includes normal per diem,
supplemental, enhanced payments, other) or is any portion of the
payments returned to the State, local governmental entity, or any other
intermediary organization? If providers are required to return any portion
of payments, please provide a full description of the repayment process.
Includein your response a full description of the methodology for the
return of any of the payments, a complete listing of providers that return a
portion of their payments, the amount or percentage of payments that are
returned and the disposition and use of the funds once they are returned
to the State (i.e., general fund, medical services account, etc.).

Response: Providers do retain the payments made pursuant to this amendment.
However, this requirement in no way prohibits the public provider, including county
providers, from reimbursing the sponsoring local government for appropriate
expenses incurred by the local government on behalf of the public provider. The
State does not regulate the financial relationships that exist between public health
care providers and their sponsoring governments, which are extremely varied and
complex. Local governments may provide direct and/or indirect monetary subsidies
to their public providers to cover on-going unreimbursed operational expenses and
assure achievement of their mission as primary safety net providers. Examples of
appropriate expenses may include payments to the local government which include
reimbursement for debt service paid on a provider's behalf, reimbursement for
Medicare Part B premiums paid for a provider's retirees, reimbursement for
contractually required health benefit fund payments made on a provider's behalf,
and payment for overhead expenses as allocated per federal Office of Management
and Budget Circular 2 CFR 200 regarding Cost Principles for State, Local, and Indian
Tribal Governments. The existence of such transfers should in no way negate the
legitimacy of these facilities' Medicaid payments or result in reduced Medicaid federal
financial participation for the State. This position was further supported by CMS in
review and approval of SPA 07-07Cwhen an on-site audit of these transactions for
New York City's Health and Hospitals Corporation was completed with satisfactory
results.



2. Section 1902(a)(2) provides that the lack of adequate funds from local
sources will not result in lowering the amount, duration, scope, or quality
of care and services available under the plan. Please describe how the
state share of each type of Medicaid payment (normal per diem,
supplemental, enhanced, other) is funded. Please describe whether the
state share is from appropriations from the legislature to the Medicaid
agency, through intergovernmental transfer agreements (IGTs), certified
public expenditures (CPEs), provider taxes, or any other mechanism used
by the state to provide state share. Note that, if the appropriation is not
to the Medicaid agency, the source of the state share would necessarily be
derived through either through an IGT or CPE. In this case, please identify
the agency to which the funds are appropriated. Please provide an
estimate of total expenditure and State share amounts for each type of
Medicaid payment. If any of the non-federal share is being provided using
IGTs or CPEs, please fully describe the matching arrangement including
when the state agency receives the transferred amounts from the local
governmental entity transferring the funds. If CPEs are used, please
describe the methodology used by the state to verify that the total
expenditures being certified are eligible for Federal matching funds in
accordance with 42 CFR 433.51(b). For any payment funded by CPEs or
IGTs, please provide the following:

(i) acomplete list of the names of entities transferring or certifying
funds;

(i) the operational nature of the entity (state, county, city, other);

(iii) the total amounts transferred or certified by each entity;

(iv) clarify whether the certifying or transferring entity has general
taxing authority: and,

(v) whether the certifying or transferring entity received
appropriations (identify level of appropriations).

Response: Payments made to service providers under the provisions of this SPA
are funded through a general appropriation received by the State agency that
oversees medical assistance (Medicaid), which is the Department of Health.

The source of the appropriation is the Medicaid General Fund Local Assistance
Account, which is part of the Global Cap. The Global Cap is funded by General Fund
and HCRA resources.

There have been no new provider taxes and no existing taxes have been modified.

3. Section 1902(a)(30) requires that payments for services be consistent
with efficiency, economy, and quality of care. Section 1903(a)(1) provides
for Federal financial participation to States for expenditures for services
under an approved State plan. If supplemental or enhanced payments are
made, please provide the total amount for each type of supplemental or
enhanced payment made to each provider type.

Response: The payments authorized for this provision are not supplemental or
enhanced payments.



4. For clinic or outpatient hospital services please provide a detailed
description of the methodology used by the state to estimate the upper
payment limit (UPL) for each class of providers (State owned or operated,
non-state government owned or operated, and privately owned or
operated). Please provide a current (i.e., applicable to the current rate
year) UPL demonstration.

Response: For hospital-based outpatient clinics: The 2021 Outpatient UPL has not
been submitted to CMS for review.

5. Does any governmental provider receive payments that in the aggregate
(normal per diem, supplemental, enhanced, other) exceed their
reasonable costs of providing services? If payments exceed the cost of
services, do you recoup the excess and return the Federal share of the
excess to CMS on the quarterly expenditure report?

Response: These fees for hospital and freestanding OASAS clinics are
benchmarked to similar Medicare fees, but either equal to or lower than the
comparable Medicare fees. They are also lower than the already approved APG
methodology to which these are an alternative.

ACA Assurances:

1. Maintenance of Effort (MOE). Under section 1902(gg) of the Social
Security Act (the Act), as amended by the Affordable Care Act, as a
condition of receiving any Federal payments under the Medicaid program
during the MOE period indicated below, the State shall not have in effect
any eligibility standards, methodologies, or procedures in its Medicaid
program which are more restrictive than such eligibility provisions as in
effect in its Medicaid program on March 10, 2010.

MOE Period.

= Beginson: March 10, 2010, and

= Endson: The date the Secretary of the Federal Department of Health
and Human Services determines an Exchange established by a State
under the provisions of section 1311 of the Affordable Care Act is fully
operational.

Response: This SPA complies with the conditions of the MOE provision of section
1902(gg) of the Act for continued funding under the Medicaid program.

2. Section 1905(y) and (z) of the Act provides for increased FMAPs for
expenditures made on or after January 1, 2014 for individuals determined
eligible under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) of the Act. Under section
1905(cc) of the Act, the increased FMAP under sections 1905(y) and (z)
would not be available for States that require local political subdivisions to
contribute amounts toward the non-Federal share of the State’s
expenditures at a greater percentage than would have been required on
December 31, 2009.



Prior to January 1, 2014 States may potentially require contributions by
local political subdivisions toward the non-Federal share of the States’
expenditures at percentages greater than were required on December 31,
2009. However, because of the provisions of section 1905(cc) of the Act,
it is important to determine and document/flag any SPAs/State plans
which have such greater percentages prior to the January 1, 2014 date in
order to anticipate potential violations and/or appropriate corrective
actions by the States and the Federal government.

Response: This SPAwould [ ]/ would not [v'] violate these provisions, if they
remained in effect on or after January 1, 2014.

3. Please indicate whether the State is currently in conformance with the
requirements of section 1902(a)(37) of the Act regarding prompt
payment of claims.

Response: The State does comply with the requirements of section 1902(a)(37) of
the Act regarding prompt payment of claims.

Tribal Assurance:

Section 1902(a)(73) of the Social Security Act the Act requires a State in
which one or more Indian Health Programs or Urban Indian Organizations
furnish health care services to establish a process for the State Medicaid
agency to seek advice on a regular ongoing basis from designees of Indian
health programs whether operated by the Indian Health Service HIS Tribes
or Tribal organizations under the Indian Self Determination and Education
Assistance Act ISDEAA or Urban Indian Organizations under the Indian
Health Care Improvement Act.

IHCIA Section 2107 (e)(I) of the Act was also amended to apply these
requirements to the Children's Health Insurance Program CHIP.
Consultation is required concerning Medicaid and CHIP matters having a
direct impact on Indian health programs and Urban Indian organizations.

a) Please describe the process the State uses to seek advice on a regular
ongoing basis from federally recognized tribes Indian Health
Programs and Urban Indian Organizations on matters related to
Medicaid and CHIP programs and for consultation on State Plan
Amendments waiver proposals waiver extensions waiver amendments
waiver renewals and proposals for demonstration projects prior to
submission to CMS.

b) Please include information about the frequency inclusiveness and
process for seeking such advice.

c) Please describe the consultation process that occurred specifically for
the development and submission of this State Plan Amendment when
it occurred and who was involved.



Response: Tribal consultation was performed in accordance with the State’s tribal
consultation policy as approved in SPA 17-0065, and documentation of such is included
with this submission. To date, no feedback has been received from any tribal
representative in response to the proposed change in this SPA.
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APPENDIX VI
NON-INSTITUTIONAL SERVICES
State Plan Amendment # 21-0005

CMS Standard Access Questions - Hospital

The following questions have been asked by CMS and are answered by the
State in relation to all payments made to all providers under Attachment
4.19-B of the state plan.

1. Specifically, how did the State determine that the Medicaid provider
payments that will result from the change in this amendment are
sufficient to comply with the requirements of 1902(a)(30)?

Response: First, Hospitals are required to meet licensure and certification
requirements to ensure providers are qualified to deliver services to Medicaid
patients. These requirements as well as other methods and procedures the state
has in place to assure efficiency, economy and quality of care are not impacted in
any way by the amendment. Second, all licensed hospitals currently participate in
the New York State’s Medicaid program and are located all across the state so that
Medicaid recipients in any geographic area have access to services that are available
to the general population in those communities. This amendment seeks to
periodically update the weights to accurately pay providers for the service they
performed.

2. How does the State intend to monitor the impact of the new rates and
implement a remedy should rates be insufficient to guarantee required
access levels?

Response: The State has various ways to ensure that access levels in the Medicaid
program are retained and is currently not aware of any access issues. The State
monitors and considers requests in the context of access as they approve/deny
changes in services. Finally, providers cannot discriminate based on source of
payment.

For providers that are not subject to an approval process, the State will continue to
monitor provider complaint hotlines to identify geographic areas of concern and/or
service type needs. If Medicaid beneficiaries begin to encounter access issues, the
Department would expect to see a marked increase in complaints. These complaints
will be identified and analyzed in light of the changes proposed in this State Plan
Amendment.

Finally, the State ensures that there is sufficient provider capacity for Medicaid
Managed Care plans as part of its process to approve managed care rates and plans.
Should sufficient access to services be compromised, the State would be alerted and
would take appropriate action to ensure retention of access to such services.



3. How were providers, advocates and beneficiaries engaged in the
discussion around rate modifications? What were their concerns and how
did the State address these concerns?

Response: This change was discussed in detail with stakeholders including the
provider association (COMPA). It was also piloted in the COVID disaster relief SPA
with great success. There is no opposition to this proposal.

4. What action(s) does the State plan to implement after the rate change
takes place to counter any decrease to access if the rate decrease is found
to prevent sufficient access to care?

Response: Should any essential community provider experience Medicaid or other
revenue issues that would prevent access to needed community services, per usual
practice, the State would meet with them to explore the situation and discuss
possible solutions, if necessary.

5. Is the State modifying anything else in the State Plan which will
counterbalance any impact on access that may be caused by the decrease
in rates (e.g. increasing scope of services that other provider types may
provide or providing care in other settings)?

Response: The existing reimbursement methodology (APGs) will still be available.
There will be no drop in access. In fact, this proposal will increase access for
persons unable to go to the program on a daily or near-daily basis.
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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	Section 841.1   Background and intent. 
	(a)   The purpose of this Part is to establish standards for reimbursement and participation in the Medical Assistance Program, as  authorized  by  title  11  of  article  5  of  the Social Services Law, for services provided by chemical dependence providers certified or  co-certified  by  the  Office  of  Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. This Part does not apply to hospital based programs. 
	(b)  The payments determined under these standards and  methods  established by  this Part are intended to be reasonable and adequate to meet  the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and  economically operated programs  in  order  to  provide  chemical  dependence services in conformity with applicable State and Federal laws, regulations and safety standards. 
	 
	841.2   Legal basis. 
	(a)   Section 19.07(e) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  standards including necessary rules and regulations pertaining to chemical dependence services. 
	(b)  Section 19.09(b) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  necessary  and  proper to implement any matter under his or  her jurisdiction. 
	(c)  Section 32.01 of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt any regulation reasonably necessary to implement  and effectively exercise  the  powers and perform the duties conferred by Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(d)  Section 32.07(a) of the Mental Hygiene Law authorizes the  Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to adopt  regulations  to  effectuate the provisions and purposes of Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law. 
	(e)  Sections 43.01 and 43.02 of  the  Mental  Hygiene  Law  grant  the  Commissioner  of  the  Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services  the power and responsibility to adopt regulations that are necessary and  proper to implement matters under his/her jurisdiction and to  establish  standards and methods of payment made by government agencies pursuant to  title  11  of article 5 of the Social Services Law for eligible chemical  dependence services certified by the Office of Alcoholism and  Substa
	(f)   Section 364 of the Social Services Law provides that each office within the Department of Mental Hygiene shall be responsible for establishing and maintaining standards for medical care and services in institutions serving Medicaid patients. 
	(g)  Pursuant to section 23 of Part C of chapter  58  of  the  laws  of 2009,  the  Commissioner is authorized, with the approval of the Commissioner of Health and the Director of the  Budget,  to  promulgate  regulations  pursuant  to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law utilizing the  Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) methodology described in subdivision  (c)  of section 841.14 of this Part for the purpose of establishing standards  and methods of payments made by government agencies pursuant to title 11 of 
	 
	841.3   Applicability.  
	These regulations apply to any eligible provider as defined in this Part. 
	 
	841.4   Definitions. 
	(a)   "Medicaid program" shall mean the medical assistance program, under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, in accordance with a state plan approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
	(b)   "Eligible provider" shall operate a chemical dependence program and shall be approved by the single state agency to provide services and operate as a Medicaid provider; and is one of the following: 
	         (1)  a chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation program which is certified under Part 818 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or        
	 (2) a chemical dependence crisis program which is certified under Part 816  of  this  Title  by  the  Office  of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services to provide inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services or outpatient medically supervised withdrawal services; or 
	         (3)  a chemical  dependence  outpatient  or  opioid treatment program certified under Part 822 of this Title by the Office of  Alcoholism  and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (4)  an  outpatient chemical dependency services for youth program and  service certified under Part 823 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services; or 
	         (5) a residential  chemical  dependency  services  for  youth  program certified  under  Part 817 of this Title by the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. 
	(c)  "New eligible provider" shall mean an eligible provider  that  has  operated  a  chemical  dependence  treatment program for which relevant historical chemical dependence services costs are not available. 
	(d)  "Single state agency" shall mean the New York State Department of Health. 
	(e)  “Episode of care” for purposes of this Part means:  (1) in a chemical dependence outpatient program,  the period of time beginning with the first contact by a prospective patient that leads to a face-to-face service within 30 days resulting in admission to a chemical dependence outpatient treatment program and concluding 30 days following the discharge date; (2) in an opioid treatment program, the period of time beginning with admission of a patient and concluding every twelve months thereafter. 
	 
	841.5   Financial and statistical reporting. 
	(a)   Each  eligible  provider  shall  maintain  financial  records and  records relative to numbers and types of  services  provided  and  shall  prepare and submit to the commissioner financial and statistical reports  in  accordance with the requirements of the commissioner. A new eligible provider shall not be  required to provide  historical  financial  and  statistical reporting unless requested by the commissioner. 
	(b)   All financial reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be prepared in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles; 
	         (2) be certified by an independent certified  public  accountant  or  an  independent licensed accountant and shall include a statement of opinion on the data therein, unless otherwise determined by the  commissioner; and 
	         (3) be accompanied by a complete copy of the eligible provider's certified financial statements. 
	(c)  All reports to be prepared and submitted to the commissioner shall: 
	         (1) be certified by the chief administrative officer or director of the eligible provider; 
	         (2) be on forms prescribed by the commissioner; and 
	         (3) include financial and statistical data for each service for which rates or fees are established. 
	(d)  Reporting Requirements. Reports required to be submitted by this section shall be submitted within 120 days after the close of the eligible provider's fiscal year.  Extensions of time for filing reports may be granted by the commissioner upon application received prior to the due date of the report only in circumstances where the eligible provider establishes by documentary evidence that the reports cannot be filed by the due date for reasons beyond the control of the eligible provider. 
	(e)  If the  eligible  provider  determines  that  the  information  on reports  filed with the commissioner is inaccurate, incomplete or incorrect, the eligible provider shall immediately file with the commissioner the corrected  reports  which  comply  with  the  requirements of  this section. 
	 (f)   If the required financial and statistical reports are determined by the commissioner to be  incomplete, inaccurate  or  incorrect,  the eligible  provider  has 30 days from the date of receipt of notification from the office to provide the correct or additional data. 
	(g)  Penalties for Non-compliance. If an  eligible  provider  fails  to  file  the required financial and statistical reports, in accordance with  subdivisions (a) through (f) of this section and on or  before  the  due  date  or  office  approved  extended  due  date,  the office may, at its  discretion, reduce said eligible provider's existing rate or fee by five percent beginning the first day of the month following the original  due date or approved extended due date and continuing until the first day o
	 
	841.6   Non-discrimination. 
	(a)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any Medicaid recipient in admission or provision of services solely on the basis of Medicaid eligibility. 
	(b)   No eligible provider shall discriminate against any person in admission or provision of services based on race, creed, color, sex, age, disability or sexual orientation. 
	 
	841.7   Record keeping. 
	(a)   An eligible provider shall prepare, and keep for a period of six years, or three years after the patient reaches the age of eighteen, whichever period is longer, all records necessary to disclose the extent of services furnished to Medicaid recipients and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider, in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 
	(b)  Subject to the requirements of part 2 of title 42 of the  Code  of  Federal  Regulations, an eligible provider shall furnish to the New York  State Department of Health or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,  and/or  their  fiscal  agent  and/or  their  contractors,  any information they may request regarding payments claimed by the provider for furnishing services. 
	 
	841.8   Billing. 
	(a)  The eligible provider shall levy no additional charges to patients for services paid for by the Medicaid Program. 
	(b)   Claims for payment by the Medicaid Program shall be submitted at rates/fees established and/or calculated by the office and approved by the Director of the Budget. Such billings shall be net of any individual or third-party liability. 
	(c)   Claims shall be submitted only for services which were actually furnished to eligible persons and for which documentation of medical necessity is available at the time the services were furnished. 
	(d)   Claims shall be submitted on officially authorized claim forms or formats and in accordance with the Department of Health standards and procedures for claims submission. 
	(e)   All information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete. 
	 
	841.9   Compliance with general medical assistance program requirements.  
	Each eligible provider shall comply with all applicable medical assistance program requirements of the Department of Health. 
	 
	841.10   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence inpatient services. 
	 (a)  Definitions. For purposes of this section: 
	         (1) “Allowable costs” shall mean those costs incurred by an eligible inpatient provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with title 11 of article 5 of the Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical dependence services, related to patient care, and approved by the commissioner. 
	         (2) “Patient Day” shall mean the unit of measure denoting lodging provided and services rendered to one patient between the census taking hours on two successive days.   In computing patient days, the day of admission  shall be counted but not the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and discharged on the same day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) “Billable days” shall mean those patient days during which services have been provided which conform to the requirements of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider; or a residential services provider pursuant to Part 820 of this Title. 
	         (4) “Allowable days” shall mean the total of patient days provided by an eligible inpatient provider and calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. 
	         (5) “Fiscal year” shall mean the 12-month period beginning  January  1st  and  ending  December  31st,  except  for  chemical dependence inpatient services operated by the office in which case the fiscal year shall mean the 12-month period beginning April 1st and ending March 31st. 
	         (6) “Rate year” shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) “Base year” shall mean the cost reporting period  for  which  fiscal and patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment. 
	         (8) “Eligible inpatient provider” shall mean a chemical dependence inpatient provider who meets the requirements in this Part and is: 
	         (i)  a  chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation service provider;  or 
	         (ii) an inpatient medically supervised withdrawal  service  which  has formerly  been certified by the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers; or 
	         (iii) a residential services provider under 16 beds. 
	         (9)  “New eligible inpatient provider” shall mean an eligible inpatient provider as defined in subdivision (8) for which relevant historical chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	(b)   Financial and statistical reporting for new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible inpatient provider shall prepare and  submit  to the  commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements of paragraphs 841.5(b)(1), 841.5(c)(1), and  841.5(c)(2)  of  this Part  and  subdivisions  841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	(c)  Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of determining rates of payment, allowable patient days for eligible inpatient providers shall be computed using the higher of allowable  days  in  the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity.  For  an  eligible inpatient medically supervised service which  has  formerly  been  certified  by  the office to provide medical detoxification in alcoholism treatment centers  allowable  patient  days  shall b
	(d)  Calculation of allowable costs. 
	         (1) General. To be considered as allowable in determining the rate of payment,  costs  must  be  properly chargeable to necessary patient care rendered in accordance with the operating  requirements  of  the  office pursuant  to  this  Title, as such may be amended from time to time. The allowability of costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of  costs are stated  herein,  the office shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the allowability of costs, the most recent  edition  of  the Medicare  Provider  Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM15, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human  Services'  Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (ii)  Where  specific  rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM15 are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the commissioner  shall  determine allowability  of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship to patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	         (2) Services. Allowable operating costs shall include the costs of all services necessary to meet the  operating  requirements  of  the  Office  pursuant  to  this Title and the special needs of the patient population  to be served by an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (3) Religious orders. Allowable costs shall include a monetary value assigned to services provided by religious orders. 
	         (4)  Dues. Allowable costs shall include only that portion of the dues paid to any professional association which has been demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, to be other than for public relations,  advertising, political contributions and lobbying. 
	        (5) Capital expenditures. No capital expenditures for  which  approval by  the  Office  is  required  in accordance with Section 841.15 of this Part shall be included in  allowable  capital  costs  for  purposes  of  computation  of the rate of payment unless such approval shall have been secured.  Reimbursement for capital and start-up costs will be limited to those costs determined by the Office to be both reasonable and necessary. 
	         (6)  Owner compensation. Reasonable compensation to owners of eligible inpatient provider or parties related to  such  owners,  where  services have  been  actually  performed  and  required  to be performed shall be considered as an allowable cost. The amount to be allowed shall be equal to the amount normally required to be paid for the same service provided by a non-related employee, as  determined  by  the  commissioner  under Section 841.15 of this Part.  Compensation shall not be included in 
	         (7)  Limits  on Compensation. The maximum reimbursable costs for salaries for positions/titles shall be consistent with the requirements of Part 812 of this Title. 
	(e)  Non-allowable costs. 
	         (1)  Costs.  Allowable costs shall not include expenses or portions of expenses reported by an eligible inpatient provider which are determined by the commissioner not to be reasonably related to and commonly associated with the efficient and effective provision of chemical dependence services because of either the nature or amount of the particular item. 
	         (2) Entertainment. Allowable costs shall not include costs which principally afford entertainment  or  amusement  to  owners,  operators or employees of eligible inpatient providers or the referral sources. 
	         (3) Penalties. Allowable costs shall not include any interest charged or penalty imposed by governmental agencies or courts, nor the costs of insurance policies obtained solely to insure against the  imposition of such a penalty. 
	         (4) Advertising, public relations or promotions. Allowable costs shall not  include  the  direct  or  indirect  costs  of  advertising,  public relations and promotion except in those instances where  the  costs  are      specifically  related to the operation of the eligible inpatient provider, i.e., advertising for staff recruitment, and not for the purpose  of attracting residents. 
	         (5)  Political contributions. Allowable costs shall not include costs of contributions or other payments to political parties, candidates or organizations. 
	         (6)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (7) Prosthetic or orthotic costs. Allowable operating costs shall  not include  the  costs  of  prosthetic  or orthotic appliances and devices, including hearing aids which are supplied by vendors  who  are  eligible for payment for such appliances or devices in accordance with the established requirements of the Medicaid program. 
	         (8)  Educational costs.  Allowable costs shall not include costs for academic, remedial, physical and vocational education provided directly to residents of eligible inpatient providers, by the eligible inpatient provider or by arrangement with local school districts. 
	         (9) Dues. Allowable costs shall not include dues paid to any professional association or group for the purposes of public relations, advertising, political contributions, or lobbying. 
	         (10)  Fundraising.  Allowable costs shall not include direct and indirect costs of fundraising. 
	(f)  Costs of related parties.  Costs applicable to services, facilities and supplies furnished to the      eligible inpatient provider by related parties as defined  in  Section 841.16  of this Part are includable in the allowable cost of the eligible inpatient provider at the lower of the cost to the related party  or the fair market value of the services, facilities or supplies. 
	(g)  Rates of payment. 
	         (1) Payment rates shall be established on a prospective basis. 
	         (2)  Separate  payment  rates  shall  be established by the office for different types of services in accordance with the  provisions  of  this Title. 
	         (3)  Payment  rates  shall be all-inclusive per diem rates taking into account all allowable days pursuant to subdivision (c) of  this  section and  all  allowable  costs  pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.  Such principles shall be applied to new eligible inpatient providers. 
	         (4) Payment rates established under this section shall be effective for a 12-month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5)  Transfer costs. Allowable costs shall not include any costs which the commissioner determines result solely from the transfer of ownership of an eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (6) Payment rates established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with Section 841.13 of this Part. 
	         (7) For any rate year, an operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be determined from the allowable costs in the base year.  The base year is the year ending at least one year prior to the 
	first day of the  rate  year.  The  operating cost per diem and capital cost per diem shall be calculated by dividing the allowable cost by the allowable days  pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. For new eligible  inpatient providers with at least six months but less than two years of cost experience, the most recent fiscal year will be used. 
	         (8)  In determining the allowable operating cost per diem for any base  year, there shall be applied a growth factor limitation on the  previous  base year operating per diem. The growth factor limitation is determined  by  adding  two percent to the final trend factor applicable to the base year. The trend factor  shall  be  based  on  the  Congressional  Budget  Office's  Consumer  Price  Index for all Urban Consumers.  The allowable  operating cost per diem for the rate year shall be the lower  
	    (9)  To  the allowable operating cost per diem computed in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision there shall be added  an  allowable capital cost per diem.  Allowable capital costs shall be determined  by  the application of the principles developed for determining payments as set forth pursuant to subdivision (d) (1) (i) and  (d)  (1)  (ii)  of  this subdivision. 
	         (10)  Payment rates for each new eligible inpatient provider with less than six months of cost experience shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) Payment rates shall be only for the time period as approved in the budgeted cost report submitted by the new eligible inpatient provider. 
	         (ii) The allowable capital per diem during the period covered  by  the budgeted  cost  report will be computed based upon the approved budgeted capital costs divided by allowable patient days. 
	        (iii) The allowable operating per diem during the  period  covered  by  the  budgeted  cost  report  will  be the lower of the approved budgeted operating costs divided by allowable patient days or 110 percent of  the      statewide  average  operating  per diem for programs similar in size and geographic location. Where there are no similar programs for comparison, 115 percent (115%) of the statewide average operating per diem will be used. 
	         (iv) The payment rate shall be  determined  by  adding  the  allowable operating per diem and the allowable capital per diem. 
	         (11)  Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner may adjust retroactively the eligible inpatient provider's current budget based  rate  of  payment  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  cost of operating the eligible inpatient provider pursuant to this section. 
	         (12) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the office determines that an eligible inpatient provider has violated regulations of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or her discretion, adjust retroactively, any rates certified under this section to reflect the allowable costs and patient days incurred by the eligible inpatient provider for rendering such  services  consistent with its certified capacity.  Such revised rates may be applied retroactive
	(h)   Approval  of rates.  Payment rates established in accordance with  the provisions of this Part shall  be  calculated by  the  commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the  Budget. An eligible inpatient provider shall receive written notice of a payment rate after such certification and approval. 
	(i)  Utilization review.   Utilization review for chemical  dependence inpatient rehabilitation providers and Part 820 residential services providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of  the  type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 818 of  this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (2) The certification must be made within 72 hours prior or subsequent to admission, or, if an individual applies for  Medicaid  while  in  the facility, within 72 hours of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan  of an eligible inpatient provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for review of each Medicaid recipient's  need  for  the services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation  provider or a Part 820 residential services provider; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  services  shall  be  performed  by a group of professionals that includes a physician, and at least one individual who  is  not  directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest  in  the  eligible  inpatient provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the utilization plan; 
	         (iii) procedures to be used by the committee to ensure that  staff  of  the eligible inpatient provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all  information required by Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider, or a Part 820 residential services provider as  well  as  the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization  if  made  after  admission,  initial  and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons 
	and plan for continued  stay  if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities  of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform  to  the  requirements  of Part 818 of this Title for a chemical dependence inpatient rehabilitation provider or a Part 820 residential services provider. 
	         (4)  The  group  performing  utilization  review shall ensure that the  initial review for a continued  stay  of  a  recipient  in  an  eligible program  shall  be  no later than the 31st day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient provider service are conducted no later than each fourteen days  following  the initial continued stay review until sixty days after admission.  After sixty days, continued stay reviews shall be conducted  each  seven days  until  discharge.  The date assigned for each subsequent continued  stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the following: 
	         (i)  Review  for  continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	        (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued  stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued stay shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director,  the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor  and  the      patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification.  However, any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.  
	 (j) Application Procedures.    To  qualify  for  medical  assistance payments,  an  eligible  inpatient  provider,  with  a current operating certificate issued by the office, shall apply for enrollment as a  Medicaid provider on application forms supplied by the office. 
	 
	841.11   Medical assistance payments for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services 
	 
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1)  "Eligible  inpatient  medically  supervised  withdrawal   service  provider"  shall mean a medically supervised withdrawal service provider  that has been certified by the office  to  provide  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	        (2)  "Patient  day"  shall  mean  the unit of measure denoting lodging  provided and services rendered to one patient between the  census-taking hours  on  two  successive  days. A patient day is counted on the day of      admission but not on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted and  discharged on the  same  day, this period shall be counted as one patient day. 
	         (3) "Billable day" shall mean a patient day which conforms to the following requirements: 
	         (i)  A face to face contact must occur between the patient and medical or clinical staff for the provision of services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (ii)  Reimbursement  shall only be made for inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal  services  provided on  the  site  of  the  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal program. 
	(b)   Calculation  of  fees.  Fees  shall  be  developed  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. Fees will  reflect  geographic variations in costs. Fees shall be all inclusive and payment in full for inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal services provided pursuant to Part 816 of this Title. Separate inpatient medically supervised  withdrawal services fees shall be established for the upstate region and the downstate region. 
	(c)   Fee Methodology. The fee for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services shall be determined using a  cost  model  based  on  the requirements  of Part 816 of this Title and a review of 
	historical costs  for inpatient medically supervised withdrawal services. The  cost  model shall  contain  personal service and non-personal service costs. Upstate and downstate fees shall be used to recognize cost differentials between these regions of the state. Two unit  fee  models  shall  be  developed:   inpatient   medically  supervised  withdrawal  downstate  and  inpatient  medically supervised withdrawal service upstate. 
	(d)  Utilization review and control. Utilization review and control for  inpatient medically supervised withdrawal providers shall provide that: 
	         (1) A physician must certify for each Medicaid recipient that services of the type provided are or were needed in accordance with Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (2)  The certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, at the time of application. 
	         (3)  The  utilization  review  plan of an eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider shall include the following: 
	         (i) provisions for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's  need  for  services  furnished  in accordance with the criteria of Part 816 of this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's services shall be performed by  a  group  of  professionals  that includes  a  physician,  and at least one individual who is not directly responsible for the care of the recipient nor who has a financial interest in the eligible inpatient medically supervised withdrawal provider's service who shall solely be responsible for approval of the  utilization plan; 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible inpatient medically  supervised  withdrawal  provider  take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv)  provisions  to  ensure  that  the  patient's record includes all information required by Part 816 of this Title, as well as the  name  of the  patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and authorization if made after admission, initial and  subsequent  continued  stay  review  dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued stay is necessary, and other supporting material found necessary  and  appropriate by the utilization review group; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi)  provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the identities of patients in the records and reports of the utilization review  group; and 
	         (vii)  written  criteria  to  assess the need for continued stay which conform to the requirements of Part 816 of this Title. 
	         (4) The group performing utilization  review  shall  ensure  that  the initial  review  for  a  continued  stay  of  a recipient in an eligible program shall be no later than the seventh day after admission. The date assigned shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5) The group performing utilization review shall ensure  that  subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible inpatient medically  supervised withdrawal provider service are conducted no later      than each two day period following the initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date  assigned  for  each subsequent continued stay review shall be  noted in the patient's record. 
	         (6) Continued stay reviews shall be performed in accordance  with  the   following: 
	         (i)  Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the utilization review group or a designee of the group. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  group or designee shall review and evaluate the documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation to the criteria established in response to subparagraph (3)(vii) of this  subdivision. 
	         (iv) If the group or designee finds that a recipient's continued stay is  needed,  the  group shall assign a new continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (6) of this subdivision. 
	         (v) A physician or physician  assistant  or  nurse  practitioner  must certify that the services continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vi)  If the group finds that a continued stay is not needed, it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor  within one working day and provide them two working days to present their views  before a final decision. 
	         (vii)  If  the  attending  physician  and the primary counselor do not present additional information or agree that continued stay is  unnecessary, the utilization review group decision shall be final. 
	         (viii)  If the attending physician and primary counselor present additional information or clarification, the need for continued  stay  shall be  reviewed  by  the  entire  utilization review group and its decision shall be final. 
	         (ix) Any decision of the utilization review group that continued  stay  is  unnecessary  shall  be  provided  in  writing within two days to the director, the  attending  physician,  the  primary  counselor,  and  the patient; and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any  decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made on clinical grounds independent of the utilization review group's determination.     
	 
	841.12   Medical  assistance  payments  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth  
	(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this section: 
	         (1) "Eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider" shall mean a residential rehabilitation services for youth provider that has  been  certified  by the office to provide services pursuant to Part  817 of this Title. 
	         (2) "Allowable" costs shall mean those costs incurred by  an  eligible residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider which are eligible for payment by government agencies in accordance with  title  11  of  article  5  of  the  Social Services Law. To be allowable, costs must be reasonable and necessary for efficient provision of chemical  dependence services,  related  to  patient  care,  recurring,  and  approved by the commissioner. 
	         (3) "Patient day" shall mean the  unit  of  measure  denoting  lodging provided  and services rendered to one patient between the census-taking hours on two successive days. A patient day is counted  on  the  day  of      admission  but  not  on the day of discharge. When a patient is admitted  and discharged on the same day, this period  shall  be  counted  as  one  patient day. 
	         (4)  "Billable day" shall mean a patient day during which services are  provided that conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title.        
	 (5) "Allowable days" shall mean the total patient days provided by  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider; and shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (e)(2). 
	         (6) "Fee Period" shall be the calendar year. 
	         (7) "Base year" shall mean the period from which  fiscal  and  patient data are utilized to calculate rates of payment for the fee period. 
	        (8)  "Fee  Cycle"  shall  mean  either one fee period or more than one consecutive fee periods. Such fee or fees shall be derived from a common base year. 
	         (9) "New eligible residential rehabilitation provider" shall  mean  an eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for  youth provider, as  defined in paragraph (1) above, for which relevant  historical  chemical dependence service costs are not available. 
	         (10)  "Service  operating  fee" shall mean fees calculated pursuant to 841.12(b) as payment in full for operating expenses as required by  Part 817.  Such fee shall not include the capital or admission review team add-ons. 
	         (11) "Capital add-on" shall mean a  provider-specific  cost-based  per diem  calculated  pursuant  to  subdivision (c) of this section and also Section 841.14 of this Title to  address  allowable  and  approved  real  property,  equipment and start-up costs not included in 841.12(a)(10) or 841.12(a)(12).   
	 (12) "Admission review team (ART) add-on" shall mean a per diem calculated pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section,  and  established  to address  the cost of the admission review team required by Section 817.3 of this Title. 
	(b)  Calculation of service operating fees. Service operating fees  for residential  rehabilitation services for youth provided pursuant to Part 817 of this Title shall be developed by the office using  a  cost  model based  on  the  requirements  of  Part 817 of this Title. The cost model shall contain personal service and non-personal service costs. The cost model shall recognize cost differentials between the upstate and down- state regions of the state and also cost differentials between providers with 
	         (1) For purposes of this section, the upstate and downstate geographic regions are defined as follows: 
	         (i)  The downstate region includes New York City and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk,  Westchester, Rockland  and  Putnam.  New York City includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, and Richmond. 
	         (ii) The upstate region includes all other counties in New York State. 
	         (2)  Within each geographic region, service operating fees shall be developed based on differing  service capacities.  The  applicable  fee level for a given residential rehabilitation services for youth facility shall  be  determined  based on the geographic location of the facility, pursuant to 841.12(b)(1), and the  residential  rehabilitation  services for  youth  provider's  total  statewide certified residential rehabilitation services for youth capacity. 
	         (3) The service operating fees for each fee cycle,  as  defined  in 841.12(a)(10),  shall be developed by using base year patient and fiscal data. The base year fee calculation shall then be trended,  using  the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers,  to  the first day of the fee cycle. The personal service component of the service operating fees shall be calculated by  the  office using the  staffing requirements of Part 817 of this Title in conjunction with th
	         (4)  From  time  to time, at the discretion of the office, the service operating fees may be revised or updated. This process  of  revising  or  updating service operating fees may be based on the following: 
	         (i) the application of an annual trend factor to the service operating fee.  Such  trend  factor  shall  be  based  on the Congressional Budget Office's Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers and shall apply to      all components of the service operating fee, but shall not apply to  the capital or admission review team, add-ons to the service operating fee; 
	         (ii) the establishment of a new base year and fee cycle; 
	         (iii)  a  change  in  the  number of service operating fees and/or the upper and lower service capacities applicable to a service operating fee within a geographic region; or 
	         (iv) programmatic changes or cost variations which are  determined  by the  office  to  warrant  a  revision or update to the service operating fees. 
	  (c)  Capital add-on. 
	         (1) To be considered as allowable, capital costs must be both  reasonable  and necessary to patient care under Part 817 of this Title. Allowable capital costs shall be determined and reimbursed by the  office  in accordance  with  the  requirements  of  Section  841.14  of this Part.  Allowable  patient  days  shall  be  determined   in   accordance  with 841.12(e)(2) of this Part. 
	         (2)  The  capital  add-on to the service operating fee shall be calculated for each fee period on a provider-specific basis by  dividing  the provider's  allowable capital costs for that fee period by the allowable patient days for that fee period. 
	         (3) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost. 
	         (4) The capital add-on may be adjusted on a retroactive or prospective basis to more accurately reflect the actual or anticipated capital cost.  At the  discretion  of  the office, when the capital add-on is adjusted retroactively actual patient days for the fee period of  the  adjustment may be used instead of allowable patient days. 
	(d)  Admission review team (ART) add-on. 
	         (1)  The  admission review team add-on shall be calculated by dividing  the annual cost of the review team or teams  by  the  aggregate  of  the  annual  Medicaid  units  of service for Medicaid eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth (RRSY) patients.  The admission review team add-on may be calculated either  prospectively or retroactively. 
	         (i)  When the admission review team add-on is calculated prospectively it shall be based on the estimated cost of the admission review team and  the estimated aggregate of the annual  Medicaid  units  of  service  for Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (ii) When the admission review team add-on is calculated retroactively it  shall  be  based on the actual cost of the admission review team and  the actual aggregate of the annual Medicaid units of service  for  Medicaid eligible RRSY patients. 
	         (2) Admission review team costs may include consultants under contract  to the office, staff employed by the office, and associated non-personal service  costs.  The  calculated  admission  review team add-on shall be  identical for all residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers. 
	         (3)  All  expenditures  for  the  admission  review  team shall be the  responsibility of the office. The admission review team add-on shall  be  recouped  in  its entirety from each residential rehabilitation services for youth provider to reimburse the office  for  admission  review  team expenditures. 
	         (4)  The  admission review team add-on may be adjusted either prospectively or retroactively to more accurately reflect the actual or  anticipated cost of the admission review team. 
	(e)  Fees and Add-ons. 
	         (1)  Service operating fees shall be calculated as described in subdivision 841.12(b). 
	         (2) Calculation of allowable patient days. For the purposes of  determining  rates  of  payment for capital costs, allowable patient days for  eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  providers  shall be  computed  using  the higher of allowable days in the base year or 90 percent of possible days based upon annualized certified bed capacity. 
	         (3) If the office determines that sufficient allowable expense exists, capital and admission review team add-ons shall be calculated and  added to the service operating per diem fee. Capital and admission review team add-ons  to  the service operating fee shall be calculated as defined in 841.12(c) and 841.12(d). 
	         (4) Per diem fee add-ons  established  under  this  section  shall  be  effective  for a 12 month period beginning January 1st and ending December 31st. 
	         (5) At the discretion of the office, per diem fee add-ons may be calculated from approved budgeted cost or approved actual cost. 
	         (6)  Fees and add-ons established under this section shall be provisional pending the completion of an audit in accordance with section 841.13 of this Part. 
	(f)  Exceeding certified capacity. The other provisions of this section notwithstanding,  if  the office determines that an eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider or a new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider has violated  regulations  of the office by exceeding certified capacity, the commissioner may, at his or  her  discretion, adjust retroactively any fees or fee add-ons certified under this section  to  reflect  the  allowable  costs  and  actual pati
	by  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider for rendering such  services.  Such revised fees or fee add-ons may be applied retroactively, shall be calculated according to the methodology set forth in this section, and shall become effective upon approval by the Division of the Budget. 
	(g)  New eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers. 
	         (1) Each new eligible residential rehabilitation  services  for  youth  provider  shall  prepare  and submit to the commissioner a budgeted cost report in accordance with the requirements  of  paragraphs  841.5(b)(1),  841.5(c)(1),  and 841.5(c)(2) of this Part and subdivisions 841.5(e) and 841.5(f) of this Part. Such report shall: 
	         (i) include a detailed projection of revenues and a line item  expense budget with regard to staffing and non-personal service costs, including capital costs; 
	         (ii) include a detailed staffing plan; 
	         (iii) include a projected month by month bed utilization by program; 
	         (iv) cover a 12 month period; and 
	         (v)  be  completed and submitted at least 180 days prior to the beginning of the rate year for which a rate is being requested. 
	         (2) The service operating fee and admission review team add-on for  each  new  eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth  provider shall be calculated and reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of subdivisions (b) to (f) of this Section. The capital add-on shall  be approved,  calculated  and  reimbursed pursuant  to the requirements of subdivisions (c), (e), and (f) of this Section  and  Section  841.14  of   this Part. 
	         (3) Upon submission of the financial reports pursuant to this subdivision,  the  commissioner may adjust retroactively the new eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth  provider's  existing  capital  add-on  to  more  accurately  reflect  the  reported operating costs and patient days of the eligible  residential  rehabilitation  services  for youth provider. 
	(h)   Approval  of fees and fee add-ons. Service operating fees and fee add-ons established in accordance with the provisions of this section or revised in accordance with the provisions of Section 841.13  of this Part shall  be  calculated  by the commissioner and shall be approved by the State Division of the Budget. An eligible residential rehabilitation services  for youth  provider  shall  receive  written  notice  of  a  fee  after such approval. 
	(i)  Certification for treatment, utilization review and control. 
	         (1) For an individual who is a Medicaid recipient when admitted to the residential rehabilitation services for youth program, certification  of services  must  be made by an independent team as defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (2) For individuals who apply for  Medicaid  after  admission  to  the  residential  rehabilitation  for  youth program, or for emergency admissions, certification of services must be made by  the  multidisciplinary team  as  defined  in  Part  817 of this Title. This team must include a physician.  Emergency admission certification must be  made  within  14 days  after  admission. Certification must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual applies for Medicaid while in the facility, a
	         (3) The utilization review plan of an eligible  residential  rehabilitation services for youth provider shall include the following: 
	         (i)  provisions  for  review  of  each  Medicaid  recipient's need for services furnished in accordance with the criteria of Part 817  of  this Title; 
	         (ii) provisions to ensure that utilization review of a Medicaid recipient's  treatment  plan and services shall be performed by a multidisciplinary team that includes a physician as defined in Part  817  of  this Title. 
	         (iii)  procedures  to be used by the committee to ensure that staff of  the eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth provider take needed corrective action; 
	         (iv) provisions to ensure  that  the  patient's  record  includes  all information  required  by Part 817 of this Title, as well as the name of the patient's physician, the dates of Medicaid application and  authorization  if  made  after admission, initial and subsequent continued stay review dates, the reasons and plan for continued stay if continued  stay is  necessary,  and other supporting material found necessary and appropriate by the multidisciplinary team; 
	         (v) specification of records and reports to be made by the utilization review group; 
	         (vi) provisions for maintaining the confidentiality of the  identities of  patients in the records and reports of the utilization review group;  and 
	         (vii) written criteria to assess the need  for  continued  stay  which conform to the requirements of Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (4)  The  group performing utilization review shall ensure that subsequent reviews for continued stay of a recipient in an eligible  residential  service  for youth program are conducted no later than each thirty  day period  following  the  initial  continued  stay  review.  The  date assigned for each subsequent continued stay review shall be noted in the patient's record. 
	         (5)  Continued  stay reviews shall be performed in accordance with the following: 
	         (i) Review for continued stay shall be conducted by the multidisciplinary team defined in Part 817 of this Title. 
	         (ii) The review shall be  conducted  on  or  before  the  review  date  assigned. 
	         (iii)  The  multidisciplinary  team  shall  review  and  evaluate  the  documentation referred to in subparagraph (3)(iv) of this subdivision in relation  to  the  criteria  established  in  response  to  subparagraph  (3)(vii) of this subdivision. 
	         (iv)  If the multidisciplinary team finds that a recipient's continued stay is needed, the multidisciplinary team shall assign a new  continued stay review date in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subdivision. 
	         (v)  Any decision of the multidisciplinary team that continued stay is unnecessary shall be provided in writing within two days to  the  director,  the  attending  physician, the primary counselor, and the patient;  and Medicaid billing shall cease as of the day of notification. However,  any decision to discharge or retain the patient shall be made  on  clinical  grounds  independent  of  the  utilization review group's determination. 
	         (vi) A multidisciplinary team must certify that the services  continue to be needed by each recipient. 
	         (vii) If the multidisciplinary team finds that a continued stay is not needed,  it shall notify the recipient's attending physician and primary counselor within one working day and provide them two  working  days  to  present their views before a final decision. 
	 
	841.13   Audits  and  revisions  to  rates for inpatient rehabilitation  services  and  fees  and  fee  add-ons for  residential  rehabilitation services for youth services (RRSY) 
	 
	(a)   Except  where  specifically stated otherwise, the requirements of  this section shall apply to  both  eligible  inpatient  providers  under Section  841.10  of  this  Part and eligible residential rehabilitation services for youth providers under Section 841.12 of this  Part,  hereafter  collectively  referred  to as the "provider" for purposes of this  section. 
	(b)  Audits. 
	         (1) Each provider shall keep and maintain the statistical  and  financial  records  which  formed  the  basis of the reports submitted to the commissioner, as required in Section 841.5, for the later of: 
	         (i) six years from the date on which  the  reports  were  due  to  the commissioner; 
	         (ii)  six  years  from the date on which the reports were submitted to the commissioner; 
	         (iii) two years from the last day of any rate  or  fee  period  during which any part of a rate or fee was based on the required reports; or 
	        (iv) for such longer period as may be required under Federal, State or local law. 
	         (2)  All such records shall be subject to audit during the time period of their keeping and maintenance, as described in paragraph (1) of  this subdivision. 
	         (i) Field audits or desk audits shall be conducted by the commissioner at  a time and place and in a manner to be determined by the commissioner. 
	         (ii) The commissioner may enter into agreements with  other  organizations  or  agencies having audit responsibilities to audit the financial and statistical records of providers. At the conclusion of  such  audit, the commissioner may either accept the audit findings as the audit findings  of  the  commissioner  or reject the audit findings and conduct an independent audit. 
	         (iii) The audits may be performed  on  any  financial  or  statistical records required to be maintained. 
	         (iv)  Any finding of an above described audit shall constitute grounds for a rate, fee, or fee add-on  adjustment  at  the  discretion  of  the commissioner and to the extent that the audit finding has been upheld in a  decision  after a hearing or a hearing has not been requested on such finding. The rate, fee, or fee add-on adjustment  may  be  implemented prospectively or retroactively, at the discretion of the commissioner. 
	         (v)  All  rates or fees shall be considered provisional and subject to revision under the provisions of subdivision (c) until an audit has been performed and completed or the period described in Section  841.13(b)(1) has expired. 
	         (3)  All administrative review of audits conducted to determine allowable Medicaid expenses and offsetting revenues shall  be  in  accordance with this subdivision as follows: 
	         (i)  At the  conclusion  of the audit, a proposed audit report may be issued identifying the items which are being disallowed and advising the provider of the basis for the proposed action and  the  legal  authority therefor.  When  feasible,  the  proposed  report  will also specify the amount of the overpayment or underpayment. 
	         (A) The proposed report shall contain a  statement  of  action  to  be taken,  shall  afford  the  provider  the  opportunity  to object to the proposed action within 30 days and shall advise the provider that  failure to object within the time provided may result in the adoption of the proposed action as the final action. The proposed report shall be accompanied  by  a  document identifying the person to whom objections to the  report should be mailed. 
	         (B)  The  provider's  objections  to the proposed audit report must be mailed to the office within 30 days of receipt of the report  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt  requested.  Such  provider shall include a  statement detailing the specific items of the proposed audit  report  to which  the provider 
	objects and shall provide any additional material or documentation which the provider wishes to be considered in  support  of the objections. 
	         (ii)   After  the  office's  receipt  and  review  of  the  provider's  objections and additional documentation, or at any time after the  expiration  of  40  days  after mailing of the proposed audit report without objections having been received, a final audit report may be  issued  by  the  commissioner  regarding those items in the proposed audit report to  which the provider objected and a statement of the reasons therefor. 
	         (A) A copy of the final audit report and notice of any  proposed  rate adjustment  to be made based on such report shall be sent to the provider, within 120 days of  issuance,  by  certified  mail,  return  receipt requested.  Such  notice  of  proposed rate adjustment shall provide the provider with 30 days from receipt thereof to make a written request  to the commissioner for a hearing on factual and legal issues. 
	         (B) Requests for a hearing made pursuant to this section shall contain a  statement  of  the  legal  authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is requested to be held, a reference  to  relevant  sections  of  statutes  and rules, and a short and plain statement of relevant factual issues. 
	         (iii) Upon receipt of a request for a hearing, the commissioner  shall order  that  a  hearing be held as soon as practicable and to the extent possible, at a time acceptable to all parties. Unless  otherwise  agreed by  all  parties,  the  hearing shall be scheduled no later than 60 days after receipt by the office of the request for a hearing. 
	         (iv) Conduct of hearings requested pursuant to this section  shall  be in accordance with the provisions of Part 831 of this Title. 
	         (4)  At  the commissioner's discretion, adjustments to rates, fees, or fee add-ons determined in accordance with the provisions of this section may be implemented prospectively, or retroactively to the  beginning  of the rate year or fee period covered by the audit. 
	(c)    Revisions   to  rates  for  inpatient  rehabilitation  programs, revisions to capital and admission review team add-ons  for  residential rehabilitation services for youth programs, revisions to service operating  fees  for  residential  rehabilitation  services for youth programs based on changes in certified capacity. 
	         (1) The commissioner may revise or update rates, fees (based on changes in certified capacity), or fee add-ons at his or her  own  discretion or  in  response  to requests from providers.  Such revisions or updates  shall be based on: 
	         (i) errors made by the office in the calculation of the rate, determination of the volume fee or calculation of the fee add-ons; 
	         (ii) errors in the financial or  statistical  data  submitted  to  the commissioner by the provider; 
	         (iii) significant changes in the overall operating costs and/or certified  capacity  of  an  eligible  inpatient  provider resulting from the  implementation of substantial changes in programs or  services  approved      for implementation under applicable operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (iv) significant changes in the overall operating costs of an eligible inpatient  provider  or  the  eligible  residential  rehabilitation  for service for youth provider resulting from substantial  capital  projects approved  in  accordance  with  the operating requirements of the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time; 
	         (v)  Federal or State mandated requirements resulting in approved cost increases; 
	         (vi) additional staffing and non-personal service expenses approved by the commissioner for an eligible inpatient rehabilitation provider; or 
	         (vii) significant changes in a service's certified operating capacity. 
	         (2) Rate revision applications shall be made in writing to the commissioner and shall be sent by registered or certified mail. 
	         (i) The applications shall set forth the basis for  the  revision  and the issues of fact, and must comply with the following requirements: 
	         (A)  an  application  for revision based upon the grounds set forth in paragraph (1) (i) of this subdivision must be accompanied by a  detailed statement  of  the  correct  financial  or statistical data certified in accordance with the requirements of Section 841.5; 
	         (B) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph  (1)  (i) or (ii) of this subdivision must be submitted within 120 days of receipt of the notice of the rate by provider; and 
	         (C) an application for revision based upon the grounds  set  forth  in paragraph (1) (iii) (vi) of this subdivision must be submitted within 60 days of the close of the rate year or fee period in question. 
	         (3)  Actions on appeal applications will be processed without unjustifiable delay. 
	         (4) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the provider  to  demonstrate  that  the  rate,  fee,  or  fee add-on requested in the revision application is necessary. 
	         (5) There shall be a formal notification of the final determination of provider's revision request after administrative review. However, at  no point  in  the  revision  process, shall the provider have a right to an interim report of any determination made by any of the  parties  to  the revision request. 
	         (6)  Formal  notification  shall  be sent to the provider by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include  a  statement  of  the reasons  for  the final determination.  The determination after administrative review shall be final. 
	         (7) A rate, fee, or fee add-on revised pursuant to a revision request shall not be considered final unless and until such request is granted by the office and approved by the State Division of the Budget. 
	         (8) If the office grants the revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on and the State Division of the Budget does not approve the revision, the provider shall have no further right to administrative review  pursuant to this section. 
	         (9)  A revision to the rate, fee, or fee add-on determined pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be effective on the date for which the original certified rate, fee, or fee add-on of payment was effective. 
	 
	841.14   Medical assistance payments for chemical dependence outpatient and opioid     treatment programs. 
	 
	(a)  This Section shall  govern Medicaid rates of payments for OASAS certified or co-certified ambulatory care services provided in the following categories of facilities: 
	         (1)  chemical dependence outpatient clinics certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (2) opioid treatment clinics certified  or  co-certified  pursuant  to Part 822 of this Title; 
	         (3)  chemical  dependence outpatient rehabilitation programs certified or co-certified pursuant to Part 822 of this Title. 
	(b)  Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, the provisions of this Part shall not apply to the following: 
	         (1) hospital based chemical dependence outpatient clinics; 
	         (2) hospital based opioid treatment providers; and 
	         (3)  payments  made  on behalf of persons enrolled in Medicaid managed care or in the family health plus program. 
	(c)  Definitions 
	        As used in this Part, the following definitions apply: 
	         (1) “Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)”  shall  mean  a  defined  group  of outpatient  procedures or services which reflect similar patient characteristics and resource utilization and which  incorporate  the  ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and CPT and HCPCS procedure codes as defined below. 
	         (2) “Ancillary services” shall mean those laboratory and radiology tests and procedures ordered to assist in patient diagnosis and/or treatment. 
	         (3) “APG  weight” shall mean a numeric value that reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for each APG as compared to the expected average utilization for all other 
	APG's. Procedure-based APG  weight  shall  mean  a  numeric  value  that  reflects the relative expected average resource utilization (cost) for a specific procedure. A procedure that has been assigned  to  its  own  weight  shall  have  its payment derived from its procedure-specific weight without regard to the  weight of the APG to which the procedure groups. 
	         (4)  “Base rate” shall mean the numeric value that must be multiplied by the APG weight for a given APG to determine the total  Medicaid  payment for a service. 
	         (5)  “Case  mix  index” shall mean the actual or estimated average final APG weight for a defined group of APG visits. 
	         (6) “Coding Improvement Factor (CIF)” is a numeric value used to  adjust for  more complete and accurate coding for visits upon implementation of the APG reimbursement system. The CIF will be developed to  assure  that New  York  Department  of  Health  is  in full compliance with federally      approved reimbursement levels. 
	         (7) “Consolidation/Bundling” shall mean the process for determining if a single amount is appropriate  in  those  circumstances  when  a  patient receives  multiple APG procedures during a single patient visit. In some cases, a procedure will be considered part of a more complicated  procedure.  In this case, the payment for the less complicated procedure will be included in the payment for the more complicated  procedure  and  the claim line for the less complicated procedure will show zero paymen
	         (8) “Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes”  is the systemic listing and  coding  of  procedures  and services provided to a patient. It is a subset of the Healthcare Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The  CPT  and HCPCS are maintained by the American Medical Association and the Federal      Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and are updated annually. 
	         (9)  “Discounting”  shall mean the reduction in APG payment that results  when  unrelated,  additional  procedures  or  ancillary   services   are performed during a single patient visit. 
	         (10)  “Episode”  shall mean a unit of service consisting of all services coded on a claim. All services on the claim are considered to be part of the same APG visit and are not segmented into separate visits  based  on coded  dates of service as would be the case with "visit" billing. Under      episode billing, an episode shall consist of all medical  visits  and/or significant  procedures  that are provided to a patient on a single date of service plus any ordered ancillaries, ordered  on  the  d
	calculation of the APG payment by the APG  software  may be  either  visit based or episode-based depending on the rate code used to access the APG software logic. References to "visits"  in  this  Part      shall be deemed to refer also to "episodes" for billing purposes. 
	        (11)  “Existing Payment for Blend” shall mean the reimbursement rate/fee in effect on June 30, 2011. 
	         (12) “Final APG weight” shall mean the allowed APG weight  for  a  given visit  as  expressed  by the applicable APG software, and as adjusted by all applicable consolidation, packaging, discounting and other  applicable adjustments. 
	         (13)  “Healthcare  common  procedure  coding system (HCPCS codes)” shall mean a comprehensive, standardized coding and classification system  for health services and products. 
	         (14)  “Hospital  based”  shall  mean  a  program that is operated by and certified as a hospital pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health  Law and identified as such by the Department of Health. 
	         (15) “International Classification of Diseases,” means the most current version of this comprehensive  coding  system  maintained  by the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services maintained  for  the  purpose  of providing  a  standardized,  universal  coding  system  to  identify and describe patient  diagnosis,  symptoms,  complaints,  conditions  and/or causes of injury or illness. It is updated annually. 
	         (16)  “Packaging” shall  mean  those circumstances in which payment for routine ancillary services or drugs shall be deemed as included  in  the applicable  APG  payment  for a related significant procedure or medical visit. Medical visits also package with significant  procedures,  unless specifically  excepted  in  regulation. There is no packaging logic that resides outside the software. 
	         (17) “Peer Group” shall mean a group of providers that share a common APG  base  rate.  Peer  groups  may  be  established based on geographic region, types of services provided or categories of patients. 
	         (18) “The Downstate Region” shall consist of the five counties comprising  New  York  City,  and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Dutchess. 
	         (19) “The Upstate Region” shall consist of all counties  in  the  state other than those counties included in the Downstate Region. 
	         (20)  “Visit”  shall  mean  a  unit of service consisting of all the APG services performed for a patient on a single date of service. 
	(d) System Transition.         There will be a transition to APG reimbursement consisting of a blended payment. For  chemical  dependence  outpatient  clinics  it  will  be comprised  of  an  existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 18 NYCRR 505.27 and the APG reimbursement 
	established pursuant to this Part. For opioid treatment clinics it will be comprised of  an existing payment for blend portion of the fees established pursuant to 10 NYCRR 86-4.39 and the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant to this Part. The blended payment will be calculated as follows: 
	         (1)  The  office shall identify the existing payment for blend payment for each provider based upon the reimbursement  rate/fee  in  effect  on June 30, 2011; and 
	         (2)  Payments will be made pursuant to the following transition schedule: 
	         (i) Phase 1 shall be the 12-month period beginning on  July  1,  2011. 
	Providers  shall  receive  75% of the existing payment for blend payment and 25% of the calculated value of  the  APG  reimbursement  established pursuant to this Part; 
	         (ii) Phase 2 shall be the 12-month period following Phase 1. Providers shall  receive  50% of the existing payment for blend payment and 50% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part;         
	 (iii) Phase 3 shall be the 6 month period following Phase 2. Providers shall  receive  25% of the existing payment for blend payment and 75% of the calculated value of the APG reimbursement  established  pursuant  to this Part; 
	         (iv) Phase 4 providers will receive 100% APG reimbursement established pursuant to this Part. 
	(e)  APG Categories and associated weights. 
	        (1) APG categories shall be subject  to  periodic  revision; the most current listing shall be published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual available on the OASAS website.   
	         (2)  The  Department  of Health, in consultation with the office, shall assign weights associated with all CPT and HCPCS procedure  codes  which can be used to bill any APG category.  The  assigned weights shall be set forth at 10 NYCRR Part 86. The office shall maintain and update a list of weights associated  with  APG categories as published in the “APG Policy and Medicaid Billing Guidance” manual on the OASAS website. Such list may include APG categories not specifically associated  with  chemi
	(f)  Base Rates.  Base rates for chemical dependence outpatient services shall be developed by the office,  and subject  to the approval of the Department of Health, in accordance with the following: 
	         (1) Separate base rates shall be established  for each peer group as defined in section 841.14 of this Part.  Base  rates shall reflect  differing  regional  cost  factors, variations in patient population and service delivery,  and  capital reimbursement; 
	         (2)  Additional discrete base rates may be developed by the office for such peer groups as may be established by regulation in this Part; and     
	 (3) Base rates may be periodically  adjusted  to  reflect  changes  in provider  case mix, service costs and other factors as determined by the office. 
	(g)  System Updating. 
	         (1) The following elements of the APG  rate-setting  system  shall  be reviewed  at  least  annually,  with  all changes posted on the office's website: 
	         (i) The listing of reimbursable APG categories and associated  weights assigned to each such APG set forth in this Part; 
	         (ii) The base rates; 
	         (iii)  The  applicable  ICD-9 codes, or subsequent ICD categorization, utilized in the APG software system; 
	         (iv) The Applicable CPT/HCPCS  codes  utilized  in  the  APG  software system; and 
	         (v) The APG software system. 
	(h) Medicaid claims. 
	 Medicaid claims may be submitted for claims made under Medicaid fee-for-service for no more than two different services per day for any patient, not including complex care coordination, medication administration and observation, medication management and peer support services.  
	(i)   Billing services. 
	 Billing services include:  
	 (1)  Admission assessment services. Admission assessment services consist of three levels of billable services: brief assessment, normative assessment and extended assessment.  No more than one admission assessment visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three admission assessment visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  No single program may bill for more than one extended assessment, under any circumstances, within an episode of care.   
	(i)  Brief assessment – The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii)  Normative assessment - The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(iii)  Extended assessment - The program must document at least 75 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (2) Brief intervention. No more than one brief intervention may be billed for any patient per day.  No single program may bill more than three pre-admission brief intervention services for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.    
	 (3) Brief treatment. No more than one brief treatment may be billed for any patient per day. The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (4) Collateral visit. No more than one collateral visit may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five collateral visits may be billed for any patient within an episode of care. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with the collateral person.  A collateral visit may occur at any time during an episode of care. 
	 (5)  Complex care coordination. No more than one complex care service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than three complex care services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional complex care services are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document at least 45 minutes of services.  Service time need not be consecutive.  This service must occur within five working days of another pr
	 (6)  Group counseling. No more than one group counseling service may be billed for any patient per day.  The program must document at least 60 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (7)  Individual counseling.  No more than one individual counseling service may be billed for any patient per day. Individual counseling consists of two billable levels of service: brief individual counseling and normative individual counseling.   
	(i) Brief individual counseling – The program must document at least 25 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(ii) Normative individual counseling - The program must document at least 45 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	 (8)  Intensive outpatient services (IOS). No more than six weeks of IOS may be billed for any patient.  However, additional IOS may be provided, if during the final week of scheduled IOS, clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional IOS are clinically necessary and appropriate.  The program must document a minimum of nine scheduled service hours per week to be provided in increments of at least three hours per day.  Where a patient fails to receive a full daily increment of servic
	 (9)  Medication administration and observation. No more than one medication administration and observation service may be billed for any patient per day.  This service may be of any duration. The program must document face-to-face contact with the patient.   
	 (10)  Medication management. Medication management consists of three levels of billable services: routine medication management, complex medication management and addiction medication induction.  No more than one medication management service may be billed for any patient per day. 
	(i)  Routine medication management -- The program must document at least 10 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(ii) Complex medication management – The program must document at least 15 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	(iii) Addiction Medication Induction – The program must document at least 30 minutes of services including face-to-face contact with the patient and patient observation. 
	 (11) Outpatient rehabilitation services. No more than one outpatient rehabilitation service may be billed for any patient per day.  Programs that provide outpatient rehabilitation services may also bill for medication administration and observation, medication management, complex care coordination, peer support services and collateral visits consistent with the standards set forth in this subdivision.   Programs may not bill for any other service categories while a patient is admitted to the outpatient reh
	            (i) 2-4 hour duration – The program must document at least 2 hours of services but less than 4 hour hours of services.            
	            (ii) 4 hour and above duration -- The program must document at least 4 hours of services.  
	  (12) Peer support service – No more than one peer support service may be billed for any patient per day. No more than five peer support services may be billed for any patient within an episode of care, unless clinical staff document in the treatment/recovery plan that additional peer support services are clinically necessary and appropriate. The program must document at least 30 minutes of face-to-face contact with a patient.   
	  (13) Screening. No more than one screening may be billed for any patient within an episode of care.  The program must document at least 15 minutes of face-to-face contact with the patient. 
	(j) All standards of Medical Assistance reimbursement applicable to chemical dependence outpatient and opioid treatment programs shall be contingent on approval of the state plan amendment 
	associated with reimbursement of such programs as clinics pursuant to the ambulatory patient group fee methodology and Federal financial participation. 
	 
	841.15  Capital costs. 
	(a)   This  section  shall  apply  only to those programs with Medicaid reimbursement calculated pursuant to Section 841.10  of  this  Title  or Section 841.12 of this Title. 
	(b)  Allowable capital costs may include: 
	         (1) the costs of owning or leasing real property; 
	         (2)  the  costs  of  owning or leasing moveable equipment and personal property; and 
	         (3) the cost of up to three months of pre-operational program start-up expenses, and associated interest, for new services, programs, or facilities for which initial  reimbursement  levels  are  being  established.  Pre-operational  start-up  costs  may  include,  but are not limited to, rent, employee compensation, utilities, staff training and  travel,  and expensed equipment. 
	(c)   No  capital  or  start-up  expenditures for which approval by the office is required in accordance with the operating requirements of  the office pursuant to this Title, as such may be amended from time to time, shall be included in allowable capital costs for purposes of computation of  provider reimbursement unless such approval shall have been secured. For projects requiring approval by the office, reimbursement for capital costs shall be limited to the amount approved by the commissioner. 
	(d)  To be considered allowable for reimbursement capital and  start-up  costs  must  be  both reasonable and necessary, incurred by the provider and chargeable to necessary patient care. 
	(e)  Capital costs incurred after the effective date  of  this  section will  not  be  considered  allowable for reimbursement without the prior  approval of the office. Capital costs incurred prior  to  the  effective      date  of  this section will be reimbursed only if they are determined by  the office to be both reasonable and necessary for  delivering  services as required under applicable regulations of the office. 
	(f)  Allowable capital costs shall be determined in accordance with the following: 
	         (1)  Except  where specific rules concerning allowability of costs are stated herein, the office shall use as its major determining  factor  in deciding  on  the  allowability of costs, the most recent edition of the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, commonly referred to as HIM  15,      published  by the U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. 
	         (2) Where specific rules  stated  herein  or  in  HIM  15  are  silent concerning  the  allowability of costs, the commissioner shall determine allowability of  costs  based  on  reasonableness  and  relationship  to  patient care and generally accepted accounting principles. 
	(g)   Unless specifically otherwise provided for in this Part, costs of ownership of real property shall be allowable in the  following  categories;  depreciation,  interest,  and  closing  costs on the purchase and financing of real property, including fees related  to  loans  from  the Dormitory Authority of the State of New York. 
	(h)   Depreciation  shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life of buildings, fixed equipment and/or capital improvements.       
	(1)  Historical cost shall be determined as follows: 
	         (i) The historical cost of any real  property  which  is  transferred,  purchased, altered, constructed, rehabilitated and/or renovated shall be equal  to  the  amount  approved  by  the office. In deciding whether to approve any such cost, the office shall consider whether the  provider's      reimbursement  as  a  whole  for the services in question, including the  cost of purchase,  transfer,  construction,  alteration,  rehabilitation and/or  renovation  to  be  approved,  would  result in paym
	         (ii)  The historical cost of any real property which is transferred or purchased from a party related to the provider is  the  lesser  of  fair market  value  or  the  acquisition  cost  of  the  real property to the  transferor or seller. 
	         (iii) Depreciation associated with that portion of the  real  property financed  by  capital  grants  obtained from the office or any other New York State agency is not includable for rate setting  purposes.    Where the previous owner of real property had the costs of such property funded, in  whole or in part, by the State of New York, the historical cost of the property shall be the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property to the new owner, the seller's net book value, or the  fair  market
	         (iv)  Where  any real property for which previous Medicaid payment has been made is transferred by sale, purchase, acquisition or merger (other than as a result of a receivership under New York  Mental  Hygiene  Law, section 19.41), the costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs,  travel  costs  and  the  costs  of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of sale  or  purchase  are not allowable. 
	         (v)  Allowable  costs  for real property will be limited to the amount the provider of services could have been reimbursed if the  provider  of services had legal title to the property. 
	         (vi)  The  historical  cost of any alteration, construction, rehabilitation and/or renovation by a party related to the provider is the lesser of the fair market value of such alteration, construction,  rehabilitation  or  renovation;  or  the related party's cost of the alteration, construction, rehabilitation or renovation. 
	         (vii) If the previous  owner  is  a  related  party  to  the  provider purchasing  the property, any amount previously paid by the State to the previous owner as depreciation or as rent in lieu of depreciation on the property shall be counted as paid depreciation and as  funding  for  the costs of such property to the provider purchasing the property. 
	         (viii) If the seller or transferor of the real property to the provider  is  not  a party related to the provider, but any prior owner of the property in question is a party related to the provider, and the sale or 
	transfer from the prior related party occurs within five  years  of  the sale  or transfer to the provider, the transaction shall be deemed to be between the provider and the prior owner related to the provider. 
	         (ix) If the office cannot determine the historical cost of real  property,  the office shall use an appraisal value as the basis for depreciation. The appraisal value shall be based upon  an  appraisal  which  is  done by the office or by an appraiser approved by the office, which uses  an  appraisal methodology which is generally accepted within the profession and which is factually correct in all significant matters. 
	         (x) The commissioner may  allow  an  alternative  historical  cost  of  ownership  of  real  property obtained from a related party. The commissioner may allow such alternative  historical  cost  if  the  following  conditions are met: 
	         (A)  the  provider demonstrates that allowing such alternative historical cost would make property available to  providers  which  would  not  otherwise be available; 
	         (B)  such  alternative  historical cost is substantially less than the  cost which would be allowed under this subdivision for property which is obtained from an unrelated party and which is similar function and value to the office and to the provider; 
	         (C) the seller or transferor has owned the property in question for at least five years; and 
	         (D)  the  fair  market value of such property is greater than the sale price.          
	 (2) Useful life of depreciable assets shall be determined as follows: 
	 (i) Unless specifically otherwise  provided  for  in  this  Part,  the useful  life  of  depreciable assets shall be the higher of the reported useful life or the useful life from the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets” published by the American  Hospital  Association.  This document is available from the American Hospital Association, 840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60611.  
	         (ii)  For  construction  or  acquisition of a new residential service, program, or facility, which was first issued an operating certificate on or after January 1, 2006, the estimated useful life of the building  for purposes  of determining depreciation reimbursement shall be the greater of the term of the mortgage or 15 years. 
	         (iii) A provider may use a different useful life or amortization period if such different useful life is approved by the office.  The  office shall   base  such  approval  upon  historical  experience,  documentary evidence, loan agreements and need for the services for which the depreciable assets are used. 
	         (3) A provider shall use the straight-line method of depreciation. 
	 (4)   Reasonable and necessary interest on capital  indebtedness  is  an allowable  cost  if  the debt generating the interest is approved by the commissioner and incurred for authorized purposes, and the principal  of the  debt  does  not exceed that which is either approved by the commissioner or the cost of the authorized purposes. Capital indebtedness shall mean all debt obligations that are:           (i) evidenced by a mortgage note or bond and secured by a mortgage  on the  land,  building or non-mo
	         (ii) incurred and approved for the purpose of financing  the  acquisition,  construction  or renovation of land, building, non-movable equipment, or related costs; 
	         (iii) incurred for the purpose of financing approved  moveable  equipment or approved personal property; 
	         (iv)  incurred  and  approved  for the purpose of advance refunding of debt; or 
	         (v) found by the commissioner to be reasonable, necessary and  in  the public interest. 
	         (vi)  For interest on capital indebtedness to be considered an allowable cost: 
	         (A) The interest shall be incurred to satisfy a financial need, and at a rate not in excess of what a prudent borrower would have had to pay at the time the loan was made. 
	         (B)  The loan agreement shall be between the provider and a party not related to the provider. The commissioner may waive this provision based on a demonstration of need for the services and cost  savings  resulting from the transaction. 
	         (C)  The  capital  indebtedness  shall  represent  no  more than the current approved value of the  property  after  subtracting  any  equity contributions such as, but not limited to, grants applied to the property. 
	         (D)  Interest resulting from the refinancing of indebtedness shall be considered an allowable cost only to the extent that it is payable  with respect  to  an  amount  equal  to  the unpaid principal of the approved indebtedness then being refinanced. However, interest incurred on  refinanced  debt  in  excess  of  the  previously unpaid balance of approved indebtedness may be allowable on acceptable demonstration to the commissioner that such refinancing will result in a debt service savings  over
	an approvable cost unless it has  the prior  approval of the commissioner.  Approved losses resulting from the advance refunding of debt shall be  treated  and  reported  as  deferred charge. This deferred charge is to be amortized on a straight line basis from  the  time of the refinancing to the scheduled maturity date of the refunding debt. 
	         (5) Interest expense resulting from the inclusion  of  the  reasonable closing  costs,  such as, but not limited to, attorneys' fees, recording costs and points, is allowable for initial financing and start-up costs, and in the refinancing of the capital indebtedness. 
	         (6) Interest on current working capital shall be treated and  reported as  an administrative operating expense and as such is not considered an allowable capital cost.   Working  capital  interest  expense  shall  be reduced  by  investment  income with the exception of income from funded      depreciation, qualified  pension  funds,  deferred  compensation  funds, secure  investments  and gifts, grants or endowments, whether restricted or unrestricted. 
	(i)  Costs related to Dormitory Authority loans shall be  allowable  as  follows: 
	         (1)  Interest  cost  accruing  from Dormitory Authority mortgage loans pursuant to subdivision 13-d of section 5 of the Facilities  Development Corporation  Act,  net of the portion of such interest cost attributable to operating costs, is an allowable cost. That portion of  the  interest cost  attributable  to  allowable start-up costs is also allowable. That portion of the loan principal that is  attributable  to  depreciable  or amortizable  costs,  under the rules of HIM 15, is an allowable cos
	         (2) Fees imposed by the office and annual administrative fees  imposed by  the Dormitory Authority in connection with Dormitory Authority mortgage loans shall be allowable costs. 
	         (3) Interest payments on Dormitory Authority loans  pursuant  to  this subdivision  for capital indebtedness and start-up costs will be considered allowable where such interest expense results from approved capital indebtedness and/or start-up costs in subdivision (i) of this section. 
	         (4) Interest payment on Dormitory  Authority  loans  pursuant  to  the  provisions  of  this  subdivision  are allowable in excess of the amount associated with the outstanding principal balance prior  to  refinancing  only  if  the  purpose of the additional debt is to acquire assets to be      used for care of the persons served by the program and all other  applicable requirements of this Part are met. 
	         (5)  The  office  may recoup, in full or in part, the interest and fee  reimbursement for Dormitory Authority loans attributable to a particular service. The office may also recoup, in full  or  in  part,  the  annual depreciation  or  amortization reimbursement for costs financing through Dormitory Authority 
	mortgage loans. The amount  of  Dormitory  Authority mortgage  loan interest, fee, depreciation, and amortization recoupments shall be equal to or less than the provider's actual  reimbursement  for      such  costs.  In  no case shall these recoupments exceed such reimbursement. 
	(j)  Costs of ownership of moveable  equipment  and  personal  property shall  be  allowable  in  the amount of depreciation and interest if the purchase is made through a multiple bid process.  Depreciation shall  be based upon the historical cost and useful life. 
	         (1)  If  the  equipment or personal property is purchased from a party not related to the provider, the historical cost shall be the lesser  of the  actual cost of purchasing the equipment or personal property or the fair market value of such equipment or personal property. 
	         (2) If the equipment or personal property is purchased  from  a  party related  to  the  provider,  the  historical cost shall be the lesser of actual acquisition cost, fair market value; or the seller's cost. 
	         (3) The useful life is the higher of the reported useful life  or  the useful  life  as  reported  in the most current edition of the “Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets”  published by the American Hospital Association. A provider may use a different useful life  if  such  different  useful  life  is  approved  by  the office.  The office shall base such approval upon historical experience and documentary evidence. 
	         (4) The provider shall use the straight-line depreciation  method  for moveable equipment and personal property. 
	         (5) Costs of leasing moveable equipment and personal property shall be allowable as follows: 
	         (i)  If  lease  payments  are  made  to a party which is not a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of the actual lease  payments or the fair market rental. 
	         (ii)  If  lease  payments are made to a related party, allowable costs shall be the lesser of: 
	         (A) the actual lease payments; 
	         (B) the fair market rental; or 
	         (C) the allowable depreciation, plus associated interest  expense,  if any,  and other related expenses, including, but not limited to, maintenance costs. 
	(k)  Upon the approval by the office, the approved  start-up  costs  of new  programs  shall  be amortized and reimbursed to the provider over a period not to  exceed  five  years.    Interest  costs  associated  with approved  start-up  shall be reimbursed in accordance with this section,  subject to the constraints outlined herein. 
	(l)  Costs relating to leases for real  property  are  subject  to  the following conditions: 
	         (1) In order for lease costs to be allowable, the provider must submit the  lease  to the office for approval. In deciding whether to approve a  lease, the office shall consider whether the lease is in the 
	best interest of the programs and the persons it serves and whether the  lease  in  any way violates public policy. In deciding whether to approve an amount for  rent, the office shall consider whether the provider's fee or rate, as a whole, including the amount of rent to be approved, would result in      payment which is consistent with efficiency and economy. 
	         (2) If an approved lease is between the provider and a party which  is not  a  related  party,  allowable  lease  costs  shall be the lesser of  contract rent or fair market rental. If an approved lease is between the provider and a related party, allowable lease costs shall be  the  least of the contract rent; fair market rental; or the landlord's net cost. 
	        (3)  The  office  may  waive the limitations on allowable costs upon a showing that the limitations  would  jeopardize  the  operation  of  the  programs  or  services,  this provision notwithstanding the requirements and conditions of paragraph 841.14(m)(1). 
	        (4)  The  office  may,  upon  application from a provider, allow lease costs in an amount equal to contract rent and greater than  fair  market  rent  if  the  provider  has  shown that it has made diligent efforts to negotiate a lease renewal  for  fair  market  rent  or  less,  that  the  contract  rent  is  necessary  to  ensure the continued operation of the program, and that the parties to the lease are not related. The  commissioner  will  allow such lease costs only for as long as it is neces
	         (5)  Contract  rent incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed pursuant to an option to renew within the approved lease is allowable. 
	         (6) Costs incurred pursuant to an approved lease or approved  proprietary lease which is renewed other than pursuant to an option to shall be  allowable  as  determined  in  accordance with this section.  The office shall decide whether to approve any such renewal at least 30 days before the last day the lease may be renewed, if the provider has notified  the office. 
	         (7)  The provider shall submit to the office a request for approval of  lease renewals at least 120 days prior to the last date for renewing the  lease. 
	 
	841.16  Related party transactions. 
	(a)   The  determination  as to whether two parties are related will be made by the office on a case-by-case basis. Such determination shall  be based on the facts, circumstances, and history of the situation. 
	(b)   Relatedness will be determined based on association, affiliation, control, common ownership, or an immediate family relationship. 
	(c)  Two parties shall be deemed related if one party is, to a significant  extent,  associated  or  affiliated with, or has control of or is  controlled by, the other  party.    Association  and  affiliation  shall      
	include,  but is not limited to, both business partnerships and familial relationships. Control shall exist where an individual or  an  organization  has  the power, directly or indirectly, to significantly influence or direct the actions or policies of another  organization  or  institution. 
	(d)   Common  ownership  shall  exist when an individual or individuals possess significant ownership or equity in both parties. 
	(e)  The existence of an immediate family relationship shall create an irrebuttable presumption  of relatedness through control or attribution of ownership or equity interests where the significance  tests  outlined in  subdivisions  (d)  and  (e) above are met. The following persons are  considered immediate family: 
	         (1) husband and wife; 
	         (2) natural parent and child; 
	         (3) siblings; 
	         (4) adopted child and adopted parent; 
	         (5) step parent, step child, step sister, and step brother; father in law,  mother-  in  law,  sister  in law, brother in law, son in law, and daughter in law; and 
	         (6) grandparent and grandchild. 
	(f)  The commissioner will determine whether two parties are  related. A provider  may  provide  information  to the commissioner to assist in making this determination, however the commissioner's determination will be final. 
	(g)  The existence of any of the conditions in (1) through (5) of  this subdivision  will  create  a presumption that a transaction is between a provider and a related party. This list should not be considered  to  be all inclusive: 
	         (1)  The  provider  is a partnership and the other party to the transaction is a partner of the provider. 
	         (2) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other  party  to  the transaction is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party of the provider. 
	         (3) The provider is a corporation or a limited liability  company  and the  other party to the transaction is a corporation, or limited liability company where someone is an officer,  director,  trustee,  principal stockholder or controlling party of both corporations. 
	         (4) The provider is a natural person and the other party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i) a member of the provider's immediate family; 
	         (ii) a partnership in which the provider is a partner; 
	         (iii) a co-partner; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a limited liability company in which the provider  is  an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability company in which a member  of the  provider's immediate family is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party a corporation in which any  partnership in which the provider is a partner is a principal stockholder; 
	         (vi)  a corporation or a limited liability company in which a co-partner of the provider is an officer, director, trustee,  principal  stockholder or controlling party; or 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or a limited liability company in which another corporation is a principal stockholder, where the provider is  an  officer,  director, trustee, principal stockholder or a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	         (5) The provider is an unincorporated association and the other  party to the transaction is either: 
	         (i)  someone who is a member of the provider; 
	         (ii)  someone,  a  member of whose immediate family is a member of the provider; 
	         (iii) a partnership in which one partner is a member of the provider; 
	         (iv) a corporation or a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which  a member  of  the  provider  is  an  officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (v) a corporation or a limited liability corporation in which a member  of the provider has an immediate family member who is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; 
	         (vi) a corporation or a limited liability corporation partnership,  in which a member of the provider is a partner or a principal stockholder; 
	         (vii)  a  corporation  or  a  limited liability corporation in which a co-partner of a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal stockholder or controlling party; or          (viii) a corporation or  a  limited  liability  corporation  in  which another  corporation  is  principal  stockholder,  where a member of the provider is an officer, director, trustee, principal  stockholder  or  a controlling party of such other corporation. 
	 
	841.17  Severability. 
	If any provision of this Part or the application thereof to any person or  circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Part which can be given effect  without  the  invalid  provisions  or  applications,  and  to  this  end the  provisions of this Part are declared to be severable. 
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